Have pity on camera salesman...

My expectation on salesman has gone down to the person to ask the price and to bargain the price (or ask for freebies, or reject freebies and ask for discount instead).
Could be replaced with a website.

Eh bradder ur english boomz and ur grammer are lousy leh :bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie: and your vocab is......how to describe ah? just jokeing....;)

It is common nowadays for any product to use a superstar or celebrity to help in their promotion campaign, it is already a trend.

One property agaent revealed, those long Q at those sales opening are just a gimmick of theirs.
Another revealed, those long Q at the foodstore during Mediacorps shooting were also pre arranged.

We constantly read about report like...drinking beer, redwine, chocolate or whatever consumable product, are good for this and that, and all these comes from reliable testing or research lab.

Moral of the story : the consumer themself has got to be wise.

Quite amusing to see TS posting this thread "Singlish" stye on this forum. As it is mainly for local forumer, I think it is quite alright..

It is true fact that most shop owners, or even those sales staff are not keen photog. To find out, when browsing the shop, keep a sharp ear and eye, listen and observe to what is their conversation and action between staff and you willl roughly get an idea.

If you can spot someone reading the camera's spec or catalog or photo related publication , magazine...ah you have just found the right person to approach about your needs. Most likely you'll hear.. the result of last nite football match, or the result of toto draw or some other non photo related subject matter.

Had been talking to one sales guy who has been in the line for since 70s, hey you got customer... no lah, these are just browsing around and asking prices only...kow kow chan, moh bong chan type.

Another thing these shopowners worry is... their stocked product cannot move.

Most of us are looking from the ouside of the counter, you will tell a different story when got a chance to be working inside.

I think the TS has got some relative who is in this line.

Anyway, nowadays, the info on the web are too overwhelming, some celeb are being paid to tell lies.

any job also has its hardships la.

you want easy job? find a rich woman who's stupid. she will support you.

If customers read online full review, they are no ordinary buyer anymore. If a camera salesperson spends some of the brain juice into thinking "how not to cheat customer", that portion of the brain can go into information gathering.

The competition is high but who to blame, so many cheating case, so buyers have to do more homework loh and trust Mr Ken.

Apologies to international readers. The Singlish post is intended for Singaporeans because the story is mainly in Singapore context.

For the benefit of international readers, I have summarised the OP in one concise sentence:

Essentially, services offered by camera salesman in Singapore cannot keep pace with consumer expectations, which are driven by viral marketing on the internet.

Haha it is readable to any ang moh who knows his or her Singlish.

Sad but very true. Too many SG consumers filled with way to much tok tok kok and Ah beng'ism for their own good. To put it in context the local shops here are god awful, there's only one genuine "pro shop" in Perth and it really is a pro shop, basically amateurs don't step foot in the place as if you talk kok there you will be chopped in to diced meat by the salesmen (who are on flat salary) and you will be paying RRP on goods, no discounts.

Its the same with any industry, especially in such a competitive economy. Its either the shape up or ship out. Yes the sales personnel may bluff and pitch this and tat but ultimately its still buyer's beware. Thus do your research and knw wht you're buying... or be as crude as some of my friends and suan the salesman loudly in front of the other customers to verbally smack the salesman's sleepy head awake! Kinda of like wht it was in the army...wake up yr f@*^ing idea.

Yup it may be brutal and break the salesman's rice bowl for that moment and pray to God that he wakes up and shape up.

Most company adopt the sales commission basis, so the more you sell, the more you get. But there will be a set minimum sales target for each and everyone, say a monthly minimum of $30k.

The salesperson will get upset or annoyed when he feels that the prospective customer which he is serving is only keen in asking this and that and end up not buying anything, so when there is another potential customer walks in, he will surely shift his attn to that person.

I'd witnessed, when in CP, there's one guy came in, after about 10 -15 minutes, placed order of pro E lighting system of well over 10k worth, while another guy walks in to ask about a tripod, behind follows 6 of his buddies all crowding around the saleman, after much asking and demo, plus comparison, couldn't make up his mind and left, leaving behind...I'll consider.

Of course there is a statement to say...well, nobody ask/force you to choose this line. and be with it. I'll tell the same to the Filipinos, nobody ask you to stay in Phillipines where there is much typhoon, so be with it.

One shop owner of which I'd spoken to, his greatest worry is this large group of people walks in, and only one doing the purchase.
One incident he quote, while he was explaining and demo to the buyer, his buddy will crowd around left and right, thereby blocking his vision. Two more others will be helping themselves from the display stand.

Situation like this we don't care so much, simply none of our business or loses.

@TS:
i think horrr, but i think only lah..
If the salesperson dun have passion for the things they are selling,
and never updated their 'noodles' on the latest updates, pros and cons of cameras and equipments... then they will lose out lah..

Con-clue-tion is;
I won't feel comfortable buying from a person who know lesser about the equipments than me.

Photographic equipement are complex and the range is huge. I do not expect the salesman to know everything. If I do, then probably everyone behind the counter is a subject matter expert specialising in certain product lines and genre of photography. If this kind of service level is expected, the shop needs to fill up with a dozen of expert salesmen.

On the other hand, I think there is a niche market demanding this kind of service; however, I do not think it is feasible unless they amortize the price of advice into the selling price of the equipment and buyer is willing to pay without seeking the advice and go to another shop to buy.

Most company adopt the sales commission basis, so the more you sell, the more you get. But there will be a set minimum sales target for each and everyone, say a monthly minimum of $30k.

The salesperson will get upset or annoyed when he feels that the prospective customer which he is serving is only keen in asking this and that and end up not buying anything, so when there is another potential customer walks in, he will surely shift his attn to that person.

I'd witnessed, when in CP, there's one guy came in, after about 10 -15 minutes, placed order of pro E lighting system of well over 10k worth, while another guy walks in to ask about a tripod, behind follows 6 of his buddies all crowding around the saleman, after much asking and demo, plus comparison, couldn't make up his mind and left, leaving behind...I'll consider.

Of course there is a statement to say...well, nobody ask/force you to choose this line. and be with it. I'll tell the same to the Filipinos, nobody ask you to stay in Phillipines where there is much typhoon, so be with it.

One shop owner of which I'd spoken to, his greatest worry is this large group of people walks in, and only one doing the purchase.
One incident he quote, while he was explaining and demo to the buyer, his buddy will crowd around left and right, thereby blocking his vision. Two more others will be helping themselves from the display stand.

Situation like this we don't care so much, simply none of our business or loses.

I dont know if I interpreted what you said correctly, but I think that's insulting. You think those people in phillippines chose to stay there? Many dont, for sure. If they have the money, many would have left. Please be more sensitive.
Sorry for OT.

Cheers to the TS, I agree with you on the point that you are trying to bring across.

Doesn't hurt to be gracious and understanding once in a while lar.

Dear whatokingu,

yes, indeed that's what I literally mean, it may sound insulting, and if you had read all the pages, some forumers are saying the same thing to the shop owners, or sales person : if you don't do something to improve yourself, you will be left down the road.
Actually I'm just using the Filipinos as an example, if they continue to stay in those danger prone area, more nature disaster will occur, and really no other people can help them. Look at our SCDF team who went there, basically just wayang wayang for a few days and then come back as hero. Those people there still suffering.

Now, we turn around and look at ourselves, even our Govt's policy is not to give free lunches or as religious speaking, GOD help those who help themself. Soon, the wet market will be gone, and later, no eggs for Singaporean.

Let's be pragmatic, we consumer of photographic item, might explore all the internt for just one or two particular items that we are interested in, but out there in the shop there stock so many different brand of cameras, furthermore each brand has got so many different models, adding to these are , printers, scanners, papers, ink, filters, flashes, tripods, light stand, bags, cables, batteries, chargers, video lights, reflectors, umbrellas, diffuser, memory cards, cable release, remote controller for cameras and flashes, lenses, background papers, poles, clamps..and whatever related, it is not possible for any salesperson to thoroughly know IN DETAILS and SPECIFICATION of all these products. Not forgetting, new products are pouring into the market every now and then, with analog products also to take care of.

It will be good for those who think that being a salesperson is easy, be one for a certain period and get the first hand experience. The argument will bounce back..nobody ask you to be a ...
Just look at the list of cameras on the DP Review already daunting. I doubt anyone will take the trouble to read evey brand of cameras, models and their spec.

Ah Hia, lu si BALLY PHOTO er Chi Tor Kia si boh? Zi dao wu jin juea ah hia dio pian liao!

Why I tink it difficult to be camera salesman: A moral story by artspraken dated 4 Nov 2009. hope u like.

moral of story: dun be too hard on camera-seller.

heh heh...mmmm si lah. mana wu eng...

Ah Hia, lu si BALLY PHOTO er Chi Tor Kia si boh? Zi dao wu jin juea ah hia dio pian liao!

The same phrase apply here... nobody ask you to ....

Remember when the tv interview our Minister Mentor Lee on the Lehman Bros investors, this is what he got to say, Quote " these people go in with their eyes open..." quite similar to.. nobody ask you to.. right ?

surely our MM can't be wrong... he had successfully bring our nation into the international limelight. Even Obama has to seek advice from him siah.

any job also has its hardships la.

you want easy job? find a rich woman who's stupid. she will support you.

Not an easy job when she is 90 kilos in weight, is 5-foot tall, has a moustache, bad breath, body odour and wants sex every hour.

morale of the story: uncle need to tan jiak but cannot pian jiak also.

Agreed! 君子爱财 取之有道

Pse correct me if I am wrong!