Has anyone came across the illegal Starhub setup box saga?


sbq3162

New Member
Sep 5, 2007
33
0
0
Singapore
#1
Just wonder the recent spate of postings in FB about the illegal Starhub setup box that Starhub is doing the check on 30 & 31 Aug, has anyone came across being caught? Or was it another 'virtual' scaring tactic by the authority?

If the prices of the package is reasonable, there wouldn't have these illegal boxes surfaced in Singapore. Starhub and Singtel should do a check and compare with the other countries if the prices are too much for the residents.....

:confused:
 

qystan

New Member
Jul 8, 2010
481
1
0
#2
If the prices of the package is reasonable, there wouldn't have these illegal boxes surfaced in Singapore. Starhub and Singtel should do a check and compare with the other countries if the prices are too much for the residents.....

:confused:
For some, anything not free is charging too much.
 

ricohflex

Senior Member
Feb 24, 2005
3,353
8
38
sing
#3
Just wonder the recent spate of postings in FB about the illegal Starhub setup box that Starhub is doing the check on 30 & 31 Aug, has anyone came across being caught? Or was it another 'virtual' scaring tactic by the authority?

If the prices of the package is reasonable, there wouldn't have these illegal boxes surfaced in Singapore. Starhub and Singtel should do a check and compare with the other countries if the prices are too much for the residents.....

:confused:
If you try hard enough, can find them.
Did not buy.
Don't want unnecessary trouble.
This explains why sometimes Starhub kills its transmission.
Requiring you to remove the smartcard from your set top box and insert it again.
They are doing a recoding to beat these pirate set top boxes.
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#4
The August 30 and 31 thing was total rubbish. The only thing that will help is when Starhub changes their encryption in October.
 

soeypixels

Senior Member
Jun 24, 2007
1,477
0
36
#5
if is watching BPL, just use streaming
good enough :)
 

silencer13

New Member
Dec 2, 2011
471
0
0
#6
I hope all those using the pirate box get caught.
 

UncleFai

Senior Member
Mar 10, 2010
4,447
34
48
Singapore
#8
They saying no transmitter so wont be caught since canot detect?..
The set top box is essentially a PC running an operating system known as OpenTV (which is closed source). It must identify itself before receiving transmission, and hence must engage in two way comma with the provider's servers.
 

Jan 26, 2002
521
1
0
Singapore
#9
The set top box is essentially a PC running an operating system known as OpenTV (which is closed source). It must identify itself before receiving transmission, and hence must engage in two way comma with the provider's servers.
Well yah I agree, if wan catch sure can catch one way or another, just like bittorrenting..
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#10
The set top box is essentially a PC running an operating system known as OpenTV (which is closed source). It must identify itself before receiving transmission, and hence must engage in two way comma with the provider's servers.
Actually no. The channels are always broadcast via the cable. There is no need to request for transmission.
 

UncleFai

Senior Member
Mar 10, 2010
4,447
34
48
Singapore
#11
Actually no. The channels are always broadcast via the cable. There is no need to request for transmission.
Silly of them to stream it in the clear. Easily can be encrypted.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,488
26
48
Pasir Ris
#12
Silly of them to stream it in the clear. Easily can be encrypted.
No, what Rashkae meant is: the channels are always broadcasted, encrypted. Everyone can receive them and decrypt, the decoder does not need to send anything back to the broadcasting station.
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#13
No, what Rashkae meant is: the channels are always broadcasted, encrypted. Everyone can receive them and decrypt, the decoder does not need to send anything back to the broadcasting station.
Correct. It's just that the current encryption is weak and the illegal decoder boxes can easily decrypt the signal. Starhub will be switching to a tougher encryption in October though
 

petetherock

Senior Member
Oct 9, 2006
1,658
4
38
#15
About time... root out piracy... it's not life or death stuff. If one doesn't have money for cable, stick to free to air TV.
 

lkf73

New Member
Apr 8, 2004
233
0
0
#16
But there should be real competition to bring down price and not expect users to pay for their "mistakes"
 

Jan 26, 2002
521
1
0
Singapore
#17
Last edited:

hanzohattori

Senior Member
Apr 16, 2010
999
5
18
#18
SH says current box will not be able to unscramble the new signals, so gotta wait for new pirate decoders?..lol

Feels like reading abt Iphone Jailbreak..lol
They are deluding themselves. Pirates are always one step ahead. Its only a matter of time
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,488
26
48
Pasir Ris
#19
SH says current box will not be able to unscramble the new signals, so gotta wait for new pirate decoders?..lol
Feels like reading abt Iphone Jailbreak..lol
Seems they use such old or underperformed hardware so that newer encryption standards cannot be used. One way of keeping costs low. Reminds me on the ST mio modems: when using WPA2 as Wifi encryption standard the connections drop intermittent, or stops completely. After some time (maybe chip has to cool down) it comes back for a short time. Using WEP will not show this issue, but security is gone.
 

dniwkh

New Member
Mar 19, 2012
840
9
0
#20
They are deluding themselves. Pirates are always one step ahead. Its only a matter of time
the best way is to just go after the consumer lor... charge one of the consumer end user prirate... singaporeans kiasi so that might work...

hope my old HD setup box can decrypt the new encryption.... I got that box FREE from starhub when I signed up for HD trial years ago so I dont have to pay HD box rental fee... now because of pirates I might need to rent a new setup box...
 

Top Bottom