great place, nice scenery... lousy photos!

Status
Not open for further replies.

erictjh

Aug 17, 2005
Ampang, Selangor
went to Koh Samui recently for a short trip
brought my new Lumix FZ5 along hoping to take some nice photos
sad to say, many of the photos didn't turn out as I expected them to...
i'm still rather new to photography, but minus that fact... the photos taken were below my expectations... particularly those taken at the beach... others were ok

here are some of the photos... feel free to comment :) i'd appreciate that

P1000353.jpg

one of the worse exposures i've seen

P1000479.jpg

very dark... weather was rather cloudy... but this bad?

P1000396.jpg

one of the slightly better ones

P1000493.jpg

another slightly better one

i know this has something to do with the camera seeing grey shades bla bla... about increasing exposure by 1/2 or 1 step... but i'm not very clear about it... would really like to get some advice on this. don't want to go for another trip to the beach and come back with photos like these... (p.s. the photos seemed ok on the camera LCD)

Are you using auto WB? The brollies looked a little blue in the last pix.

Hi,

Technically (Camera):
1. U'll need to understand what your camera can/cannot deliver. Not that a P&S cannot produce good landscape photos.
2. Maximizing the capabilities of the cam.

Technically (Yourself)
1. Improve on the composition. Not just point and shoot. But frame in your mind what kind photographs you want. Be a hunter!
2. Most people like to see saturated landscape photos. Try working on that.

Keep improving by learning what other good landscape photographers have taken. From there, develop your own style in shooting landscapes.

That's abt it I can offer now.

Cheers,
Jon

The camera settings part:-

1) play with the white balance. get the effect you want/like
2) some filters like ND will help

The improvement on photography part:- let other experts to advise....

litefoot said: