Good tips on macro photog?


Status
Not open for further replies.

BaneMKII

New Member
Apr 3, 2009
88
0
0
East
#1
Hi all!

Recently picked up an interest on macro photog and decided to try it out.

I had little equipment to work with (can't afford a macro lens yet) and used the reverse lenses set up.

A Tammy 28-75 f2.8 (reversed) + 67mm-77mm step up ring taped to 77mm filter + Sigma 70-200 f2.8 mounted on a 300D + tripod. Settings were f2.8 @ ISO 1600.

The subject was a 10 cent coin illuminated with LED torch. Filled the frame with the engraved year and fired with a countdown timer.

It looked great on the LCD screen until i threw it into photoshop to check the image and saw that it was blurred due to camera shake.

Any good solution eliminate this? :dunno:
 

zac08

Senior Member
Feb 21, 2005
11,755
0
0
East
#2
Yeah... external flash.
 

parampita

Senior Member
Jun 25, 2008
2,074
0
0
昭南島
#3
Complex.. so many accessories.. :dunno:
If you are just shooting coins with your camera mounted on a tripod, don't have to bump up the ISO. Decrease the shutter speed will do.

Check out my recent threads. None of them were shot with a macro lens. Just a general purpose lens + a Raynox macro converter + speedlite. All handheld so don't have to carry so many pieces of equipments.

1.) If no tripod, the key is to get the shutter speed high enough and you can minimize handshake blur. If possible, stick to the 1/focal length rule and you will do fine.

2.) If no speedlite, then use the pop up flash. Better than nothing.

3.) f/2.8 give you a very shallow DoF. Step down.
 

BaneMKII

New Member
Apr 3, 2009
88
0
0
East
#4
Problem is i can't use flash cauz the coin is about 1 inch away from the lens itself. Besides, with the 2 lenses combined (roughly about the length of my forearm+fist) won't it cast a shadow instead? That's y i bumped up the iso + wide open + direct LED illumination. Everytime the shutter is released, the camera wobbles.
 

zac08

Senior Member
Feb 21, 2005
11,755
0
0
East
#5
Problem is i can't use flash cauz the coin is about 1 inch away from the lens itself. Besides, with the 2 lenses combined (roughly about the length of my forearm+fist) won't it cast a shadow instead? That's y i bumped up the iso + wide open + direct LED illumination. Everytime the shutter is released, the camera wobbles.
Why can't youu use a flash? I've used one where the subject was only centimeters away and it still came out ok.

Else you can set the flash on a extension cable and place it closer to the subject.
 

liarliar

Deregistered
May 13, 2007
629
0
0
#6
Maybe can post the photo of the problem for us to review first?
 

creampuff

Senior Member
Jul 11, 2006
5,116
1
0
Dover
#7
Look at a lot of good macro images and learn how the photographer made the image is a good way to start.
 

ortega

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 2, 2004
23,694
10
38
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#8
the camera shake is caused by a too slow shutter speed for you to hand hold

1. use a tripod
2. increase your shutter speed by making the subject brighter
3. both 1 and 2

you can try bringing the subject into a brighter area and try again
 

Dec 10, 2008
1,732
0
0
26
Pasir Ris
#9
A Tammy 28-75 f2.8 (reversed) + 67mm-77mm step up ring taped to 77mm filter + Sigma 70-200 f2.8 mounted on a 300D + tripod.
Think TS was already on a tripod
 

Aug 3, 2008
1,127
0
0
Hougang
www.geekbrains.com
#10
As the TS mentioned that he had already mounted his rig on a tripod, I'd presume that the tripod or the ballhead couldn't take the shutter vibration and it's clearly visible in his output. I had exactly the same problem till I dumped by Benro KB1-A (Rated for 12 Kg's) and replaced it with a Markins Q-20. My tripod legs were made of Carbon Fibre and I somehow found that the ball head was causing the vibration by placing it on a table with a camera mounted on it. Apparently the Benro was performing like a charm in normal day to day conditions till it was put on to Macro test where only a true ball head like Markins / Arca Swiss / Acratech / Kirk etc etc wins. Just my 2 cents.
 

Dec 10, 2008
1,732
0
0
26
Pasir Ris
#11
That's y i bumped up the iso + wide open + direct LED illumination. Everytime the shutter is released, the camera wobbles.
I think it could be due to your tripod/ballhead being too flimsy as well. Try to shoot at small apertures for a larger DOF for macro
 

BaneMKII

New Member
Apr 3, 2009
88
0
0
East
#13
wat LED u use ?
you need to use a MC-E or a P7 Led :)
Nt sure what brand, but its the kind my dad uses for scuba diving.

I think it could be due to your tripod/ballhead being too flimsy as well. Try to shoot at small apertures for a larger DOF for macro
Yar... i think my tripod kinda flimsy with all the added stuff.
 

StrifeYun

Senior Member
Nov 15, 2006
2,231
0
36
Rivervale Drive
#14
hmm try using , remote flash at max , my shutter can reach 4000 (should be able to reach higher ,but i was using my 350D).

picture of a 10 singapore note :)

 

Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom