Gone everything Gone!


melvin

Senior Member
Jun 4, 2005
2,681
0
0
43
TPY
#1
Just now was transfering photos from my CF card to my Portable HDD everything went on smoothly all files transfer nice nice...

after that went on to keep my CF card. Few mins later a bubble appear on the right bottom screen mentioning " Window ..... Data in 'G' drive ie portable hdd, all gone!

Went on to check my photos in my Portable HDD all vanished into thin air! How it happen? Anyways to recover the lost photos... no of photo lost count about 38gb jpeg picts average file size about 4mb!

All photos shoot end 2011 till yesterday all Gone gone gone!:cry::cry::cry:
 

melvin

Senior Member
Jun 4, 2005
2,681
0
0
43
TPY
#3

yrh0413

New Member
Oct 21, 2004
1,793
0
0
Singapore
www.danielyee.net
#4
the last time I did for my client... $400+ for expedite check-up and $2000 for data recovery. Got back my data in 4 days.

For my case I opt for express service so the charges should be significantly higher.
 

melvin

Senior Member
Jun 4, 2005
2,681
0
0
43
TPY
#5
the last time I did for my client... $400+ for expedite check-up and $2000 for data recovery. Got back my data in 4 days.

For my case I opt for express service so the charges should be significantly higher.
Oh i see... express service commands a premium!
 

BBTM

Senior Member
Nov 23, 2004
2,211
6
38
BB West
#6
I recently install in a program in my Laptop and try to recover some photos. Although unsuccessfully as the photos are over written, that program quite useful. If $ is not a problem for you, better go for expert else DIY since the source is on external, higher chance to recover than on the main drive. (Just a suggestion, do at your own risk.)
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#7
The software that came with your drive can help.

FYI, I use 2x2TB drives in RAID1 for photo storage. The external drive is a backup. If you were only using an external drive as photo storage, then that's sloppy.
 

Shizuma

Senior Member
Mar 19, 2012
2,557
25
0
#8
Linux + Raid = safe ?
 

melvin

Senior Member
Jun 4, 2005
2,681
0
0
43
TPY
#9
Was wondering how and why it happen is it due to my laptop or my HDD problem cos it suddenly happen, will it be happen again after my data recovery?
 

yrh0413

New Member
Oct 21, 2004
1,793
0
0
Singapore
www.danielyee.net
#11
Was wondering how and why it happen is it due to my laptop or my HDD problem cos it suddenly happen, will it be happen again after my data recovery?
once bitten twice shy, make sure you have a backup somewhere after you get back your data.

Personally I have a RAID box for my data, and another RAID box as a backup of the first RAID box... backup via Time Machine.
 

melvin

Senior Member
Jun 4, 2005
2,681
0
0
43
TPY
#12
once bitten twice shy, make sure you have a backup somewhere after you get back your data.

Personally I have a RAID box for my data, and another RAID box as a backup of the first RAID box... backup via Time Machine.

Lesson learnt hard way.......
 

melvin

Senior Member
Jun 4, 2005
2,681
0
0
43
TPY
#13
once bitten twice shy, make sure you have a backup somewhere after you get back your data.

Personally I have a RAID box for my data, and another RAID box as a backup of the first RAID box... backup via Time Machine.
but it happen rather fast like after i back up n remove my card reader n next few mins they just gone!

Sorry not good in IT stuff what do you mean by backup Via Time Machine?
 

melvin

Senior Member
Jun 4, 2005
2,681
0
0
43
TPY
#14
The software that came with your drive can help.

FYI, I use 2x2TB drives in RAID1 for photo storage. The external drive is a backup. If you were only using an external drive as photo storage, then that's sloppy.

thanks for the advice!
 

melvin

Senior Member
Jun 4, 2005
2,681
0
0
43
TPY
#15
The software that came with your drive can help.

FYI, I use 2x2TB drives in RAID1 for photo storage. The external drive is a backup. If you were only using an external drive as photo storage, then that's sloppy.

thanks for the advice!
 

yrh0413

New Member
Oct 21, 2004
1,793
0
0
Singapore
www.danielyee.net
#16
sorry my bad, Time Machine is the built-in automated backup software on all Apple Mac OSX machines.

Windows 7 has built-in backup tools too (Under Control Panel -> System and Security -> Backup and Restore). You just need to designate a new drive (I suggest another external drive) as the backup destination and get Windows to backup your primary external hard drive to the backup drive.
 

DeSwitch

Senior Member
Oct 28, 2005
3,202
0
0
51
1.45N 103.83E
www.flickr.com
#17
Data rescue pro should be able to do the job. You will need another HD with more than the capacity of your HD to temporary store the recovered data.

I had managed to recovered 3 Seagate HDs using this. (Data rescue pro is free with my WD drive purchase)
 

sjackal

Senior Member
Jul 9, 2008
4,490
10
38
#18
The software that came with your drive can help.

FYI, I use 2x2TB drives in RAID1 for photo storage. The external drive is a backup. If you were only using an external drive as photo storage, then that's sloppy.
I use the same, 2X2TB drives in RAID1, PLUS another External HDD backing up regularly each day, PLUS DVDs.
 

ahboy168

New Member
Mar 30, 2009
980
0
0
East
#20
The best backup is to just print it !
Anything in digital is not safe.
 

Top Bottom