Going to vietnam what lens to bring?

Status
Not open for further replies.

blurblur

Aug 10, 2006
Singapore
Hi, I'm new to travelling (Free & Easy) with DSLR. Need some advice on travelling in vietnam & what type of lens should I bring along?

If only bring the 18-250 whether is it enough? And whether can I handcarry the DSLR & tripod into the plane? 3

Thanks

Hi i just went to vietnam last mth, i hand carried my dslr and tripod with me when i left for vietnam but when i was coming back, the vietnam immigration refused to let me pass unless i checked in my tripod. Hope tat helps :)

Depends on ur shooting style and what u intend to get out of the trip. Some ppl bring just one prime and suffice.

But ur 18-250 should be a comfortable zoom to use.

Alternatively u can bring a prime or another that can let u shoot in lower light.

DSLR should be no problem.
But tripod u better check with the airline beforehand.

Ryan

Personally,I would bring all my lenses and the tripod.
If airlines dont allow tripod then dont bring.
zoom lens wont get u fantastic photos but if u really want light then just bring zoom

One Magic Word: Light.

Do not bother bringing a heavy tripod if the trip is not primarily for photography. A proper photography trip is planned differently from a holiday trip in the sense of things like transportation and therefore if its a holiday trip, travel light and enjoy ur holiday.

Of course make sure the person going with u is also ok with u setting shop shootin high and low. The way u enjoy ur holiday might not be the way the other person is going to enjoy it

But

for the sake of discussion, i would think that a tripod IS essential. I hated lugging my almost 2kg tripod but whenever i use it for night shots / dim lighting in churches for example, it reinforced the idea that it is worth it.

My gf didn mind the tripod as long as i was the person carrying it :bsmilie: Just have to convince her that we can take more couple shots with a tripod

Ryan