[GIMP] RAW Conversion Equals Soft Images?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bravia

Dec 18, 2008
Hi,

I would like to find out from all the GIMP users if they have experienced seeing the pin sharp images in RAW turn really soft after saving it into JPEG format?

It is happening to me since I started shooting in RAW format. In fact I shoot RAW + Basic Jpeg and when I see the end results, it always puzzles me that the basic jpeg and the RAW files are pin sharp but post RAW conversion to Jpeg, the end result is disappointingly soft.

TIA!

Hi,

I would like to find out from all the GIMP users if they have experienced seeing the pin sharp images in RAW turn really soft after saving it into JPEG format?

It is happening to me since I started shooting in RAW format. In fact I shoot RAW + Basic Jpeg and when I see the end results, it always puzzles me that the basic jpeg and the RAW files are pin sharp but post RAW conversion to Jpeg, the end result is disappointingly soft.

TIA!
how you know your RAW is pin sharp? if you come to this conclusion by looking at the LCD on the cam then you are not looking at the RAW but at in camera JPEG rendering of the RAW file, basically you cannot look at the raw file. The cam will apply sharpening to the RAW file when it is converted to JPEG making it pin sharp. so when you do your RAW conversion you need to apply sharpening as well.

It will be good if you check the amount of sharpening you have applied in-camera.

On a raw file, the only options on camera that has any effect is your ISO, shutter speed and aperture. The other options, such as white balance, contrast and sharpening do not apply to your raw file, so you have to do some post processing to obtain your desired image.

It will be good if you check the amount of sharpening you have applied in-camera.