G2 suitable for newbie??

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

sneezybum

Hi, I am a newbie to digital photography. After seeing numerous reviews praising about G2, I'm thinking of getting a Canon G2 as my first digicam. I've got several qns regarding the camera.

1. Does all the manual controls requires a great deal of effort to learn?

2. Is this camera good for both day and night shots? Heard that most digicam got problems with night shots?

3. I will be using this camera for travelling purposes. Does it perform well taking landscape pics?

4. The G2 only has a 3X optical zoom. Seems pretty limited in its zoom capabilities when compared to Oly2100 or Casi QV2900. In that case, can I make use of the digital zoom function to capture far objects? If not, what can I do to enhance the range of the cam?

Sorry that I have so many questions. But I really want to be sure before I buy it as it is not cheap. Will also welcome opinions offering different digicams. Thanks for your advice. ;)

Originally posted by sneezybum
Hi, I am a newbie to digital photography. After seeing numerous reviews praising about G2, I'm thinking of getting a Canon G2 as my first digicam. I've got several qns regarding the camera.

2. Is this camera good for both day and night shots? Heard that most digicam got problems with night shots?

3. I will be using this camera for travelling purposes. Does it perform well taking landscape pics?

4. The G2 only has a 3X optical zoom. Seems pretty limited in its zoom capabilities when compared to Oly2100 or Casi QV2900. In that case, can I make use of the digital zoom function to capture far objects? If not, what can I do to enhance the range of the cam?

Sorry that I have so many questions. But I really want to be sure before I buy it as it is not cheap. Will also welcome opinions offering different digicams. Thanks for your advice. ;)

1) Easy to learn, hard to master. Practise, practise and practise.

2) Yes, that's what manual controls are for.