FZ20-How to take a sharp night shot?


Status
Not open for further replies.

ohmymy

New Member
Sep 14, 2004
302
0
0
CCK
www.flickr.com
#1
Was playing with the FZ20. Tried the night scenery mode with the o.i.s ON to mode 2. Seems like image still blur leh. I tried to keep my hand movement as low as possible liao.

It's pretty hard to keep your hand veri stationery while waiting for the cam to finalise the shot with the slow shutter speed. Any recommendation on how to improve on this?

Thx for any reply.
 

ohmymy

New Member
Sep 14, 2004
302
0
0
CCK
www.flickr.com
#4
majere2sg said:
Use a tripod.. even with IS, you can only take photo up to about 3 stops slower. Also it depends on each individual...
i see. guess i still need to use a tripod after all.
 

ohmymy

New Member
Sep 14, 2004
302
0
0
CCK
www.flickr.com
#5
AdamGoi said:
Also dun forget the DOF, i.e. set as high aperture value on camera as possible. ;)
heh, good recommendation. i switched to manual operation and adjusted the shutter and aperture myself. Turned out better than the night mode. Thx! :)
 

gernie

New Member
Aug 20, 2004
233
0
0
#7
learn how to handheld steady shot!! :)

maybe the way how to hold a camera :) hahahah
:embrass:
 

#10
LifeWorld said:
I used tripod for night shots. Still turn out bad! Setting plays a part too. Have not tried Adam's tip yet. Still struggling with the manual.
ermm what is wrong, the pics turn out blur or ?
Could it be that your tripod is not stable ? Did you use any remote or cable control ? Because when you depress your shutter button, you might shake the camera together with the tripod a bit.
 

Adam Goi

ClubSNAP Idol
Staff member
#11
LifeWorld said:
I used tripod for night shots. Still turn out bad! Setting plays a part too. Have not tried Adam's tip yet. Still struggling with the manual.
Bad? Describe it? Soft or is it just blurr. If it's the former, try to apply USM as some cameras are known to have soft images out of the camera.

If it's the latter, use the remote if possible to minimise camera shake instead of pressing the shutter button.
 

Kit

Senior Member
Jan 19, 2002
11,699
42
48
42
Upper Bukit Timah
Visit site
#12
First, you have to determine if its blurred caused by handshake or just shallow DOF. In any case, its just not wise to leave the tripod out for night scenery even with IS. Don't develop the misconception of thinking IS can solve all your problems in low light conditions. Manufacturers' recommendation of 2 or 3 stops gain with IS does come with unwritten conditions. You have to know the limit you can handhold.
 

LifeWorld

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
2,324
0
0
East Coast
lifeworld.multiply.com
#13
AdamGoi said:
Bad? Describe it? Soft or is it just blurr. If it's the former, try to apply USM as some cameras are known to have soft images out of the camera.

If it's the latter, use the remote if possible to minimise camera shake instead of pressing the shutter button.
It was sharp. However, the dark looks patchy at original size. Sky remains dark when zoomed. See here and here. :dunno:
 

Kit

Senior Member
Jan 19, 2002
11,699
42
48
42
Upper Bukit Timah
Visit site
#14
LifeWorld said:
It was sharp. However, the dark looks patchy at original size. Sky remains dark when zoomed. See here and here. :dunno:
I don't see patchy sky. Don't quite know what you meant by sky remains dark when zoomed either. If the sky is completely dark at the time of shooting, what else do you expect?
 

LifeWorld

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
2,324
0
0
East Coast
lifeworld.multiply.com
#15
Kit said:
I don't see patchy sky. Don't quite know what you meant by sky remains dark when zoomed either. If the sky is completely dark at the time of shooting, what else do you expect?
Hmm... I mean at original size, can see the pixelated shade of lighter black. Perhaps that's normal for dark night sky. :dunno:
 

gernie

New Member
Aug 20, 2004
233
0
0
#16
do FZ20 have infinity focus???

landscape scene??
 

LifeWorld

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
2,324
0
0
East Coast
lifeworld.multiply.com
#17
gernie said:
do FZ20 have infinity focus???

landscape scene??
It has continuous AF. Are you referring to focus to infinity? It could do that. :think:
Preset scene are:
Portrait
Sports
Scenery (Landscape)
Night Scenery
Night Portrait
Panning
Fireworks
Party
and Snow.

There are two programmeable scene mode/setting on the mode dial. :thumbsup:
 

Zenten

Deregistered
Jun 13, 2004
9,845
8
38
#18
LifeWorld said:
It was sharp. However, the dark looks patchy at original size. Sky remains dark when zoomed. See here and here. :dunno:
I feel it's a matter of your shutter speed (exposure) setting try a exposure like 4s or longer, and in the case of the panasonic FZ20, you may also want to compensate the exposure by a couple of stops. Try also taking 3 shots using the auto bracketting mode, to compare the difference, to help you gauge better.

$0.02. ;)
 

Jun 9, 2004
380
0
0
#19
Can you post your picture so we can see what is the problem.
 

tchuanye

Moderator
Staff member
Mar 4, 2003
5,451
0
38
Visit site
#20
Another way to minimise shake is, while on the tripod, and you don't have the remote cable, use the 2s timer.

another 2c worth.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom