Fungus growing on dry cabinet


pete2322

New Member
Oct 8, 2009
95
0
0
#1
I just realized that my dry cabinet was somehow malfunction and was infested with fungus. I've sent the dry unit for repair thought the warranty was void. Thus anyone has idea on how to kill/sterilize the fungus?
 

sjackal

Senior Member
Jul 9, 2008
4,490
10
38
#3
What brand of dry cabinet?
 

pete2322

New Member
Oct 8, 2009
95
0
0
#4
China Brand one. I got it from China :). Forgotten the name donno is jinbei or something like that
 

dougs

New Member
Jun 7, 2010
261
0
0
#5
might be more worthwhile buying a new cabinet
 

ziploc

New Member
Jan 17, 2002
4,576
0
0
Snoopyland
#6
When using dry cabinet it is actually necessary to check the hygrometer once a while to ensure it is working fine.
 

ed9119

Moderator
Staff member
Mar 11, 2002
11,014
38
48
56
Singapore
www.walkeast.com
#7
ziploc said:
When using dry cabinet it is actually necessary to check the hygrometer once a while to ensure it is working fine.
I always use digitAl hygrometer

Sorry to hear this ... Your stuff in the cab ok ?
 

SkyStrike

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 29, 2010
3,444
11
38
Somewhere
#8
When using dry cabinet it is actually necessary to check the hygrometer once a while to ensure it is working fine.
huh? check the hydrometer? I tot is just ensure got reading displayed can liao....
 

spree86

Senior Member
Feb 3, 2009
4,774
0
0
Bishan
www.flickr.com
#9
SkyStrike said:
huh? check the hydrometer? I tot is just ensure got reading displayed can liao....
Must see what reading also mah. If it's at 70+% sure got something wrong
 

ziploc

New Member
Jan 17, 2002
4,576
0
0
Snoopyland
#10
huh? check the hydrometer? I tot is just ensure got reading displayed can liao....
You need to check the hygrometer to ensure the %RH is within the desired range (which is about 40-55% RH for lenses)
 

Daoyin

Senior Member
Nov 25, 2008
2,808
6
38
West
#11
To kill the fungus in the cabinet, use a cloth dunked in soap solution and wipe the interior a few times. Then leave it in direct sun light for a few hours for a dose of UV. Instead of soap solution, you can also use a disinfectant.

Make sure you wipe all the corners or else even a small area of fungus will multiply itself again.
 

SkyStrike

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 29, 2010
3,444
11
38
Somewhere
#12
Must see what reading also mah. If it's at 70+% sure got something wrong
You need to check the hygrometer to ensure the %RH is within the desired range (which is about 40-55% RH for lenses)
oh...I normally see the reading almost everyday before leaving for work. Cos at first I tot you mean need to use other means to see if the hydrometer is working. (e.g. using a hydrometer to check a hydrometer :bsmilie:)
 

Nov 7, 2009
61
0
6
#13
Soap? I think a 10% bleach solution is more effective at disinfecting. Wipe with bleach solution, leave it there for a while and clean with water to remove the bleach. Good luck.

To kill the fungus in the cabinet, use a cloth dunked in soap solution and wipe the interior a few times. Then leave it in direct sun light for a few hours for a dose of UV. Instead of soap solution, you can also use a disinfectant.

Make sure you wipe all the corners or else even a small area of fungus will multiply itself again.
 

sunnycamera

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2010
2,097
5
38
SG
#14
I use silicon gel in combination with the box,

as long as silicon gel turns transparent clear color, that means it is not dry enough,

digital measurement is never as reliable as physical reaction.

meters can go wrong any way even you read
 

donut88

Senior Member
Nov 14, 2008
2,182
5
0
#15
pete2322 said:
China Brand one. I got it from China :). Forgotten the name donno is jinbei or something like that
China brand?? U should just throw away and get new one.

How much is the repair cost?? The repair cost could get u a new one

Even after repair, no guarantee that it won't get spoilt again....

Save yr trouble of washing and cleaning off the fungus. It's not foolproof. After whole day of cleaning, fungus can grow again
 

ziploc

New Member
Jan 17, 2002
4,576
0
0
Snoopyland
#16
oh...I normally see the reading almost everyday before leaving for work. Cos at first I tot you mean need to use other means to see if the hydrometer is working. (e.g. using a hydrometer to check a hydrometer :bsmilie:)
Haha, sorry for not phrasing it clearly. :)
 

ziploc

New Member
Jan 17, 2002
4,576
0
0
Snoopyland
#17
I use silicon gel in combination with the box,

as long as silicon gel turns transparent clear color, that means it is not dry enough,

digital measurement is never as reliable as physical reaction.

meters can go wrong any way even you read
That's a bad idea as your %RH might get too low, because the silica gels absorb additional moisture from the air and they're not under the control of the dessicator. If you're kiasu just put another hygrometer inside the cabinet to double confirm.
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,657
68
48
lil red dot
#18
That's a bad idea as your %RH might get too low, because the silica gels absorb additional moisture from the air and they're not under the control of the dessicator. If you're kiasu just put another hygrometer inside the cabinet to double confirm.
+1

I have 4 hygrometers... that makes me super kiasu? LOL....
 

ziploc

New Member
Jan 17, 2002
4,576
0
0
Snoopyland
#19
Haha, I only have 1 additional hygrometer shared between my 2 60L cabinets. :)
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,657
68
48
lil red dot
#20
Haha, I only have 1 additional hygrometer shared between my 2 60L cabinets. :)
I also have 2 dry cabs. Only problem is they are both 2 sections ones, with 2 separate de-humidifier units each... so no choice.
 

Top Bottom