FujiFilm FinePix 4900 ZOOM Vs. Canon PowerShot G2

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

kentwk

One boast of a 4MegaPixel CCD, the other boast of a focal length of 210mm. Which is exactly the best apart from this specs?

I've used both cameras in a recent project, taking pictures of the same places, positions and same conditions using both cameras. I'm just an amateur fellow who would mostly just point and shoot most of the pictures. Am new to digital photography as well..

However, even with me being green to these technicalities, I think I've deduced a few things when I compare these two cameras.

These are the conditions of which I've taken the pictures from.

1) In a quite dimly lit auditorium.
2) Offices of normal fluorescent bulb lighting.
3) The outdoors with a) Bright sunlight & b) Poor sunlight, cloudy skies.

Note that pictures taken at the same position, shooting the same object and lighting conditions, both at auto modes using both cameras.

One thing was quite evident, the pictures taken indoors at the auditorium, the G2 came out almost BLACK. It looked as though someone had switched off the lights and the pathetic flash was at work in supplying the light source for the room. The Fuji however could capture the people on the stage and they were at least visible. You can make out the people, and the surroundings clearly.

The colours taken indoors using the G2 were found to be less vivid compared to those of the Fuji. These were clear testiments from my colleagues as well. Note that I've even tried taking the same shots using a tripod, pointing at the same direction and even using all the flash options made available on both the cameras. The white balance of the G2 was also, we felt quite poor comapred to the Fuji.