Fotoguide closing?

zen

Hi people
went down to fotoguide today and the guy told me that they are winding down the shop liao. He never say the exact date but i guess it would be soon that there might be a closing down sale?
Well i guess biz is really bad due to the SARS thingy... my dad's shop sales had dropped 50%... i guess its time to spend less on camera equipment liao

What?? They are my favourite shop. They are honest and does not markup their stuff for walk-in customers (at least for me) not like some other shops.

Oh man ... I will really dread the day they close.:rolleyes: :bheart:

Anyone can confirm this? Is Fotoguide really closing?

There goes my favourite filter shop....

nah he did not say when confirm closing but when i buy a lens from him today and ask him for his namecard he said "Nah dun bother la. I will be closing this shop soon"

:what:

I guess he is saying that even if my len got problem also no point to come back and find him

Originally posted by ckiang
Well, FotoGuide originated from ex-CP staff.... :)

From what i heard, the boss of Fotoguide was one of the shareholders of CP, until they had a disagreement.

He then apparently pulled out of the store, and set up Fotoguide.

Another CP-worthy competitor lost... :(

Originally posted by SNAG
From what i heard, the boss of Fotoguide was one of the shareholders of CP, until they had a disagreement.

He then apparently pulled out of the store, and set up Fotoguide.

Another CP-worthy competitor lost... :(

huh? i thought Cathay is a family business? :dunno:

:cry:

That was the place where my photography journey began! I really like their service there...tink I have bought more items from them than any other camera shops in Singapore :(

:cry: :cry:

Except for their Sigma and Tamron lenses, I could never really quite figure out what fotoguide is trying to sell.

They've got B&W stuffs too, like the harder to get Agfa range of Rodinal... I am gonna miss their friendly services if they go...

Originally posted by Parchiao
Except for their Sigma and Tamron lenses, I could never really quite figure out what fotoguide is trying to sell.

Originally posted by mervlam
huh? i thought Cathay is a family business? :dunno:

I'm not sure as to whether this is true or not..
But this was what I heard from my dad, in the olden days... (not sure how long ago.. maybe 10 - 15 years ago?)

NO!... Fotoguide close liao then go elsewhere kena kotok!! Damn..... I hope it's not due to SARS... anyway SARS is fairly recent... I dun think that's justification to wind up?