Flash too powderful


Status
Not open for further replies.

WhipLash

New Member
May 15, 2006
161
0
0
#1
Hi guys,

Sorry if this sound stupid, but I'm new to using off-camera flash.

I have a 430ExII with an ebay trigger on manual mode, dialed to the lowest setting it can go (1/64).

I'm using a 17-55 at 55mm for a tight headshot. The flash is 3 ft away from the subject, with an omnibounce. Nearer = softer, right?

Problem is, the flash is too powerful, resulting in the subject being overexposed. Since the power is already at the minimum, what can I do to lower the flash output? In ETTL mode it's really easy using flash compensation.

Thanks, and cheers!
 

robinlimkp

New Member
Feb 20, 2009
123
0
0
CCK
#2
try use a difusser. That will soften the flash.
 

elijah81

New Member
Sep 4, 2006
10
0
1
#4
FYI, 1/64 is not the lowest setting... it's probably the slowest shutter speed...
 

surrephoto

Senior Member
Jan 14, 2009
3,425
3
38
27
Chinatown
www.surrephoto.com
#5
As you are using off-camera flash (unless with ST-E2 infra-red trigger) your max sync will probably be 1/200 (correct me if i'm wrong).

Your shutter flexibility is limited, thus you got basically 4 choices;

1. Reduce the f-stop, probably the easiest way, but you will get much lesser isolation of course.

2. Move the off-camera flash further away from the subject.

3. Use a bigger diffusing tool like umbrellas/softbox etc. to reduce the flash power and spread it across a bigger area.

4. Use an ND filter to reduce overall light and enable you to have a good flash exposure at 1/200.

Hope this helps.
 

elijah81

New Member
Sep 4, 2006
10
0
1
#7
I think on his flash it is the lowest flash power. (480EXI/II)
errr... it's the slowest flash speed... which means that the flash will strobe slower... if you don't want the flash to be stronger maybe try a faster setting like 1/200?
 

emotic

New Member
Jul 5, 2007
357
0
0
35
Tampines
#8
errr... it's the slowest flash speed... which means that the flash will strobe slower... if you don't want the flash to be stronger maybe try a faster setting like 1/200?
I think you're confused my friend.

TS dialled his flash power setting to the lowest possible, which is 1/64.
Nothing to do with shutter speed, which i assume you're referring to.

No such thing as 'flash speed' i believe.
 

estel

New Member
Jul 17, 2006
344
0
0
#9
errr... it's the slowest flash speed... which means that the flash will strobe slower... if you don't want the flash to be stronger maybe try a faster setting like 1/200?
eh???

You don't set the flash the same way you do a shutter speed. The number is the so-called "flash output" as a fraction of "full power". In short, surrephoto was right.
 

Dream Merchant

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2007
9,659
6
38
#10
errr... it's the slowest flash speed... which means that the flash will strobe slower... if you don't want the flash to be stronger maybe try a faster setting like 1/200?
Elijah81, I'm afraid you're confusing flash output power settings with shutter speed.

At 1/64th of it's total power, the duration of the 480EXII output is something like 1-ten something-thousandth of a second.

Whiplash, surrephoto has listed out all your possible options. The only thing I would add is that if using an ST-E2 to trigger, you're not limited to a fixed or max* sync speed unless you set your system up that way through Cfns, or your body has limited sync speed options. Still, if you look at the way ETTL and ETTL II was designed to work with Cat A bods, you'll know how to still get variable sync speed. ;)

* The ST-E2 is useable on high speed sync on ETTL II bods. Not sure about ETTL.
 

Last edited:

kelccm

Senior Member
Mar 2, 2004
1,515
2
38
A village in a forest
#11
errr... it's the slowest flash speed... which means that the flash will strobe slower... if you don't want the flash to be stronger maybe try a faster setting like 1/200?
I think you have misunderstood. You can set the flash output power, which was what TS meant. Flash output can be adjusted from a maximum of 1/1 to a minimum of 1/64.

What you probably meant is when you set the flash to flash rapidly at different frequency, which is not what TS needs. Anyway strobe mode are shown in Hz ie. 1Hz, 2Hz ..50Hz etc.
 

jimbok

Senior Member
Nov 6, 2005
605
0
16
Sengkang
#14
Lower your ISO setting, or change to a smaller aperture.
If you want ambient lighting, try to use a shoot through umbrella to diffuse the light, you'll love it, trust me.
 

Apr 15, 2005
470
0
16
36
Singapore
www.amerrymoment.com
#15
As others said, use a smaller aperture (larger f-stop number), lower your ISO, try a diffuser. But IMO if you're talking about shooting portraits, you can't get much softer on a bare flash. The light source is simply too small. If you go too close, you get hotspots. For best results, try an umbrella or softbox.
 

WhipLash

New Member
May 15, 2006
161
0
0
#16
Hi guys,

Thanks for the replies.

Yes, 1/64 is the lowest flash output possible (not shutter speed, or stroboscopic mode... the 430EXII doesn't have that anyway).

No umbrellas or softboxes available. Possible to use a diffuser, but I'm using the 8-in-1 system so my diffuser became a reflector for the fill-in.

I could try reducing the aperture, and see if it works. I don't want to reduce shutter speed as I am dragging the shutter to expose for ambient.

I read that moving flash further results in harsher light, so am trying to avoid this. But this is probably my best option if no other choice.

ND filters? Hmm, possible... but I don't have any. :(

Oh, btw I'm using ebay trigger, not the ST-E2. No E-TTL II or high-sync.
 

jimbok

Senior Member
Nov 6, 2005
605
0
16
Sengkang
#17
I think is possible, here's a sample I took using just the SB-600 with Omni-Bounce. I took my soft umbrella with me, but the wind blew and my whole flash with umbrella collapse, causing my umbrella to break. :(

 

jimbok

Senior Member
Nov 6, 2005
605
0
16
Sengkang
#18
Hi guys,

Thanks for the replies.

Yes, 1/64 is the lowest flash output possible (not shutter speed, or stroboscopic mode... the 430EXII doesn't have that anyway).

No umbrellas or softboxes available. Possible to use a diffuser, but I'm using the 8-in-1 system so my diffuser became a reflector for the fill-in.

I could try reducing the aperture, and see if it works. I don't want to reduce shutter speed as I am dragging the shutter to expose for ambient.

I read that moving flash further results in harsher light, so am trying to avoid this. But this is probably my best option if no other choice.

ND filters? Hmm, possible... but I don't have any. :(

Oh, btw I'm using ebay trigger, not the ST-E2. No E-TTL II or high-sync.
Don't think moving the flash further will cause harsh light, just trial and error. You will find the sweet spot.
 

Apr 15, 2005
470
0
16
36
Singapore
www.amerrymoment.com
#19
Do note that increasing shutter speed won't affect your flash power, only ambient light, which may or may not be causing your subject to be over-lit. So feel free to keep your shutter for ambient like you wanted.

Moving flash further theorectically does make it harsher. But compared to a large lightsource like ceilings, umbrellas or softboxes, moving the flash head closer is a very minor enlargement.

I guess your best bet is bouncing off walls or ceilings.
 

darrrrrrrrrr

Senior Member
Sep 19, 2006
3,209
5
38
30
Singapore
#20
Hi guys,

Thanks for the replies.

Yes, 1/64 is the lowest flash output possible (not shutter speed, or stroboscopic mode... the 430EXII doesn't have that anyway).

No umbrellas or softboxes available. Possible to use a diffuser, but I'm using the 8-in-1 system so my diffuser became a reflector for the fill-in.

I could try reducing the aperture, and see if it works. I don't want to reduce shutter speed as I am dragging the shutter to expose for ambient.

I read that moving flash further results in harsher light, so am trying to avoid this. But this is probably my best option if no other choice.

ND filters? Hmm, possible... but I don't have any. :(

Oh, btw I'm using ebay trigger, not the ST-E2. No E-TTL II or high-sync.
What ISO and aperture are you using? I've really never had to shoot at 1/64 flash output before, but usually I hover around ISO 100 f5.6 +/- a few stops and the flash is at 1/2 to 1/8 power.

Anyway I could suggest sticking a few pieces of tissue/printing paper on the outside of your omnibounce (inside may overheat I guess) to kill off more power from the flash.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom