Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?


Apr 27, 2013
8
0
0
#1
Hi Guys

Need some advice here.

I had my D7000 Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250, using a Yongnuo RF-603 as wireless flash trigger to trigger the Yongnuo YN-560III wirelessly. The flash triggered but the picture came out black. After checking, I notice that the picture was taken with a shutter speed of 1/500 on P Mode. Can someone kindly advice me what went wrong?

Why does the flash sync speed setting has no effect on the shutter speed when using wireless flash trigger & external flash?
 

Last edited:
Apr 27, 2013
8
0
0
#4
Thanks Benjamin for your advice

So if I understand you correctly, flash sync speed setting only works for internal flash. It will not work with the external flash unit, right?

Thanks again

Ronnie
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#6
Thanks Benjamin for your advice

So if I understand you correctly, flash sync speed setting only works for internal flash. It will not work with the external flash unit, right?

Thanks again

Ronnie
if you mount a dedicated external flash on camera hotshoe, camera will detect a flash being use, it will limit the sync speed you have set.
 

Dec 11, 2008
440
1
18
#7
Hi Guys

Need some advice here.

I had my D7000 Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250, using a Yongnuo RF-603 as wireless flash trigger to trigger the Yongnuo YN-560III wirelessly. The flash triggered but the picture came out black. After checking, I notice that the picture was taken with a shutter speed of 1/500 on P Mode. Can someone kindly advice me what went wrong?

Why does the flash sync speed setting has no effect on the shutter speed when using wireless flash trigger & external flash?

*FACE PALM* perhaps this thread should be a sticky in Newbies Corner?
 

v0857

Senior Member
Aug 1, 2010
1,207
6
38
East side
#8
Hi Guys

Need some advice here.

I had my D7000 Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250, using a Yongnuo RF-603 as wireless flash trigger to trigger the Yongnuo YN-560III wirelessly. The flash triggered but the picture came out black. After checking, I notice that the picture was taken with a shutter speed of 1/500 on P Mode. Can someone kindly advice me what went wrong?

Why does the flash sync speed setting has no effect on the shutter speed when using wireless flash trigger & external flash?
Hi Ronnie, just need you to clarify what you mean by "picture came out black". Do you mean the subject (e.g a person) came out black but the background is reasonably well exposed, or literally the whole entire picture is black?

Did you aim the flash at the subject or bounced it off something (wall or what? how far?) Did you adjust your flash power high enough?

If the latter than your cam metering is really off or you had metered on a really bright spot....or had set your EV to super low.

Perhaps posting the photo you took would help us understand what you faced better.

I check the specs on the RF-603 and see that the max it can do is 1/320, so how is it that your flash can trigger at 1/500?? I don't mean to doubt but did your flash really fired?
 

eleveninth

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2006
6,217
2
38
#9
Hi Ronnie, just need you to clarify what you mean by "picture came out black". Do you mean the subject (e.g a person) came out black but the background is reasonably well exposed, or literally the whole entire picture is black?

Did you aim the flash at the subject or bounced it off something (wall or what? how far?) Did you adjust your flash power high enough?

If the latter than your cam metering is really off or you had metered on a really bright spot....or had set your EV to super low.

Perhaps posting the photo you took would help us understand what you faced better.

I check the specs on the RF-603 and see that the max it can do is 1/320, so how is it that your flash can trigger at 1/500?? I don't mean to doubt but did your flash really fired?

.....

probably the whole picture black.

sync speed still restrained by camera sync speed... he is on P mode and the camera is not detecting a mounted flash.
 

Apr 27, 2013
8
0
0
#10
the subject was black while the background is well exposed. yes i aimed the flash directly at the subject & the flash was set at full blast & it did fired.

With all the comment I received, I am just guessing that the wireless trigger RF-603 that was mounted on the hot shoes was not being recognized as a flash in P mode. That is why, the camera in P mode thinks that there was no flash present & used the calculated shutter speed of 1/500. Unless the flash is mounted directly on the hot shoes, then the camera will recognize it & use the max sync speed of 1/250.
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,645
63
48
lil red dot
#11
the subject was black while the background is well exposed. yes i aimed the flash directly at the subject & the flash was set at full blast & it did fired.

With all the comment I received, I am just guessing that the wireless trigger RF-603 that was mounted on the hot shoes was not being recognized as a flash in P mode. That is why, the camera in P mode thinks that there was no flash present & used the calculated shutter speed of 1/500. Unless the flash is mounted directly on the hot shoes, then the camera will recognize it & use the max sync speed of 1/250.
Flash is only recognized when a TTL device is mounted on the hotshoe.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,492
26
48
Pasir Ris
#12
Unless the flash is mounted directly on the hot shoes, then the camera will recognize it & use the max sync speed of 1/250.
Unless the camera is able to communicate with the flash (and the flash supports the communication)
Possible options (all requiring a flash that understands Canon TTL):
- Wireless IR solutions (e.g. Canon IR triggers)
- Canon camera with flash commander
- Wireless Radio triggers with TTL function (not the cheap ones)
- ETTL flash cord
 

v0857

Senior Member
Aug 1, 2010
1,207
6
38
East side
#14
the subject was black while the background is well exposed. yes i aimed the flash directly at the subject & the flash was set at full blast & it did fired.

With all the comment I received, I am just guessing that the wireless trigger RF-603 that was mounted on the hot shoes was not being recognized as a flash in P mode. That is why, the camera in P mode thinks that there was no flash present & used the calculated shutter speed of 1/500. Unless the flash is mounted directly on the hot shoes, then the camera will recognize it & use the max sync speed of 1/250.
thanks for clarifying and describing what went on. Even though the flash fired, but because the shutter speed was beyond sync speed, the firing of the flash did not coincide with the opening of the shutter hence the subject did not get flash illumination during the capture and turned out dark.

If you want to use the RF-603, all you need to do is to control the shutter speed by using 'S', 'M' or even 'A' mode. You had bought the RF-603 to do off-shoe flash photography, don't give up as it's just a matter of taking the small step in controlling the shutter speed and you'll be doing it on the cheap with the RF-603! Have fun!
 

eleveninth

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2006
6,217
2
38
#15
Please shoot M when using off cam.

thanks.
 

Apr 27, 2013
8
0
0
#16
Thanks to all that commended. This really clear all my doubts. Appreciate it.

Ronnie
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,645
63
48
lil red dot
#18
This is for slave mode under s1/s2?
TS is using as main right? Aperture, shutter or manual mode should b fine?
sorry.. noob here too.. just wanna clarify..
Main or s1 or s2, doesn't matter, A or P mode is not fine.
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#19
This is for slave mode under s1/s2?
TS is using as main right? Aperture, shutter or manual mode should b fine?
sorry.. noob here too.. just wanna clarify..

S1 mode, remote flash will fire once sense a flash fire from any flash
S2 mode, remote flash will ignore the pre-flash from Master flash, and it suppose to fire when the camera shutter open


TS is using wireless flash trigger. so S1 or S2 mode on remote flash is irrelevant here.

to have more control of the ambient light and flash light, Manual Exposure mode is way to go.
 

CasualBear

New Member
May 4, 2013
485
0
0
singapore
#20
S1 mode, remote flash will fire once sense a flash fire from any flash
S2 mode, remote flash will ignore the pre-flash from Master flash, and it suppose to fire when the camera shutter open

TS is using wireless flash trigger. so S1 or S2 mode on remote flash is irrelevant here.

to have more control of the ambient light and flash light, Manual Exposure mode is way to go.
Ah.. OK.. thanks for explaining. :)
 

Top Bottom