Flash Sync Question


Status
Not open for further replies.

ombre

Senior Member
Sep 3, 2008
1,458
0
36
#1
Hi guys, I was just reading up a little and want to confirm something.

Currently my 350D only shoots up to 1/200 seconds with the on board flash.

I want to know if getting an external flash will allow me to sync even faster than 1/200? Or am I stuck at 1/200 max?

Appreciate any reply! thanks in advance!:)
 

ahliang

New Member
Nov 23, 2007
225
0
0
#2
External flash allows high speed sync
 

ombre

Senior Member
Sep 3, 2008
1,458
0
36
#4
All flashes?

How about a Sigma EF-500 DG ST?

BTW thanks for the response! Appreciated. (Though so few :()
 

HTCahHTC

Senior Member
May 9, 2008
896
0
16
#5
All flashes?

How about a Sigma EF-500 DG ST?

BTW thanks for the response! Appreciated. (Though so few :()
you're lucky enough to have people responding. i didn't even get any response for 2 of my threads.

and this is wat i found out.
The Sigma EF-500 DG Super has high speed sync.
The Sigma EF-500 DG ST does not. :)
 

ombre

Senior Member
Sep 3, 2008
1,458
0
36
#6
you're lucky enough to have people responding. i didn't even get any response for 2 of my threads.

and this is wat i found out.
The Sigma EF-500 DG Super has high speed sync.
The Sigma EF-500 DG ST does not. :)
huh! =( Okay alright thanks!
 

Oct 16, 2007
178
0
16
#7
im sorry if i jump into ur thread.. but as mentioned by others, i can sync at high speed with off shoe flash..but wont do any good coz only a portion of the frame is exposed and the other portion is black.

or am i nt doing it right?
 

ombre

Senior Member
Sep 3, 2008
1,458
0
36
#8
im sorry if i jump into ur thread.. but as mentioned by others, i can sync at high speed with off shoe flash..but wont do any good coz only a portion of the frame is exposed and the other portion is black.

or am i nt doing it right?
its alright feel free. I want to know too.

By the way I also want to ask, can I do off shoe flash with just 1 flash? what accessories do I need? Wired / Wireless?
 

HTCahHTC

Senior Member
May 9, 2008
896
0
16
#9
its alright feel free. I want to know too.

By the way I also want to ask, can I do off shoe flash with just 1 flash? what accessories do I need? Wired / Wireless?
as a matter of fact, you can, BUT only with certain models. and sorry to say, Canon cameras don't support this feature. :( have to buy 580EXII (i dunno about the rest of the guns, i know 430EXII can't) to act as the 'master'.
 

ombre

Senior Member
Sep 3, 2008
1,458
0
36
#10
as a matter of fact, you can, BUT only with certain models. and sorry to say, Canon cameras don't support this feature. :( have to buy 580EXII (i dunno about the rest of the guns, i know 430EXII can't) to act as the 'master'.
With only one? i mean like just simply put one flash on perhaps a wired transmitter and fire it. Without a master... Can?
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,539
33
48
Pasir Ris
#11
By the way I also want to ask, can I do off shoe flash with just 1 flash? what accessories do I need? Wired / Wireless?
You can do this, but you'll need an external flash trigger. This can be a) the Canon off-shoe cord, b) the Canon IR trigger or c) a radio trigger. The first 2 options allow you to use ETTL metering for flash but you'll have to fork out some more money (cord at least S$60 2nd hand, IR trigger >S$200 new). The cheaper radio trigger (about S$40 for a sender / receiver combo) don't come with any metering support, you'll need to set the flash to manual mode and adjust accordingly. Radio trigger with ETTL support exist but cost much more.
You can also get a 580EXII and a 430EXII where the 580 acts as master (on hotshoe) and the 430 acts as slave (e.g. mounted on tripod). But decide for yourself what you really need.
 

Gengh

New Member
May 6, 2007
1,984
0
0
Florida
#12
im sorry if i jump into ur thread.. but as mentioned by others, i can sync at high speed with off shoe flash..but wont do any good coz only a portion of the frame is exposed and the other portion is black.

or am i nt doing it right?
Sounds like your body is happy to go faster than the sync speed, but the flash is not set up correctly. To use shutter speeds faster than the sync speed, the flash need to be put into "high-speed sync" mode. Different brands may have different names for this mode, and some models may not have this feature. Eg. for Sigma, the Super versions of their flash have high speed sync, which they call "FP flash", while the ST versions don't have it. If the flash doesn't fire correctly, you'll have part of the frame unlit by the flash.
 

ombre

Senior Member
Sep 3, 2008
1,458
0
36
#15
You can do this, but you'll need an external flash trigger. This can be a) the Canon off-shoe cord, b) the Canon IR trigger or c) a radio trigger. The first 2 options allow you to use ETTL metering for flash but you'll have to fork out some more money (cord at least S$60 2nd hand, IR trigger >S$200 new). The cheaper radio trigger (about S$40 for a sender / receiver combo) don't come with any metering support, you'll need to set the flash to manual mode and adjust accordingly. Radio trigger with ETTL support exist but cost much more.
You can also get a 580EXII and a 430EXII where the 580 acts as master (on hotshoe) and the 430 acts as slave (e.g. mounted on tripod). But decide for yourself what you really need.
Hey thanks for this. =) Very helpful.




Thanks to all the rest who replied too!
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom