Flash question...


Status
Not open for further replies.

Dannywfs

New Member
Jun 15, 2012
210
0
0
Singapore
#1
hi all...
i have a d5100 n also a speedlight...
i always use the speedlight in manual mode...

but one question...
how do i shoot with the flash n not darkening a background even in daytime?

need help with it :)

d5100+18-55 lens
 

sjackal

Senior Member
Jul 9, 2008
4,490
10
38
#2
hi all...
i have a d5100 n also a speedlight...
i always use the speedlight in manual mode...

but one question...
how do i shoot with the flash n not darkening a background even in daytime?

need help with it :)

d5100+18-55 lens
Do you mean you use the Speedlight in Manual mode or do you mean you shoot with the camera in manual mode but speedlight on TTL/Auto mode?

Set a slower shutter speed.

Aperture control flash, shutter speed control ambient.

Anyway in outdoor daylight under the sun its very unlikely you will get dark background, you were probably in the shade.
 

Dannywfs

New Member
Jun 15, 2012
210
0
0
Singapore
#4
first thing, what flash you are using?
im using my friends canon 580 for the manual (he's a canon user)

Do you mean you use the Speedlight in Manual mode or do you mean you shoot with the camera in manual mode but speedlight on TTL/Auto mode?

Set a slower shutter speed.

Aperture control flash, shutter speed control ambient.

Anyway in outdoor daylight under the sun its very unlikely you will get dark background, you were probably in the shade.
i prefer shooting in manual... :)
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,490
26
48
Pasir Ris
#5
im using my friends canon 580 for the manual (he's a canon user)
So the flash is likely in manual mode.
i prefer shooting in manual... :)
If you get two options to select, you cannot answer this way. Now we can safely say that the flash is in manual mode. Does your answer indicate manual exposure mode?
Even if, the statements of sjackal remain valid. There are plenty of youtube video about the basics of flash, try a few of them to understand what is meant.
 

Shizuma

Senior Member
Mar 19, 2012
2,557
25
0
#6
sounds like a case of slow-speed sync not enough...

increase shutter time to catch ambient light.
 

James Poon

New Member
Oct 6, 2010
126
0
0
33
Singapore
#8
If you cant do iTTL/eTTL yet... Go back to basic.
You don't have the choice to prefer manual until you know what you are doing
 

nulbonklr

New Member
Dec 1, 2007
267
0
0
www.facebook.com
#9
hi all...
i have a d5100 n also a speedlight...
i always use the speedlight in manual mode...

but one question...
how do i shoot with the flash n not darkening a background even in daytime?

need help with it :)

d5100+18-55 lens
It all depends, I'll presume it's daytime outdoor. The way I shoot, ISO setting at low, shutter speed not more than your flash sync speed, adjust the aperture accordingly to get the right background exposure. Do some test shots and adjust your flash power accordingly to fill light your subject. Hmmm, but it's quite rarely need flash unless necessary.

Hope this helps. :)
 

ZerocoolAstra

Senior Member
Mar 13, 2008
9,522
0
0
rainy Singapore
#10
hi all...
i have a d5100 n also a speedlight...
i always use the speedlight in manual mode...

but one question...
how do i shoot with the flash n not darkening a background even in daytime?

need help with it :)

d5100+18-55 lens
You need to ensure that your exposure settings (ISO, shutter speed, aperture value) are sufficient for you to properly expose the background.
 

swhyge

New Member
Apr 5, 2003
524
0
0
Jurong
Visit site
#11
You sound like my friend. And this is what I told him:

1. Please go read up and understand a little more on exposure/flash......
2. Ask, best go shoot, with one of your photographer friends. It must be the one who will tell you what he knows and NOT the one who showoff what he thinks he knows. (He believe he is much better than me ... so I am of no help to him....Manual mode is an occasional thing to me)
3. Go with one of the PAS (or PAvTv) mode for now.
4. Then, come back to your manual mode - to tweak the shot to your perfection

"I prefer shooting in manual mode", at the current stage, do not do justice to your camera, to your photo and to your subjects, other than a virtual appreciation from a fellow sama-sama manual shooter.
 

Mustank

New Member
Aug 10, 2008
253
0
0
#12
Ride on your thread to ask Q.....

I got a di866mk1 and a di622mk2. The x sync speed of my 40d is 1/250. Firing at 1/250 ttl, The di866 gives black band. Sometime more sometime less. Di622 don't have problem. If I fire 1/250 manual, both no problem. Battery all freshly charged. Is it my di866 gonna up lorry already?
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,490
26
48
Pasir Ris
#13
I got a di866mk1 and a di622mk2. The x sync speed of my 40d is 1/250. Firing at 1/250 ttl, The di866 gives black band. Sometime more sometime less. Di622 don't have problem. If I fire 1/250 manual, both no problem. Battery all freshly charged. Is it my di866 gonna up lorry already?
What exactly is manual? Exposure mode or Flash gun or both?
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#14
Ride on your thread to ask Q.....

I got a di866mk1 and a di622mk2. The x sync speed of my 40d is 1/250. Firing at 1/250 ttl, The di866 gives black band. Sometime more sometime less. Di622 don't have problem. If I fire 1/250 manual, both no problem. Battery all freshly charged. Is it my di866 gonna up lorry already?
black band? not all black right? only at the bottom or the top right? so simply bcos of there is a slight delay of the di866 responds to your camera, try 1/200 and slower than the problem should be gone.
 

Mustank

New Member
Aug 10, 2008
253
0
0
#15
What exactly is manual? Exposure mode or Flash gun or both?
I am sorry i didnt say clearly........:

camera: manual settings: 1/250, iso 100, F4 to F8 (all got try)
the problem appears when flash is placed on ttl mode. if f4, the black band (at the bottom) is not very bad but if F8 the problem definetly can see

if i place the flash on manual 1/4 and above, and camera F4, range from no problem to slight black on the bottom....my other di622mk2m, no problem at all.......i suspect my 866 going going gone liao

i read somewhere is clubsnap that if the capacitor got more than 1ohm of resistance, can DIY change capacitor......but i doubt is capacitor problem......
 

Mustank

New Member
Aug 10, 2008
253
0
0
#16
black band? not all black right? only at the bottom or the top right? so simply bcos of there is a slight delay of the di866 responds to your camera, try 1/200 and slower than the problem should be gone.
black band only at the bottom.....yes, if less than 1/250, no problem also.....i am already mentally prepared that i cant use this 866 as my key or kicker light....can only use as backdrop light.....
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#17
black band only at the bottom.....yes, if less than 1/250, no problem also.....i am already mentally prepared that i cant use this 866 as my key or kicker light....can only use as backdrop light.....
you don't need to use such high shutter speed unless you are shooting at outdoor during day time or at indoor with very bright ambient.
 

sjackal

Senior Member
Jul 9, 2008
4,490
10
38
#18
you don't need to use such high shutter speed unless you are shooting at outdoor during day time or at indoor with very bright ambient.
Agree and outdoors in full sun it might not matter much also as the ambient is often way too stronger than whatever difference that a small flash can make to make a very noticeable difference to the edge of a frame.

I read its not advisable to DIY the capacitor thing, it can deliver a potentially fatal shock.
 

Mustank

New Member
Aug 10, 2008
253
0
0
#19
you don't need to use such high shutter speed unless you are shooting at outdoor during day time or at indoor with very bright ambient.
you don't need to use such high shutter speed unless you are shooting at outdoor during day time or at indoor with very bright ambient.
actually i am taking pictures of my 2 boy (6 and 8) playing......they move very very fast, no 1/250 cannot.....they dont stay still for me to shoot....and i dont want them to....they think they are ironman, shiong here, shiong there, jump here jump there, fire here fire there......the younger one has lots of expressions, he really think he is iron man.....i want to capture these expressions and his funny poses....if i ask him to pose, he doesnt want and even if he does so, usually cim one......

to say the truth: because they are running over the place at home and dont stay in one spot, i didnt see any point in setting up any proper lighting . all i did was to get the 2 flash to fire at the ceiling. end up, i get the picture but boring boring lighting......but no choice.......
 

Mustank

New Member
Aug 10, 2008
253
0
0
#20
Agree and outdoors in full sun it might not matter much also as the ambient is often way too stronger than whatever difference that a small flash can make to make a very noticeable difference to the edge of a frame.

I read its not advisable to DIY the capacitor thing, it can deliver a potentially fatal shock.
whoa!!! heng you tell me about the danger!!!
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom