flash FP(nikon SB800)


Status
Not open for further replies.

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#1
why is FP intended for?why would i need my flash to sync with my cam for shutterspeeds above 1/250?

other than background being darker, and flash firing distance shorter, why would one use such settings?:dunno:
 

Henessy

Senior Member
Feb 1, 2006
3,640
0
36
Bishan
www.henessyphoto.blogspot.com
#2
why is FP intended for?why would i need my flash to sync with my cam for shutterspeeds above 1/250?

other than background being darker, and flash firing distance shorter, why would one use such settings?:dunno:
I think you use FP usually when in broad day sunlight, and you want to use a big aperture to isolate the object in focus from other, and after lowering the iso to the minimum and having the sync speed to the max, your picture is still over expose.
 

Artosoft

Senior Member
Aug 31, 2005
3,710
0
0
Tanjong Katong
#3
why is FP intended for?why would i need my flash to sync with my cam for shutterspeeds above 1/250?

other than background being darker, and flash firing distance shorter, why would one use such settings?:dunno:
Say in very hot sunny day. You need shallow DoF. So you use Aperture f/2.8. Your shutter speed is 1/1000s with the lowest ASA. And you want to use your SB800 for fill in flash. Use SB800 in FP mode allow you to sync in 1/1000s.

Alternatively, you can use ND filter and hope your shutter speed will down to 1/250s or below so you no need to use flash FP mode. But remember, use any filter will degrade the picture quality ;) .

Regards,
Arto.
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#4
ok, so FP is for daylight fill use.

so instead of FP, assuming i shoot at f2.8 and shutter of 1/1000,
can i switch the flash to manual for 'fill flash'?
i can just try and reduce the flash power output accordingly.can?
 

erictan8888

Senior Member
Nov 9, 2004
2,883
1
0
Singapore
#5
reducing the flash power might not help.... cause the sync is not correct....
i was in this problem a few weeks ago also....
seems like not much choice but to use filter or to stop down....

eg. : when you shoot the white tigers in afternoon... the flash speed can't sync with shutter speed... then how? this problem crop up liao...
 

Artosoft

Senior Member
Aug 31, 2005
3,710
0
0
Tanjong Katong
#6
ok, so FP is for daylight fill use.

so instead of FP, assuming i shoot at f2.8 and shutter of 1/1000,
can i switch the flash to manual for 'fill flash'?
i can just try and reduce the flash power output accordingly.can?
If your shutter speed 1/1000s and you want to use flash, no choice you must use FP flash mode. Alternatively you can use reflector for fill in light.

Regards,
Arto.
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#8
great.now i'm totally confused about fill flash in daylights and flash FP values.

so help me out guys.

1)if i want to use fill flash in such a way the it's like the flash wasnt fired, can i use flash FP?

2)is it even necessary to set my flash to flash FP for portraiture?:dunno: :dunno: :dunno: :dunno:
 

jnet6

Senior Member
Apr 21, 2004
8,179
0
36
not here often anymore
#9
great.now i'm totally confused about fill flash in daylights and flash FP values.

so help me out guys.

1)if i want to use fill flash in such a way the it's like the flash wasnt fired, can i use flash FP?

2)is it even necessary to set my flash to flash FP for portraiture?:dunno: :dunno: :dunno: :dunno:
Why not organise a shoot and share experience...
talking down here will make some of us confuse, shoot on the spot and correct it.

It will solve most of your questions like FP,WB etc...
 

gooseberry

Senior Member
Mar 11, 2004
1,952
0
0
Central West
#10
great.now i'm totally confused about fill flash in daylights and flash FP values.

so help me out guys.

1)if i want to use fill flash in such a way the it's like the flash wasnt fired, can i use flash FP?

2)is it even necessary to set my flash to flash FP for portraiture?:dunno: :dunno: :dunno: :dunno:

1. Yes, you can still use FP mode while doing fill flash. FP mode is just a special mode on the flash to allow it to sync above the x-sync speed of the camera (1/250s for your D200). You can still dial down the flash eV to just fill-in the shadows or create a catchlight in the eyes.

2. Only necessary if the shutter speed needs to be above 1/250s on your D200, which sometimes can be the case if you're shooting outdoors with a large aperture.
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#11
goose,thanks.i'll try it.
 

MDZ2

New Member
Feb 23, 2005
306
0
0
Eastern Part
#12
Basically the maximum sync speed for any camera is the shutter speed at which the shutter is still able to reach full open position before the second shutter leaf starts to close. If you took a normal flash picture at above the sync speed, then the part of the frame will be blocked out by the already moving second shutter leaf (try taking a picture in a totally darken room and you will see what I mean, the faster you go, the larger the black portion you get under the frame)
However with high speed sync flash, the burst of flash is designed to stay on for the duration of its sync speed eg. 1/2000 sec (a standard flash lasts only about 1/30,000 sec).
Hope this clears your confusion.
 

Artosoft

Senior Member
Aug 31, 2005
3,710
0
0
Tanjong Katong
#13
...However with high speed sync flash, the burst of flash is designed to stay on for the duration of its sync speed eg. 1/2000 sec (a standard flash lasts only about 1/30,000 sec).
No. The standard flash duration is variable form about 1/800s to 1/30.000s (number is not correct as each model is different). Flash in M mode for M/1 will be around 1/800s (depend on flash model). Flash in M mode for M/128 is around 1/30.000s (again, depends on flash model). Flash duration in TTL or AA or A mode depend on feedback received by flash.

Regards,
Arto.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom