Firmware upgrade for 5D


Status
Not open for further replies.

Zenten

Deregistered
Jun 13, 2004
9,844
8
38
Is there an upgrade for the 5D?
 

eow

Senior Member
Jun 22, 2004
10,110
7
38
haiz though there a firmware for km5d liao :)
wish they could improve on the Diamge master lite software...it too slow liao
 

Drudkh

Senior Member
Mar 2, 2004
6,130
0
36
lulu island
You should email KM for the answer.
 

jsbn

Senior Member
Jul 24, 2002
2,944
0
0
Planet Eropagnis
seesh, for a moment I thought there's a new firmware available for my 5D. :bsmilie:
 

Trigger Happy

New Member
Dec 2, 2005
1,328
0
0
cockroach-infested parsee lees
only for the 7d, nothing for the 5d yet... checked a few days ago on the km site. besides running poorly on 2Gb CF cards, i haven't found anything wrong with my 5d. did you?
 

TME

Senior Member
Jan 19, 2002
6,579
0
0
44
Clementi
What is wrong with the 5D that u need a firmware upgrade?
 

jsbn

Senior Member
Jul 24, 2002
2,944
0
0
Planet Eropagnis
Dunno. I guess its just the shiokness of upgrading firmware? U know lah... see 1.0 become 1.1. Change the number oso shiok?

Hell, I dun even know how to check firmware version on my 5D. :bsmilie:
 

weikee

New Member
Sep 12, 2005
146
0
0
Malaysia
the 2G CF problem happen on all Cf or only some brand?

I am thinking of getting a 4G CF
 

Zenten

Deregistered
Jun 13, 2004
9,844
8
38
TME said:
What is wrong with the 5D that u need a firmware upgrade?
Cam doesn't stay in release mode ...... AF illuminator works intermittently. Slow AF ......
 

TME

Senior Member
Jan 19, 2002
6,579
0
0
44
Clementi
Zenten said:
Cam doesn't stay in release mode ...... AF illuminator works intermittently. Slow AF ......

Slow AF is probably your lens rather than the camera and besides, if an entry level camera has super fast AF, what will distinguish a higher one from the 5D... cheaper model will have some limitations... u mean the 5D cannot remain in release priority mode?
 

dynaxattack

New Member
Nov 16, 2005
142
0
0
Cheh, i tot got upgrade!!! But what the heck....

1. No ratio wireless flash
2. AF release doesnt stay
3. Cant make coffee...


;p
 

pai

New Member
Nov 24, 2004
1,699
0
0
Lala Land
www.flickr.com
TME said:
u mean the 5D cannot remain in release priority mode?
yah, this one got an earlier thread about it. the camera will happy happy go back to focus priority every now and then.
 

TME

Senior Member
Jan 19, 2002
6,579
0
0
44
Clementi
dynaxattack said:
Cheh, i tot got upgrade!!! But what the heck....

1. No ratio wireless flash
2. AF release doesnt stay
3. Cant make coffee...


;p

I really won't expect No.1 on a entry level camera.
 

reno77

Senior Member
Jan 30, 2002
922
0
16
Bedok Reservoir
www.ramaraj.com
dynaxattack said:
Cheh, i tot got upgrade!!! But what the heck....

1. No ratio wireless flash
2. AF release doesnt stay
3. Cant make coffee...


;p

No.1 is a problem with Minolta's flash calculation system. In film cameras they used to measure the amount of light reflecting of the film's surface when the shutter was open during image capturing to control how much light the external flash should output. For the 7D and 5D all the flash measurements are done before the shutter is open so they cant implement the ratio flash like how they did before. Maybe they'll figure out how for the next DSLR.
 

TME

Senior Member
Jan 19, 2002
6,579
0
0
44
Clementi
reno77 said:
No.1 is a problem with Minolta's flash calculation system. In film cameras they used to measure the amount of light reflecting of the film's surface when the shutter was open during image capturing to control how much light the external flash should output. For the 7D and 5D all the flash measurements are done before the shutter is open so they cant implement the ratio flash like how they did before. Maybe they'll figure out how for the next DSLR.

Not true... Canon and Nikon can do it so KM must be able to do it as well... and all DSLRs have to do pre-flash TTL metering... so it's common to all manufacturers... I think KM will surprise us if they do launch a new body at PMA2006... they've had 2 years to work on it...
 

dynaxattack

New Member
Nov 16, 2005
142
0
0
I agree with TME. Moreover, Minolta was the first who invented the wireless flash system. What the Jap (canon&nikon) did was improvised on it like they always do. I still think there is a ray of hope in #1. ;)
 

TME

Senior Member
Jan 19, 2002
6,579
0
0
44
Clementi
dynaxattack said:
I agree with TME. Moreover, Minolta was the first who invented the wireless flash system. What the Jap (canon&nikon) did was improvised on it like they always do. I still think there is a ray of hope in #1. ;)

Minolta also Japanese what...
 

Zenten

Deregistered
Jun 13, 2004
9,844
8
38
What about the WB (as a whole)...........:thumbsd:
 

dynaxattack

New Member
Nov 16, 2005
142
0
0
Zenten said:
What about the WB (as a whole)...........:thumbsd:
HUH?? :dunno: I beg your pardon. :D

But I think even the AWB is quite fantastic. The preset ones with plus/negative value makes it super, and the custom WB makes it super duper. AFAIK. ;)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.