PetaPixel Finding Inspiration in the Limitation

RSSNewsFeeder

Apr 9, 2018
The World
www.clubsnap.com
inspiration_1-800x419.jpg

As a professional outdoor photographer, my mind had been in a place of backcountry skiing, snow photography and ramping up for spring commercial projects—the same place it has been every March for years. I like this time of year, it feels like my fitness, my vision and my bandwidth all line up to result in outdoor missions and photography that really feed the soul, and the bank account.

Then we were told to stay home…

Even before the official directive came out, I was already self-quarantining as a result of a nasty cold or flu bug. I didn’t want to spread it, and I certainly didn’t want to be exposing myself to Covid-19 while my immune system was already in pitched battle. So, as of this writing, I’ve already been locked down at my house for three weeks. Four more weeks are on the books, at very least.

First, despair and fear. The things, people, places and projects that have defined this time of year and part of my annual business cycle were being uprooted. There go my plans, my dreams, my fitness, my income. We’ll be broke before this is all over.

Then, some breathing. Some problem solving. First, stay safe. Keep the family safe. Batten down the hatches and stay home. Second, staunch the bleeding of the bank account. Pare down expenses, cancel subscriptions, eliminate discretionary spending. These are the reactive steps. Things happened too quickly to proactively deal with the fallout. But, once our minds were settled that we were doing the best we could with the available information, it was time to explore the new landscape.

01_Rinckenberger_DSC3154-800x533.jpg

Water droplets on a Pacific Bleeding Heart – 1/320sec, f/4.0, ISO 3200