Financial Calculator where can i get???


Status
Not open for further replies.

cast123

New Member
Nov 28, 2003
617
0
0
Spore
Visit site
#1
anyone know where can i get financial calculators?:dunno:

I'm helping someone to look for one. But heard that this model is out of production, the model is Casio FC 100.
 

AhV

Senior Member
Jun 10, 2004
2,141
0
36
Northland
#2
try bras basah ..... if i were you, forget about the CASIO and get a HP :thumbsup: ..fast and accurate ..bought one during my school days and I am still using it now.... excellent companion even at work:lovegrin:
 

Adiemus

New Member
May 21, 2004
1,673
1
0
45
Small island....
#3
yup! Bras Basah has it. Got one for my bro-in-law who needed it in Australia. One of the shops on the ground floor.
 

cast123

New Member
Nov 28, 2003
617
0
0
Spore
Visit site
#5
Adiemus said:
yup! Bras Basah has it. Got one for my bro-in-law who needed it in Australia. One of the shops on the ground floor.

that's fast guys, really appreciate ur help. Tks! :)
 

hongsien

Senior Member
Mar 11, 2002
3,688
0
36
105
Hong Kong
Visit site
#6
I would also recommend HP, I have mine for 19 years now (HP-11c), and dropped it seveal times, nothing happens! Only changed batteries three times! The LCD starts to deteroriate not at one corner, but is still usable...........

It works differently though than normal calculators, so it needs some to get used to. There is a financial version: HP-12c I think, but there are others. Check eBay, or ask Mr Wong at Fotografix, secondfloor of Chinatown Center (or something like that), the shopping center in Chinatown, just next to that chinese style bridge (it also has a McDonald on the groundfloor)........he collects these HP's, good luck!

HS
 

karwing

New Member
Dec 1, 2003
93
0
0
44
AMK
#8
Anyone knows which is better: HP-12c or Texas Instrument BA-II Plus?

HP cost $100+ and the TI cost $60+.

Suppose to use for CFA exams.

TIA! =)
 

Astin

Senior Member
Mar 2, 2002
4,736
0
36
Astin Studio
astin.clubsnap.org
#9
AhV said:
try bras basah ..... if i were you, forget about the CASIO and get a HP :thumbsup: ..fast and accurate ..bought one during my school days and I am still using it now.... excellent companion even at work:lovegrin:
just curious, have u ever seen a calculator that is inaccurate? :think:
 

ericp

New Member
Apr 27, 2003
577
0
0
Visit site
#10
hongsien said:
It works differently though than normal calculators, so it needs some to get used to.
Do you mean RPN operation ? Some of the later ones can switch between RPN & algebraic ... I have a 19BII that can do just that (way overkill for my needs, like using an Arca Swiss B1 for a P&S :bsmilie: ).

It's a lot of fun once you get used to RPN ... makes you approach the task with a different mindset.
 

mpenza

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
12,938
0
0
Singapore
www.instagram.com
#11
BA-II Plus is easier to use for most people. HP12C uses the "computer" way of doing simple arithmetic. It's actually faster once you get the hang of it ;p
 

Jan 23, 2005
1,095
0
0
Singapore
#12
Astin said:
just curious, have u ever seen a calculator that is inaccurate? :think:
All calculators are somewhat inaccurate (they generally round the exact results to a number they can represent). The difference is to what degree they are so, especially when it comes to operations like transcendental functions.
 

Squid

New Member
Jun 10, 2004
1,467
0
0
#13
AhV said:
try bras basah ..... if i were you, forget about the CASIO and get a HP :thumbsup: ..fast and accurate ..bought one during my school days and I am still using it now.... excellent companion even at work:lovegrin:
My opinion is to agree that HP business calculator is better. I tried both Casio FC-100 & FC-200 version and didn't like it. FC-200 is even slower than FC-100. For HP business calculator, you may try the HP-12C or HP 12C Platinum or HP-17bII+. Details inlcuding sales out of Singapore, can be found at http://www.educalc.net which operates from Loyang in Singapore.
 

Astin

Senior Member
Mar 2, 2002
4,736
0
36
Astin Studio
astin.clubsnap.org
#14
LittleWolf said:
All calculators are somewhat inaccurate (they generally round the exact results to a number they can represent). The difference is to what degree they are so, especially when it comes to operations like transcendental functions.
Hmm, calculator itself should be accurate, its the LCD display that round up the number to show u just the digits.
 

nemesis32

Senior Member
Oct 16, 2003
3,717
1
0
43
Singapore
Visit site
#15
Before you rush to buy the calculator.... Please check which model...

I know for certain that some exams do not allow certain calculators and make sure the one you getting is on the "ALLOWED" list..
 

Dennis

Senior Member
Jan 24, 2002
3,881
0
0
Singapore
8dennis8.fotki.com
#17
Yeh especially the HP41 series and above are mostly not allowed. Knowledgable invigilator may do a master clear for the above if they allow it into the exam hall.


nemesis32 said:
Before you rush to buy the calculator.... Please check which model...

I know for certain that some exams do not allow certain calculators and make sure the one you getting is on the "ALLOWED" list..
 

yanyewkay

Senior Member
Sep 22, 2004
3,924
0
0
Cons digger.
#18
Astin said:
Hmm, calculator itself should be accurate, its the LCD display that round up the number to show u just the digits.
I have learnt while schooling that the calculator uses rounding and when doing long calculations the minor error escalates.

There was a test to check the calculator's accuracy but I've forgotten how to do it. It's part of some computer study thingy.
 

Astin

Senior Member
Mar 2, 2002
4,736
0
36
Astin Studio
astin.clubsnap.org
#19
yanyewkay said:
I have learnt while schooling that the calculator uses rounding and when doing long calculations the minor error escalates.

There was a test to check the calculator's accuracy but I've forgotten how to do it. It's part of some computer study thingy.
What u refer to is "truncation", the user specify how many decimal points he wants to truncate, the calculator will display according to what the user specify. A financial guy may want to truncate to 4 decimal points for convenience, while a scientist may want to truncate to 40 decimal points for more accuracy.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom