Filter


Status
Not open for further replies.

shenny

New Member
Jan 11, 2006
10
0
0
#1
Hi I am new owner of FZ 30.

Recently bought a UV coated filter @ S$25 and a linear polariser @ S$25.
Do you think I being cheated by the salesman?
It's true that FZ 30 does really require a circular polariser as it does not uses fixed mirror
like SLR.
I had problem focusing using FZ 30 especially on kids. Any tips?
 

jeremyftk

New Member
Jun 24, 2005
694
0
0
32
Eastern Singapore
#2
Cannot use linear polariser, yes. Reason is wrong however.

Auto Focus makes use of lines to focus, so a linear polariser would throw your focusing into chaos, in other words cannot focus.

So whether or not you use an SLR or not, as long as you use AF, you must use a CPL. Whoever told you about the fixed mirror thing was obviously trying to pull a fast one. I hope it wasn't the salesman... :bsmilie:
 

atomicdust

Deregistered
Apr 18, 2004
132
0
0
Blue Planet
#3
Ur filters how many mm and which brand? I just bought a Hoya Circular Polarizer 72mm at $70..:(
 

foxtwo

Senior Member
Mar 11, 2004
2,522
0
0
singapore
#4
jeremyftk said:
Cannot use linear polariser, yes. Reason is wrong however.

Auto Focus makes use of lines to focus, so a linear polariser would throw your focusing into chaos, in other words cannot focus.

So whether or not you use an SLR or not, as long as you use AF, you must use a CPL. Whoever told you about the fixed mirror thing was obviously trying to pull a fast one. I hope it wasn't the salesman... :bsmilie:
lolz u also trying to pull a fast one?

cannot use linear polariser yes. cannot focus correctly yes. but reason is because of the beam splitter AF uses.
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showpost.php?p=1070077&postcount=24
mods should make it a sticky, too many pple ask about polarisers.
 

jeremyftk

New Member
Jun 24, 2005
694
0
0
32
Eastern Singapore
#5
foxtwo said:
lolz u also trying to pull a fast one?

cannot use linear polariser yes. cannot focus correctly yes. but reason is because of the beam splitter AF uses.
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showpost.php?p=1070077&postcount=24
mods should make it a sticky, too many pple ask about polarisers.
Dude... That ain't a fast one... That's the layman version of your explaination, as far as I can remember.

Bottom line is the fact that LPL cannot be used...
 

foxtwo

Senior Member
Mar 11, 2004
2,522
0
0
singapore
#6
jeremyftk said:
Dude... That ain't a fast one... That's the layman version of your explaination, as far as I can remember.

Bottom line is the fact that LPL cannot be used...
im not arguing the bottom line.

and AF does not use lines to focus, it uses contrast.
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#7
foxtwo said:
lolz u also trying to pull a fast one?

cannot use linear polariser yes. cannot focus correctly yes. but reason is because of the beam splitter AF uses.
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showpost.php?p=1070077&postcount=24
mods should make it a sticky, too many pple ask about polarisers.
Agreed whit you, should have a sticky thread for polarising filters.

How about you start a thread for this.
 

Prismatic

Senior Member
Feb 25, 2003
1,323
0
36
39
In the void.
Visit site
#8
foxtwo said:
im not arguing the bottom line.

and AF does not use lines to focus, it uses contrast.
Passive AF systems uses contrast to determine AF. It does so by determining the difference in contrast between line edges. This has no effect on the use of polarizers, but it has been a major cause of misunderstanding that AF need to focus using 'lines'.
 

shenny

New Member
Jan 11, 2006
10
0
0
#9
Not sure if you read this review below...
Lumix FZ30 does not need a CPL cos the AF does not use any kinds of mirror like SLR.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/read_opinion_text.asp?prodkey=panasonic_dmcfz30&opinion=29099

Can anyone tell me if I had bought these filters at an expensive price? Just hoping to make myself feel better... it seem that one have to be knowledgable before you trust.

I'm not sure of the brand of the filter, it just stated a big PL on the box.
55mm UV coated @ S$25
55mm PL @ S$25
 

#10
shenny said:
Hi I am new owner of FZ 30.
Recently bought a UV coated filter @ S$25 and a linear polariser @ S$25.
These "smart" salesmans are always trying to sell linear polarizer instead of circular one to novice users. I got linear one with my first DSLR too and a salesman was swearing that the linear PL is exactly what I need. :thumbsd:
 

ExplorerZ

Senior Member
Jan 9, 2006
7,752
0
36
West Legion
hkchew03.deviantart.com
#11
shenny said:
Not sure if you read this review below...
Lumix FZ30 does not need a CPL cos the AF does not use any kinds of mirror like SLR.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/read_opinion_text.asp?prodkey=panasonic_dmcfz30&opinion=29099

Can anyone tell me if I had bought these filters at an expensive price? Just hoping to make myself feel better... it seem that one have to be knowledgable before you trust.

I'm not sure of the brand of the filter, it just stated a big PL on the box.
55mm UV coated @ S$25
55mm PL @ S$25
$25 is too much for a UV coated... i got mine at $13 or so. you can get a Hoya HMC at about $19 which is much much better
for PL im not sure. but my hoya CPL cost $38 iirc. all price are for 55mm
 

Prismatic

Senior Member
Feb 25, 2003
1,323
0
36
39
In the void.
Visit site
#12
Hmm, the review is a bit strange. Nobody 'NEEDS' a polariser to focus anyway, no matter what camera you are using. A polariser is used for other reasons.
 

ExplorerZ

Senior Member
Jan 9, 2006
7,752
0
36
West Legion
hkchew03.deviantart.com
#13
Prismatic said:
Hmm, the review is a bit strange. Nobody 'NEEDS' a polariser to focus anyway, no matter what camera you are using. A polariser is used for other reasons.
yes no 1 need polariser to focus. but when one use it for other reason, they will lose the focus... so it is inter-related.
 

foxtwo

Senior Member
Mar 11, 2004
2,522
0
0
singapore
#14
shenny said:
Not sure if you read this review below...
Lumix FZ30 does not need a CPL cos the AF does not use any kinds of mirror like SLR.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/read_opinion_text.asp?prodkey=panasonic_dmcfz30&opinion=29099

Can anyone tell me if I had bought these filters at an expensive price? Just hoping to make myself feel better... it seem that one have to be knowledgable before you trust.

I'm not sure of the brand of the filter, it just stated a big PL on the box.
55mm UV coated @ S$25
55mm PL @ S$25
i don't know what's the FZ30's construction but got this off google.
http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/view_topic.php?id=86459&forum_id=84

if you're happy with your results then it's fine. but you may want to go try out a CPL just to see the difference.
 

shenny

New Member
Jan 11, 2006
10
0
0
#17
Hi,

Thanks for all the sharing and advice...
I think I shall stop thinking whether the salesman hasn't been honest to me..
and start my hands on soon and move on when I better trained...

Once again, thanks.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom