F80 or F90 ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

jelloj

Jan 3, 2004
Hello all,
i'm a newbie to SLR. Should i get a F80 or a F90? Which is better? Advice please.

jelloj said:
Hello all,
i'm a newbie to SLR. Should i get a F80 or a F90? Which is better? Advice please.

if you want VR lense, then F80

if you want F90, i suggest get F90x which is i think better cos i use it .. :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :sweatsm: :p

F90 or F90x can't use VR lense (or can use but no VR feature)

body wise, i like F90x..more solid.

F90 can only get it at 2nd hand for the price of a brand new F80...sturdy enough cos i dun think u will be banging it around..

Skip the F90 and choose between the F90x($600) and F80($450).

The F90x has better build, larger+brighter viewfinder, slightly faster AF,0.3EV compensation steps, 1/250 flash sync.

F80 has on demand compostion gridlines and support for VR.

Decide whether the loss of VR support and $150+ price difference is worth the features mentioned above.

jelloj said:
Hello all,

Both the F90 and F80 are respectable cameras.. Here is a quick comparison of both..

F90x.
-Support for AI/AIS lense with metering due to coupling ring at bayonet mount
-A sturdier consturction of the body.. however there is quite a bit of plastic..
-Interchangable film backs.. MF-25 (Date back), MF-26 (Multifunction control back - allows you to do bracketing, timed exposures, multiple exposures and more, including imprint of shooting data (on the image itself-this is a drawback)
- Large and very bright viewfinder.
- Interchangable focusing screens..
- battery pack with vertical shutter release - MB10
- 10pin connector for synch cords
- Supports AF-I and AF-S lenses.. however G lenses can only be use in P and S mode..
- No support for VR feature.. however you can still use the lens, just turnoff the VR.. else it will drain your cam flat in a blink of an eye.