F stop in camera and lens

Status
Not open for further replies.

zhuqe

Oct 29, 2005
Hi,

I'm a DSLR newbie, and just purchased D80.
I'm a bit confuse about the f stop in lens and camera. What's the relation ?
my lens kit is 1/f is 3.5 - 5.6 and the camera can go as low as 1/22.

when i test a night shot with small appeture and long exposure can see much different when i played with camera f stop.

thanks for reading and advice

cheers !

zhuqe said:
Hi,

when i test a night shot with small appeture and long exposure can see much different when i played with camera f stop.

cheers !
ur camera only set the aperture... it does't mean that your camera is able to go as low as f22 (camera doesn't have aperture, it depend on the lens)

and what do you mean by much different?

XC Pictorial said:
Dont be surprised but if u do look at ur nikon d80 manual..
its all stated there. :)

Yeah.

Wow a beginner and T/S bought the D80? Good choice, but now suggest TS go for a basic photography course first to learn the basics of photography. Also check out the library and online resources. What's the use of a best equipment, if one does not know how to use if effectively?

the f numbers that u see printed on the lens are the maximum apertures for the lens. Remember, big number equals small aperture, so when we say maximum aperture, we mean smallest number. The camera only control the aperture of the lens. It does not limit it. Zoom lenses have f3.5-5.6 or whatever cos the numbers are the maximum apertures at the widest end of the zoom lens and the most telephoto end of the zoom lens. The maximum possible aperture changes as you zoom. Try and see. A 50mm f1.8 gives has only one maximum aperture because it does not zoom. An expensive 'pro' zoom lens has what we call constant maximum aperture cos it has a maximum aperture of f2.8 or whatever from wide to telephoto.

zhuqe said:
Hi,

cheers !