EZ link card with Giro


Virgo

Senior Member
Dec 23, 2003
4,816
0
0
West of Singapore
www.pbase.com
#1
Hi all,

I have always use the old EZ link card with Giro facility without any issues. No charges whatsoever when a top-up has been initiated using the old card.

With the new card (so-called CEPAS) now, I have to re-apply for Giro facility, it will take 21 working days (what are those ppl doing in EZ link office), and for every top-up, it will slap an additional 25 cents to the top-up amount! This is just 变相起价! Agree?

Isn't this pure daylight robbery? I can understand that with every unsuccessful top-up, in case I don't maintain sufficient funds in my bank account, I can be fined up to $5 or something, but with a 25 cents charge for every top-up, I seriously cannot swallow this.

Can you imagine how much money they're making by just collecting this top-up charges?

Any comments?
 

sonyboy

New Member
Jun 27, 2009
733
0
0
27
Singapore
#2
Hi all,

I have always use the old EZ link card with Giro facility without any issues. No charges whatsoever when a top-up has been initiated using the old card.

With the new card (so-called CEPAS) now, I have to re-apply for Giro facility, it will take 21 working days (what are those ppl doing in EZ link office), and for every top-up, it will slap an additional 25 cents to the top-up amount! This is just 变相起价! Agree?

Isn't this pure daylight robbery? I can understand that with every unsuccessful top-up, in case I don't maintain sufficient funds in my bank account, I can be fined up to $5 or something, but with a 25 cents charge for every top-up, I seriously cannot swallow this.

Can you imagine how much money they're making by just collecting this top-up charges?

Any comments?
since you want something easy to be done..should pay more.
I dont see any problem.
 

May 24, 2008
103
0
0
north
#3
Hi all,

I have always use the old EZ link card with Giro facility without any issues. No charges whatsoever when a top-up has been initiated using the old card.

With the new card (so-called CEPAS) now, I have to re-apply for Giro facility, it will take 21 working days (what are those ppl doing in EZ link office), and for every top-up, it will slap an additional 25 cents to the top-up amount! This is just 变相起价! Agree?

Isn't this pure daylight robbery? I can understand that with every unsuccessful top-up, in case I don't maintain sufficient funds in my bank account, I can be fined up to $5 or something, but with a 25 cents charge for every top-up, I seriously cannot swallow this.

Can you imagine how much money they're making by just collecting this top-up charges?

Any comments?
Any cards with pre-loaded money(link card, phone card etc...) for future spending are considered day light robberies, as they earn interest from our pre-loaded money but we get nothing from that, not to mention about the 25 cents charge....:thumbsd:
 

Virgo

Senior Member
Dec 23, 2003
4,816
0
0
West of Singapore
www.pbase.com
#4
since you want something easy to be done..should pay more.
I dont see any problem.
There wasn't a charge with the old card, when was this new policy being implemented?

I am not as rich as you do. 25 cents per transaction may mean nothing to you, or may be you drive? But to me who travels a lot and rely on a lot of top-ups, it's a lot of money at the end of the day.
 

ninelives

Senior Member
Jan 16, 2002
3,247
3
38
BB
ninelives.clubsnap.org
#5
There wasn't a charge with the old card, when was this new policy being implemented?

I am not as rich as you do. 25 cents per transaction may mean nothing to you, or may be you drive? But to me who travels a lot and rely on a lot of top-ups, it's a lot of money at the end of the day.
erm,,,,then top $100 at one go lor, then it will detuct 25 cents only. if you top up $20 5 times, then u have to pay 1 dollar.

your Occupation is IT, dont tell me u cant afford 25 cents
 

Virgo

Senior Member
Dec 23, 2003
4,816
0
0
West of Singapore
www.pbase.com
#6
erm,,,,then top $100 at one go lor, then it will detuct 25 cents only. if you top up $20 5 times, then u have to pay 1 dollar.
Max top-up limit is $50. It'll go within a week. That means $1 per month for nothing!

I think you still don't see the big picture. It's $1 from me per month. Can you imagine how many of the 'carrots' here in Singapore using this Giro top-ups?
 

Limsgp

New Member
Dec 16, 2005
1,128
0
0
Singapore, Bedok
#7
From what I'm aware, there's a 25cents "convenient fee" even for the old card.. never heard of any card no charges one..

Did you check how much they deduct every time? $50 or $50.25?


Hi all,

I have always use the old EZ link card with Giro facility without any issues. No charges whatsoever when a top-up has been initiated using the old card.

Any comments?
 

sonyboy

New Member
Jun 27, 2009
733
0
0
27
Singapore
#8
There wasn't a charge with the old card, when was this new policy being implemented?

I am not as rich as you do. 25 cents per transaction may mean nothing to you, or may be you drive? But to me who travels a lot and rely on a lot of top-ups, it's a lot of money at the end of the day.
I am a student.
So for my travel on bus, i can buy consession.
One month of unlimited bus travel for 26.50.

i understand an adult can't save much on travel.
 

Limsgp

New Member
Dec 16, 2005
1,128
0
0
Singapore, Bedok
#9
From another point of view.. If more pple use GIRO, they can cut down on manpower at the counters as no need to serve so many pple, and they can cut down on the machines at the stations saving on maintenance etc..

So there should not any charges at all to encourage GIRO.. why do they have to levy a convenience fee.. :(
 

Virgo

Senior Member
Dec 23, 2003
4,816
0
0
West of Singapore
www.pbase.com
#10
From what I'm aware, there's a 25cents "convenient fee" even for the old card.. never heard of any card no charges one..

Did you check how much they deduct every time? $50 or $50.25?
My top-up amount currently is $20 each time. I can confirm that only $20 is deducted from my bank account each time.
 

Virgo

Senior Member
Dec 23, 2003
4,816
0
0
West of Singapore
www.pbase.com
#11
I am a student.
So for my travel on bus, i can buy consession.
One month of unlimited bus travel for 26.50.

i understand an adult can't save much on travel.
You are not affected by this one, so try to put yourself in our shoes, or wait till you start working and then start making noise?
 

sonyboy

New Member
Jun 27, 2009
733
0
0
27
Singapore
#12
You are not affected by this one, so try to put yourself in our shoes, or wait till you start working and then start making noise?

i wouldnt waste money take public transport. I would rather buy a car if i were you.

And its only 4 bus stop or 8 minutes drive to my "future" work place.
 

Virgo

Senior Member
Dec 23, 2003
4,816
0
0
West of Singapore
www.pbase.com
#13
From another point of view.. If more pple use GIRO, they can cut down on manpower at the counters as no need to serve so many pple, and they can cut down on the machines at the stations saving on maintenance etc..

So there should not any charges at all to encourage GIRO.. why do they have to levy a convenience fee.. :(
My point is this: currently they do not impose such fees. Why are they imposing it now? Just because we are getting a new CEPAS card? Also, activating GIRO service previously is instant. We can go to any transitlink machine and activate it INSTANTLY, with our POSB/DBS ATM card. Why now they need 21 WORKING DAYS to activate it? Isn't this turning back the clock? Chinese call it 开倒车. :thumbsd:
 

sonyboy

New Member
Jun 27, 2009
733
0
0
27
Singapore
#14
My point is this: currently they do not impose such fees. Why are they imposing it now? Just because we are getting a new CEPAS card? Also, activating GIRO service previously is instant. We can go to any transitlink machine and activate it INSTANTLY, with our POSB/DBS ATM card. Why now they need 21 WORKING DAYS to activate it? Isn't this turning back the clock? Chinese call it 开倒车. :thumbsd:
actually the new card have more "way" of using it.
ERP? Pay for Taxi?

The new card , can say its like a "credit card"
 

Virgo

Senior Member
Dec 23, 2003
4,816
0
0
West of Singapore
www.pbase.com
#16
actually the new card have more "way" of using it.
ERP? Pay for Taxi?

The new card , can say its like a "credit card"
Try losing it some day. No ERP, no taxi, and not even bus or MRT for you. :bsmilie:

I rather keep my other cards.

Same in photography. You don't squeeze everything in your 8GB card right? You use a few 2 GB cards I hope.
 

sonyboy

New Member
Jun 27, 2009
733
0
0
27
Singapore
#18
Try losing it some day. No ERP, no taxi, and not even bus or MRT for you. :bsmilie:

I rather keep my other cards.

Same in photography. You don't squeeze everything in your 8GB card right? You use a few 2 GB cards I hope.
Well. All these losing de matter , depend on your fate.
 

Limsgp

New Member
Dec 16, 2005
1,128
0
0
Singapore, Bedok
#19
Oh.. maybe yours is direct debit from bank account..

Those using credit card to top-up one will have $0.25 fee.. guess it's the trend now..


My top-up amount currently is $20 each time. I can confirm that only $20 is deducted from my bank account each time.