External Flash Unit or a Battery Grip?

medallion

Aug 8, 2005
West
Given these two items, which will u buy first?

Currently using EOS 350D.

As for the flash, i can loan from school.

For me a flash unit is more important, I can do without a grip.

I choose the grip...don't like use flash unless no choice...350D have built-in flash for daylight fill-in. :D The grip gives better handling and balance IMHO.

Flash more impt, u'll use it more often...then after that buy grip. Alan Photo selling $169 inc GST.

I like the grip better for 350D, since the camera is small. i think its a must.

I'd have to agree with ramius ... the body is small and you'll need the grip to handle it properly.. battery life is another

medallion said:

I think you've already answered your own qn. You can loan the flash from sch so...

Coz if i loan, maybe can loan one year...:p

But i tink i might need the batt grip and extra batts...feels that it is important...350D grip small lehz...hold oso uncomfortable, especially in vertical mode.

harrynkl said:
buy bty grip lah flash as u say can loan if not collect dust only.

Yah lor...:think:

What do you find yourself shooting more often?

If you do mostly shots in portrait format, you'll find the grip more useful.

If you do mostly indoor/low-light shots, then the flash is more useful.

Go check your existing images, how many of them are portrait? How many are low-light needing flash?

If it's an even or close split, get the flash first as it will impove the image quality. The grip is a convenience accessory which has little impact on the final image.

Buy the grip....cos if hold like that even more uncomfortable...shooting in portrait mode is also so much easier.....

medallion said:

Flash. As the rest said, you can do without a grip but not a flash.
But, a flash is 2x the price of a grip...

See how lor...if i get 580ex, 500 extra dollars will be flying off my savings...

But if i get 430EX, wont be that bad...

medallion said:
See how lor...if i get 580ex, 500 extra dollars will be flying off my savings...

But if i get 430EX, wont be that bad...

u should say $500 for the 430EX cos $500 is too little for 580EX. 580EX u'll need around $700+