Extension tubes.. Manual or Auto?


Astroben

New Member
Aug 3, 2010
289
0
0
#1
Hi,
I'm reading about extension tubes to increase magnification for macro prhotography.
Are there only 2 types, ie manual and auto tubes?
If so does auto comes with contacts that enables auto focusing with AF lens?

If my above understanding is correct, would appreciate your feedback which is the preferred choice. Are auto tubes by any means neccessary?

Thank you.
Ben
 

pinholecam

Moderator
Staff member
Jul 23, 2007
10,944
88
48
#2
Hi,
I'm reading about extension tubes to increase magnification for macro prhotography.
Are there only 2 types, ie manual and auto tubes?
If so does auto comes with contacts that enables auto focusing with AF lens?

If my above understanding is correct, would appreciate your feedback which is the preferred choice. Are auto tubes by any means neccessary?

Thank you.
Ben
There are :

Manual : aperture stops down and viewfinder gets darker
Auto aperture : Aperture does not stop down until shutter button is released. No dark viewfinder
Auto aperture, AF : As the above as well as supports AF.


Do note that all these are brand specific.
 

Jun 14, 2010
973
0
0
Admiralty
#3
I believe that most of us macro shooters use manual focusing during macro shoots...
 

Astroben

New Member
Aug 3, 2010
289
0
0
#4
Hmmm. So among the first 2 option(Manual/Auto aperture) which is better.
I assume they are way cheaper than the AF tubes right?
Without contacts how do I control or select the f stops that I need?
 

Leong23

Senior Member
Oct 18, 2007
3,186
5
0
within myself
#5
Get the Auto aperture one, less one hassle to trial and error the exposure, the effort can use to concentrate on other things.
 

Last edited:

pinholecam

Moderator
Staff member
Jul 23, 2007
10,944
88
48
#6
Hmmm. So among the first 2 option(Manual/Auto aperture) which is better.
I assume they are way cheaper than the AF tubes right?
Without contacts how do I control or select the f stops that I need?
IMO, AF is the least in importance. Most macro will need MF anyway for precision.
Get auto aperture ones though. If not, image shooting at f8 or f11 and your viewfinder will be too dark to see anything.
 

Astroben

New Member
Aug 3, 2010
289
0
0
#7
Oh okok, So I can still select apertures/speeds that I need?
how much in general is an auto-aperture tube?
and where can I get cheap and decent ones?

Did a search on ebays but they did not mention manual or auto aperture.
Any local stores to recommend folks?
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,516
30
48
Pasir Ris
#8
Without contacts how do I control or select the f stops that I need?
a) Use manual lens with aperture ring.
b) Put the lens on the camera without tube, set the desired aperture in Av mode, press and hold the DOF preview button and unmount the lens. The aperture will remain in the selected position. Then insert the tube and mount the lens on tube.
And: no, neither the lens nor the camera will be damaged by this procedure.
 

Last edited:

Leong23

Senior Member
Oct 18, 2007
3,186
5
0
within myself
#9
Oh okok, So I can still select apertures/speeds that I need?
how much in general is an auto-aperture tube?
and where can I get cheap and decent ones?

Did a search on ebays but they did not mention manual or auto aperture.
Any local stores to recommend folks?
Most of the ppls using this set, although the AF is not needed.
http://www.thkphoto.com/products/kenko/slrc-04.html

Brand new cost S$200 plus. Best is look out in B&S, will cost around $150.
 

Astroben

New Member
Aug 3, 2010
289
0
0
#10
Looks good ;)
where to get auto-aperture tubes?
 

Astroben

New Member
Aug 3, 2010
289
0
0
#14
Thanks, since we can do without AF then I think I will head for the cheaper ones to try first.
Just that I can't differentiate between manual/auto apertures.
Those on the webs only state non-AF or AF types.
For non-AFs they did not state manual or auto-aperture.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,516
30
48
Pasir Ris
#15
Just that I can't differentiate between manual/auto apertures.
Those on the webs only state non-AF or AF types.
For non-AFs they did not state manual or auto-aperture.
This could be a model available for Nikon. Canon has AF and aperture in electronic way. Either both is automatic or both is manual. It's just a bunch of contacts that need to be extended from body to lens through the tube. Nikon still has the option of mechanical aperture for a range of lenses, which requires a mechanical lever from body to lens. But I'm not using Nikon, it's just a good guess :)
 

Astroben

New Member
Aug 3, 2010
289
0
0
#16
Got my hands on a cheap manual 3-piece ET.
Tried out on my AF 60mm micro yesterday but everything is so dark! Focusing blindly by trial & error until frustrated. Haha
Read something today that I missed out doing.
> I can manually set aperture ring on my AF micro lens to adjust wider aperture

Will this help to brighten image much for me to even focus manually?
Any other advises that I could have missed out?
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,516
30
48
Pasir Ris
#17
Read something today that I missed out doing.
> I can manually set aperture ring on my AF micro lens to adjust wider aperture
Will this help to brighten image much for me to even focus manually? [/quote]
Bingo :thumbsup: Open the aperture to widest setting and you will be able to focus properly. Then close to desired value.
Any other advises that I could have missed out?
Use A mode. Read your manual for the option when the aperture is set manually on the lens. Check what needs to be done on the camera.
 

Astroben

New Member
Aug 3, 2010
289
0
0
#18
Ok thanks.
Was only able to snap in M mode yesterday.
Will try more. ;)
 

Astroben

New Member
Aug 3, 2010
289
0
0
#19
Indeed those older gen lenses with aperture rings are much easier to use with manual ET.
I can't figure out how to use it on my 35mm f/1.8 DX lens. Read up somewhere to hold DOF button while dismounting, but when I twist the lens the aperture will also turn aperture blades back to default f/22.
 

Diavonex

Senior Member
Sep 23, 2008
3,641
0
0
Admiralty
#20
Manual extension tube is a pain, why don't you get a Raynox filter and snap it on your lens and start shooting.

No need to remove lens

 

Top Bottom