exposure?!?! flash????


Status
Not open for further replies.

FireZ

Deregistered
Sep 21, 2008
1,230
0
0
#1
hi peeps..nid help!!

i realise that..using canon 450d on manual mode, turning on the pop up flash...n setting the aperature at any point (i tested on f3.5 - f8)...the exposure is abt the same no matter how fast/slow i set the shuttle..
y i said that..for example...setting at f8, i tried as fast as shutter of 200 and as slow as 10+++..the exposure seem to b + / - a bit only...
hence i was wondering...is the way i test wrong, or it suppose to b like tat..
feedback from u guys matter coz it determine whether i shd save for tamrom 17-50 f2.8 (using 18-55mm IS now) or flash...

if it happens to b super noob question n will lead to cross fire from those "PRO", kindly dun reply here...
friendly reply welcome..
thanks a lot!
cheers!:)
 

Last edited:

Spikey86

New Member
Dec 10, 2007
114
0
0
#2
Hav u tried adjusting ur ISO?
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#3
1. It's "shutter". The shuttle is a reusable orbital lift system used by NASA.
2. What setting did you use for the flash? By default, the camera will adjust the flash output to get a consistent exposure. Try setting your flash to full manual if your camera supports it.
 

navlem

New Member
Sep 16, 2007
881
0
0
#4
hi peeps..nid help!!

i realise that..using canon 450d on manual mode, turning on the pop up flash...n setting the aperature at any point (i tested on f3.5 - f8)...the exposure is abt the same no matter how fast/slow i set the shuttle..
y i said that..for example...setting at f8, i tried as fast as shutter of 200 and as slow as 10+++..the exposure seem to b + / - a bit only...
hence i was wondering...is the way i test wrong, or it suppose to b like tat..
feedback from u guys matter coz it determine whether i shd save for tamrom 17-50 f2.8 (using 18-55mm IS now) or flash...

if it happens to b super noob question n will lead to cross fire from those "PRO", kindly dun reply here...
friendly reply welcome..
thanks a lot!
cheers!:)
You could also adjust your flash exposure compensation.
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#5
hi peeps..nid help!!

i realise that..using canon 450d on manual mode, turning on the pop up flash...n setting the aperature at any point (i tested on f3.5 - f8)...the exposure is abt the same no matter how fast/slow i set the shuttle..
y i said that..for example...setting at f8, i tried as fast as shutter of 200 and as slow as 10+++..the exposure seem to b + / - a bit only...
hence i was wondering...is the way i test wrong, or it suppose to b like tat..
feedback from u guys matter coz it determine whether i shd save for tamrom 17-50 f2.8 (using 18-55mm IS now) or flash...

if it happens to b super noob question n will lead to cross fire from those "PRO", kindly dun reply here...
friendly reply welcome..
thanks a lot!
cheers!:)
you camera on manual mode does not mean your built in flash also on manual mode, by default, it is on TTL mode, so you change your aperture, the flash will adjust accordingly to give correct exposure, and flash output has nothing to do with shutter speed. But the exposure of ambient light will be change if you adjust the shutter speed or aperture or both.
 

FireZ

Deregistered
Sep 21, 2008
1,230
0
0
#6
OOOooo...thx for answering my question..
coz i tot on manual mode....the flash will be on manual mode...didn't know it will be in auto mode..
thx a lot!!
cheers!;)
 

zac08

Senior Member
Feb 21, 2005
11,755
0
0
East
#7
OOOooo...thx for answering my question..
coz i tot on manual mode....the flash will be on manual mode...didn't know it will be in auto mode..
thx a lot!!
cheers!;)
Only when u use an external flash unit and set that to manual as well, then you'd have FULL manual control.
 

winson_ksk

New Member
Apr 13, 2006
137
0
0
East
www.photoblog.com
#8
TTL with camera manual mode simply rocks cause, give u correct exposure in most situation, Thanks to Canon for their great invention and reworks:)
Happi shooting!!;)
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,543
33
48
Pasir Ris
#9
if it happens to b super noob question n will lead to cross fire from those "PRO", kindly dun reply here...
If you fear to ask questions you need to read more as trade-off. You can start here:
http://www.photonotes.org/articles/eos-flash/
Distinguish between Manual Exposure mode and Manual Flash mode.

Your testing should reveal already some details ... e.g. background light. Check again.
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#10
TTL with camera manual mode simply rocks cause, give u correct exposure in most situation, Thanks to Canon for their great invention and reworks:)
Happi shooting!!;)
Thanks to Canon??? Nikon first introduced TTL (Through The Lens) flash technology in 1980.

Please, do you really think that canon invented everything???
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,543
33
48
Pasir Ris
#11
TTL with camera manual mode simply rocks cause, give u correct exposure in most situation, Thanks to Canon for their great invention and reworks:)
Got paid for that hailing without knowledge? Just compare how fill flash is implemented by Nikon and Canon, hope that's obvious enough.
 

kkoge

New Member
Oct 5, 2008
232
0
0
31
Tampines
#12
Only when u use an external flash unit and set that to manual as well, then you'd have FULL manual control.
i beg to differ thou.. my pop up flash is on manual when i use my old tamron CF lens..

have to meter myself.. =.= but usually i'm lazy.. trial and error.

and spikey86.. u can always buy a pop-up flash diffuser to create different ambience too.. it's not very costly. :)
 

darrrrrrrrrr

Senior Member
Sep 19, 2006
3,209
5
38
30
Singapore
#14
if the camera can't detect the aperture of the lens (as with using old manual lenses with no electronic contacts) then most likely it will fire at full power/manual flash setting.
 

kaixiang

New Member
Feb 4, 2009
314
0
0
Bukit Batok, Singapore
#15
To add on, you can use the formula GN = aperture x distance to calculate flash exposure. The GN should be given in your user manual but manufacturers generally tend to overestimate GN. You can reduce flash power or increase ISO to adjust flash output if you want to change the aperture value. Finally, shutter speed does not change flash exposure because flash exposure is much faster than the maximum sync speed of most cameras except the Nikon D40, D70 and D70s.
 

Stoppable

Senior Member
Apr 28, 2003
545
0
16
Serangoon
#16
hi peeps..nid help!!

i realise that..using canon 450d on manual mode, turning on the pop up flash...n setting the aperature at any point (i tested on f3.5 - f8)...the exposure is abt the same no matter how fast/slow i set the shuttle..
y i said that..for example...setting at f8, i tried as fast as shutter of 200 and as slow as 10+++..the exposure seem to b + / - a bit only...
hence i was wondering...is the way i test wrong, or it suppose to b like tat..
feedback from u guys matter coz it determine whether i shd save for tamrom 17-50 f2.8 (using 18-55mm IS now) or flash...

if it happens to b super noob question n will lead to cross fire from those "PRO", kindly dun reply here...
friendly reply welcome..
thanks a lot!
cheers!:)
This is definitely not a super noob question. And Kaisiang is spot on about shutter speed not affecting flash exposure at normal sync speeds. So whatever ETTL decide to output at 1/10, the output will be the same at 1/200 and the flash exposure will be the same. Small difference will probably be due to ambient light.
 

FireZ

Deregistered
Sep 21, 2008
1,230
0
0
#17
thanks for all e info provided...
well....perhaps nid to re-read the manual to c is there any manual control for the pop up flash for my canon 450d le..
thx peeps!
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom