Experts pls recommend newbie a Digicam

Status
Not open for further replies.

boroangel

Apr 23, 2005
Hi guys, I need some advice from you on getting a digital camera.
I am a newbie and would like to learn photography but I never owned a DC before. I did read up quite a bit on forums and in particular ClubSnap since last year. Hence thinking of getting a normal compact with enough feature ranges such as aperture and shutter speed variations to learn before I get a DSLR next year.
my requirements are:

1. At least 4MP
2. At least 6 optical zoom
3. not the sortinto macro shots, more into landscape and portraits
4. Good for low light/night conditions
5. Good range of aperture, shutter speed or any other features where I can play around and learn about it.
6. Black camera which look like those DSLRs (no choice, personal preference;))
7. Video recording with sound
8. Anti-shake(if possible)
9. Budget-$500(negotiable)

I have been looking at black cameras such as Fuji S500,5500,7000 and the Minolta Z series...but now I think I m keeping away from Minolta after my bros Z3 spolit less than half a year...

Can the experts out there recommend me some cameras with the price roughly according to the checklist above?

geez, u really r on a tight budget. :sweat:

tink u'll hav 2 save up more if u looking 4 a DC w/ such specs. u can try d resale market 4 older models.

Actually I just called Alan Photos, S5500 now at 460....S7000 no stock...waiting for it to arrive...MS hotos and CAthay say both models discon....

but my budget is negotiable....pls suggest...its all right...

maybe a used model would meet your requirement .. however definitely not

If you're looking into landscape, get one of those with lens starting from 28mm-xx, else you will probably need to buy WA converter later.

Too bad that you exclude Minolta, else a used A1 (5MP, 28-200, w/ AS) will fit your requirement with a little stretch of you budget.. :bsmilie: