Dust in Lens


Status
Not open for further replies.

ody2061

New Member
Jul 28, 2006
43
0
0
#1
My EF 28-123mm IS USM lens got some speck of dusts in it. How much will it cost to have the lens cleaned and can someone recommend a good and reliable shop?

Thanks in advance.
 

Klose

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2005
2,619
0
0
#2
ody2061 said:
My EF 28-123mm IS USM lens got some speck of dusts in it. How much will it cost to have the lens cleaned and can someone recommend a good and reliable shop?

Thanks in advance.
Send to canon. Less than $100.
 

dreamerz

Senior Member
Aug 13, 2005
888
0
0
30
Tampines
www.sherman-photography.net
#3
ody2061 said:
My EF 28-123mm IS USM lens got some speck of dusts in it. How much will it cost to have the lens cleaned and can someone recommend a good and reliable shop?

Thanks in advance.
try to blow it off...n shaking the lens for the dust to fall to the side...this is wat some of them teach me....unless is stubborn dust....
 

Apr 30, 2006
700
0
0
#4
Wah, shake also can arh? Then when you use again later won't it fall back onto the glass? I recommend if its there and it irritates you/your pics, get rid of it - go straight to Canon.:)
 

dreamerz

Senior Member
Aug 13, 2005
888
0
0
30
Tampines
www.sherman-photography.net
#5
tamiya_model said:
Wah, shake also can arh? Then when you use again later won't it fall back onto the glass? I recommend if its there and it irritates you/your pics, get rid of it - go straight to Canon.:)
so far no prob...n no 1 ask u shake so hard...gently shake it....
 

Terence

Senior Member
Nov 16, 2003
4,751
0
0
I'm a Llama!
#6
Try shooting at some tighter apertures, if the dust doesn't show up in the image then don't worry about it. A bit of dust is quite normal.
 

Snoweagle

Senior Member
Jan 26, 2005
14,002
0
0
Pasir Ris, Singapore
#8
ody2061 said:
My EF 28-123mm IS USM lens got some speck of dusts in it. How much will it cost to have the lens cleaned and can someone recommend a good and reliable shop?

Thanks in advance.
As said if not visible in yr images then leave it. If u're very particular abt having dusts then send it back to Canon for cleaning.

By the way it's 28-135mm.
 

ody2061

New Member
Jul 28, 2006
43
0
0
#9
Snoweagle said:
As said if not visible in yr images then leave it. If u're very particular abt having dusts then send it back to Canon for cleaning.

By the way it's 28-135mm.

Thanks Snoweagle, noticed that I typed 123mm instead of 135mm!!;p


Just took this off Changi Beach.

1) I realized there is a red dot that appears in all my photos always at the same position. It is somewhere at top of the photo. Is this from the lens or from my camera's sensor?:cry:

2) Can you guys help me see if all the 'lens flare' look-alike stuff in this photo are due to my lens?

Kam sia again....:D
 

dreamerz

Senior Member
Aug 13, 2005
888
0
0
30
Tampines
www.sherman-photography.net
#10
ody2061 said:
Thanks Snoweagle, noticed that I typed 123mm instead of 135mm!!;p


Just took this off Changi Beach.

1) I realized there is a red dot that appears in all my photos always at the same position. It is somewhere at top of the photo. Is this from the lens or from my camera's sensor?:cry:

2) Can you guys help me see if all the 'lens flare' look-alike stuff in this photo are due to my lens?

Kam sia again....:D
1) i think ur cam sensor gt hotpixel
2) use a hood to reduce possibility of lens flare
 

midicity

Senior Member
Mar 14, 2006
695
0
16
#11
dreamerz said:
1) i think ur cam sensor gt hotpixel
2) use a hood to reduce possibility of lens flare
3) think you can remove your UV filter for the night shots to reduce flare too
 

ody2061

New Member
Jul 28, 2006
43
0
0
#12
dreamerz said:
1) i think ur cam sensor gt hotpixel
2) use a hood to reduce possibility of lens flare
What can I do to fix the cam sensor hotpixel thingy? How much will it cost?:sweat:
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom