Dual Flash setup for macro


Jun 24, 2009
979
0
0
#1
Need Guru advise again...

How to setup dual flash on tripod?

Is the "bar" DIY or buy from shop?

If is DIY , can advise on the spec ?

10Q many many :)
 

nightwolf75

Moderator
Staff member
Dec 18, 2003
17,857
14
38
really MORE diaper changes
#2
the bar for dual flash is available inside
mass sales. just need to get some form of TTL cable to link the flash together
 

nightwolf75

Moderator
Staff member
Dec 18, 2003
17,857
14
38
really MORE diaper changes
#6
Are you refering to ring flash, if not mind explain further...?
Me still newbie ... thanks..
yep. if u are using nikon, that would be the R1C1 system. it works better becos it utilize the nikon iTTL system for more accurate exposure.

the alternatives would be the sigma EM-140 ring flash, or the one that is being sold by castwind now inside buy/sell.
 

Jun 24, 2009
979
0
0
#7
yep. if u are using nikon, that would be the R1C1 system. it works better becos it utilize the nikon iTTL system for more accurate exposure.

the alternatives would be the sigma EM-140 ring flash, or the one that is being sold by castwind now inside buy/sell.
any idea of the cost for the R1C1? :devil:

saw your post on the sigma flash... any new FR till date? :thumbsup:
 

ortega

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 2, 2004
23,694
10
38
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#10
if your built in flash can act as commander then the R1 will be enough
the R1C1 is only for cameras which do not have a built in flash

note: you can also mount a SB800/900 to act as commander
 

Last edited:
Jun 24, 2009
979
0
0
#11
if your built in flash can act as commander then the R1 will be enough
the R1C1 is only for cameras which do not have a built in flash

note: you can also mount a SB800/900 to act as commander
Am i right to say, D90/D700 use R1?

D3 & above R1C1?

thanks... :)
 

ortega

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 2, 2004
23,694
10
38
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#12
Am i right to say, D90/D700 use R1?

D3 & above R1C1?

thanks... :)
yes, can use the R1, can also use the R1C1
but the R1 is enough

for cameras which cannot be used as a commander (note that the SB800/SB900 can also be used as a commander) then they got no choice but to get the R1C1

the only difference between the R1 and the R1C1 is the SU-800 Wireless Speedlight Commander unit
 

Jun 24, 2009
979
0
0
#13
yes, can use the R1, can also use the R1C1
but the R1 is enough

for cameras which cannot be used as a commander (note that the SB800/SB900 can also be used as a commander) then they got no choice but to get the R1C1

the only difference between the R1 and the R1C1 is the SU-800 Wireless Speedlight Commander unit
Yes SIr !! btw wat the $ ? e price guide here a bit out dated :bsmilie:

Thanks...
 

Jun 24, 2009
979
0
0
#15
Call the shops and ask lar brother.. Should hover in the region of 7XX-8XX for R1 and 10XX-11XX for R1C1 :)
Just want to know roughly the $ 1st ma... later call e shop kana carrot le :bsmilie:

Can I call you and ask ??? :bigeyes:
 

dykat2009

Senior Member
Jul 6, 2009
2,577
0
0
Jurong West St65
#18
Not a guru but just a macro shooter who is learning as well.

Learn from regulars who shoot at AP. Credits to them.

I used setup as with the following items:

1x DIY Aluminium bracket bar 7 inches long -- bend downwards 1 inch on two sides and drill with 3 holes. 2 holes at sides and one hole in center. standard tripod screw hole size.

2x normal flash -- one master connected using the cable to cam hot shoe and the 2nd flash setup in slave mode manual (trigger by 1st flash light source)

2x small ball head screwed into the 2 side holes of DIY bracket. To hold the 2 flashes. ball head allow adjust to any angle you want.

The DIY bracket center hole mount on camera and tripod plate. Cover the two flashes with diffuser material to diffuse lighting to subject.

that is it.
 

Last edited:

cichlid

Senior Member
Dec 2, 2006
5,072
3
38
S'pore
#19
Not a guru but just a macro shooter who is learning as well.

Learn from regulars who shoot at AP. Credits to them.

I used setup as with the following items:

1x DIY Aluminium bracket bar 7 inches long -- bend downwards 1 inch on two sides and drill with 3 holes. 2 holes at sides and one hole in center. standard tripod screw hole size.

2x normal flash -- one master connected using the cable to cam hot shoe and the 2nd flash setup in slave mode manual (trigger by 1st flash light source)

2x small ball head screwed into the 2 side holes of DIY bracket. To hold the 2 flashes. ball head allow adjust to any angle you want.

The DIY bracket center hole mount on camera and tripod plate. Cover the two flashes with diffuser material to diffuse lighting to subject.

that is it.
Thanks for sharing, btw, how u diffuse the flash?
 

Top Bottom