DSLR to reccomend?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hirowen

Mar 30, 2006
Tampines
www.friendster.com
Hi forumer. I am looking for a DSLR. This is my first time using DSLR, so i am quite lost here. My budget is around < $1700. What i looking for is the image quality(sharpness) and ease of use. I saw some article about Nikon D50. Is it really that good? And also i am interested to sign up photography course in Temasek Poly for the near future, I hope that the DSLR is suitable for it. Currently i am using Panasonic FZ5. So far so good but just that the image wasn't sharp enough and EVF/LCD is just too dark in dark area. Please help.. Thanks. :)

Given that budget, I suppose u can get a Nikon's D70s, Canon's 350D or a 2nd-hand 20D. With a little spare cash left, you may get extra batt, CF card or a dry box. As to which of these 3 recommended dslrs is best, they are all relatively on par performance wise - 20D is the highest end here.

You may want to read up more on www.dpreview.com on the above mentioned dslrs.

Gd luck to your purchase!

cheers,
janz

Go to a camera shop n play with the cameras. Choose the one that fits your hands and eyes best. Feature wise they are comparable.
http://singaporephoto.blogspot.com

prosumer camera like D70s would be suitable if you are just starting out on DSLR.

For me, I would look at the diff system first.... Canon, Nikon, KM etc...

1. which system you want to go into
2. After you know which system, then you look at what they can offer base on your budget... e.g Nikon got the D50 & D70s..
3. After you get the Body, you need the soul (Lens)... then you got to ask youself what you shoot most and move from there....

It is a never ending learning experience + a never ending grass eating exercise for most of us.... :sweat: :sweatsm:

Best thing is to try out the different models and see which you like better. One man's meat may be another's poison....