dry cabinet spoil!


Status
Not open for further replies.

faa

New Member
Jun 25, 2004
850
0
0
32
up north...
www.flickr.com
#1
woke up few days ago and realised that my dry cabinet of almost 4 years (bought in feb 2005) decided to stop functioning! the lights are gone and the humidity shot up to 60plus percent..

sians.. is the life span of a dry cabinet (electronic one) ard 4 years?

not sure if its worth it to repair or simply buy a new one.. need some advice!!

thanks!
 

Clarity

New Member
Dec 30, 2005
86
0
0
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#3
Wow.. Exact same situation as me...

realised a few days ago that my dry cabinet's humidity is constantly at 60++.. Decide to take a closer look today, and the lights are dead... Only thing is, my cabinet is only one yr old >_<
 

zac08

Senior Member
Feb 21, 2005
11,755
0
0
East
#4
Which brand and model??

prices now are much higher than before... so check back with the company.
 

giantcanopy

Senior Member
Feb 11, 2007
6,232
2
0
SG
#5
:think: a reminder for me to go check back on all my dry cabis
 

lieu9310

New Member
Oct 14, 2003
122
0
0
52
Singapore
Visit site
#7
my dry cabinet had the same problem few years back. . . i call up the agent and was ask to removed the drying unit from the cabinet and send for service. . . although i do not had the receipt with me the agent service for me . . . the brand of my unit is Derox. . . may be u can call the agent to check. . . gd luck
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,517
30
48
Pasir Ris
#8
It's quite easy to replace the condenser unit in DigiCab models. Just 6 screws and that's it. You only need to bring the warranty card (filled in!) and the unit, they replace on the spot. Only drawback: the service center is a bit outside: Tagore Lane.
 

karnage

New Member
Feb 26, 2005
1,325
0
0
35
Ang Mo Kio
#10
Like what Octarine said, u just need to remove the condenser unit and bring it for service. Sometimes, it's not the unit that's spoilt; it's just the power supply. For me, my dry cabinet hasn't been working for quite some time and I was lazy to dismantle the condenser unit. So it wasn't working for a really long time. Then one day I got down to it, brought the condenser unit and the power adaptor to Tagore Lane (DigiHub) for an inspection. Apparently, only the power adaptor was spoilt. DigiHub offered me their adaptor at $15, which would've solved the issue.

But I didn't get it. =P I went to Sim Lim Tower to look for an adaptor with the same sized plug, same voltage output and same current output. Found one for $8, and it works as it should! =) So now my dry cabinet's working again!
 

faa

New Member
Jun 25, 2004
850
0
0
32
up north...
www.flickr.com
#11
wahh not free to go down to the service centre leh.. is it advisable to insert silica gel and thirsty hipppo for now?
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,517
30
48
Pasir Ris
#12
wahh not free to go down to the service centre leh.. is it advisable to insert silica gel and thirsty hipppo for now?
Be careful with the hippo, it's very thirsty. Also check that there is no leak at the box. Check the RH meter from time to time.
 

boyboy

New Member
Oct 15, 2007
561
0
0
#13
wahh not free to go down to the service centre leh.. is it advisable to insert silica gel and thirsty hipppo for now?
your RH meter working? if so, u can just use silica gel or hippo indefinitely. just that YOU are the controller. u remove the stuff when humidity reaches about 35%, and put it back in at 55 or thereabouts

i say remove at 35% imho. cos when u open the door, the humidity usually goes up by 3-5% ;p. can see how it works for u.

technically, once u get the humidity ok with this manual method. it should stay that way for some time until you next open the door

i sometimes do this to assist the dry box. sometimes when packing, a whole lot of outside air goes in and humidity gets very high
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,517
30
48
Pasir Ris
#14
i sometimes do this to assist the dry box. sometimes when packing, a whole lot of outside air goes in and humidity gets very high
Relax, no need for that. There's is no race "reach 45% in 1h or lens get spoiled". The cabinet is for long time storage without usage. It's not a "quick dryer" for camera and lenses and your equipment can stand more that you dare to think.
 

tanks

Senior Member
Jul 14, 2004
719
0
16
singapore
#16
Hi, I recommend Tolihan dry cabinet.

I believe Tolihan dry cabinet still among the best.

My Tolihan dry cabi bought in 1994 from tithes marketing (adelphi) 15years already, still working & never give me any problem.

:thumbsup:
 

boyboy

New Member
Oct 15, 2007
561
0
0
#17
Relax, no need for that. There's is no race "reach 45% in 1h or lens get spoiled". The cabinet is for long time storage without usage. It's not a "quick dryer" for camera and lenses and your equipment can stand more that you dare to think.
maybe i'm too kiasu :embrass: :bsmilie:

but so far, normal opening, it only goes up by a bit, to 55% or so. i can live with tt.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,517
30
48
Pasir Ris
#18
maybe i'm too kiasu :embrass: :bsmilie:
but so far, normal opening, it only goes up by a bit, to 55% or so. i can live with tt.
What is really going up? The reading at the door (where the RH meter is located) sticking out into the room. But that doesn't mean the RH jumps the same way in the lower left corner close to the back, right? Or does the temperature in your fridge jump to 30 degrees just by opening to get a coke? ;)
 

boyboy

New Member
Oct 15, 2007
561
0
0
#19
true.. but i usually wait some time, then give the meter (mine's analog) area at the door a good tapping. cos the needle is a bit sticky.

anyway, that was reassuring info there ;)
 

happydog

New Member
Sep 15, 2007
232
0
0
#20
eh, i also just realised my digicab dry cabinet been at 49% to 53%... is this normal?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom