Dry Cab neccesary?


defboy

New Member
Mar 30, 2007
8
0
0
#1
Hi all, I just bought myself a Olympus EP3 with dual kit lens. I have been thinking of what assesories that are essential to get for the camera. Been contemplating if I would need a dry cab now bcoz my mum would probably yell at me for the increase in utilities bill since the dry cab have to be on 24/7. I thought of getting a side sling camera bag to put everything together instead since I would be travelling with the camera. Any suggestions?
 

donut88

Senior Member
Nov 14, 2008
2,182
5
0
#2
Power usage is very very minimal, like only 5w? Your fan, air con, even Hp charger consumes alot more.

U can volunteer to pay the difference to your mom lor.

Anyway I recommend Akurai dry cab. Cathay photo is the authorized agent with 5/6 years warranty. No need to scare about servicing.

Just go to Cathay at peninsula and see the whole range there. Got analog and digital
 

defboy

New Member
Mar 30, 2007
8
0
0
#3
Power usage is very very minimal, like only 5w? Your fan, air con, even Hp charger consumes alot more.

U can volunteer to pay the difference to your mom lor.

Anyway I recommend Akurai dry cab. Cathay photo is the authorized agent with 5/6 years warranty. No need to scare about servicing.

Just go to Cathay at peninsula and see the whole range there. Got analog and digital

Thanks bro for your response, I was thinking if I can use those hard dry box (Non electrical) 1st since mine is only an entry level setup?
 

DDAphoto

New Member
Jun 23, 2011
98
0
0
23
#4
Thanks bro for your response, I was thinking if I can use those hard dry box (Non electrical) 1st since mine is only an entry level setup?
Difficult to maintain, no protection assurance.
 

Berkins

Senior Member
Aug 29, 2010
2,105
1
0
#5
defboy said:
Thanks bro for your response, I was thinking if I can use those hard dry box (Non electrical) 1st since mine is only an entry level setup?
it's quite troublesome to change or heat the silica gel everytime it turns pink
 

luckyorange

Senior Member
Jan 13, 2011
2,840
0
36
Ang Mo Kio
#6
defboy said:
Thanks bro for your response, I was thinking if I can use those hard dry box (Non electrical) 1st since mine is only an entry level setup?
You can use dry box, but its difficult to maintain the ph level, too low is bad for your cam.

Recommended ph is aroud 45%-55%

Dry cabinet (digital) easier just set and leave it, bill wise I can't see much different Haha
 

Last edited:

defboy

New Member
Mar 30, 2007
8
0
0
#7
Thanks all for your responses ... pardon my noobness, 1st time into photography. Any cheap entry level dry cab to reccommend? My camera is now out of the box condition ... any assessories that I should get? I already got 2nd batt, Steinzeiser 1350mm tripod. Thanks in advance!!
 

Dec 11, 2010
948
1
0
#9
defboy said:
Thanks bro for your response, I was thinking if I can use those hard dry box (Non electrical) 1st since mine is only an entry level setup?
seriously, i own a digi-cabi dry cab n it's always on too.. my mum nv noticed much diff.. abt $2?
 

luckyorange

Senior Member
Jan 13, 2011
2,840
0
36
Ang Mo Kio
#10
defboy said:
Thanks all for your responses ... pardon my noobness, 1st time into photography. Any cheap entry level dry cab to reccommend? My camera is now out of the box condition ... any assessories that I should get? I already got 2nd batt, Steinzeiser 1350mm tripod. Thanks in advance!!
Just get a 30l one? Which is around 120
 

defboy

New Member
Mar 30, 2007
8
0
0
#12
SkyStrike said:
I recommend a 40L at least....BBB can spread fast...
Pardon my noobness again ... What is BBB?
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,516
30
48
Pasir Ris
#14
Thanks bro for your response, I was thinking if I can use those hard dry box (Non electrical) 1st since mine is only an entry level setup?
Fungus does not care about whether your setup is entry level or not. It will just grow once the conditions are right. The point is about 'controlled humidity at a lower level' - something a dry cabinet can achieve easily.
 

defboy

New Member
Mar 30, 2007
8
0
0
#15
Thanks guys ... I just bought a digi cabi dry cab from ms colour ...
 

luckyorange

Senior Member
Jan 13, 2011
2,840
0
36
Ang Mo Kio
#16
defboy said:
Thanks guys ... I just bought a digi cabi dry cab from ms colour ...
Rem to set the ph and let it run for few hours
 

Last edited:
Dec 11, 2010
948
1
0
#19
Rem to set the ph and let it run for few hours
Yup.. remember to let it run for a few hours and stabilise before you put your gear in. Don't kan cheong and start adjusting the knob every few hours because the air going in will affect the RH reading inside..
 

mccm33

New Member
Apr 21, 2007
484
1
0
#20
cost of cleaning the body and 2 zoom lens abt below 150 plus.
 

Top Bottom