'Drop' @ Keppal Bay

Status
Not open for further replies.

hungrymonster

Oct 7, 2009
Singapore
Hi everyone,
I am a newbie here. Have only started photography since march 2009.. Please pardon me for my 'greenhorn' in photography. I really hope to get some feedback on this particular photo that I have taken at Keppal bay. Its a monument with a background of yachts.

3987355899_012970c197.jpg

22mm, f/5.6, 1/4, ISO800, Sony Alpha 350

1. In what area is critique to be sought?

Composure and Editing.
So far, I have only did a bit of cropping. Have no idea how I should edit the photo.

2. What one hopes to achieve with the piece of work?

I would like to achieve on how to make this photo looks more perfect. All I want to is to make the monument look 'stand' out with the background.

3. Under what circumstance is the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)

Have taken it at the 'magical hour' at Keppal Bay. At that time, all I want to do is to capture that moment (where the sky started to darken and the monument started to 'shine' in a different colour) down.

4. What the critique seeker personally thinks of the picture

This is my so-called 1st try in taking this kind of photo and its one of my favourite photos. I really liked this photo a lot as its my 1st try. Haven taken much photos though since I have just started.

IMHO, if you want to make the subject standout from the rest, you need to have simple background. The background of yachts & people is not helping you because they are distracting. A few suggestions that may help to achieve what you try to do:

a. Shoot from low angle to make the monument looks bigger or more grand.

b. Use large aperture to blurr the background. Eg. f2.8 if your lens allows you to do so.

c. Try to exclude the people standing behind so that it is less distracting. I'm not sure if low angle could help you to achieve that cos I'm not there to see for myself.

d. Zoom in closer, exclude the tent of the left.