Dragonfly Super Macro with EF 100mm/f2.8 Macro (Botanic Garden - 4 May)


Status
Not open for further replies.

Wai

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
5,265
0
36
42
South Pole with Penguin
singastro.org
Thanks Megaweb for bringing these lens today just for me.....too bad that i was late and didn't have time to take somemore shots

but your lens is really great! very fast focus and i can go as near as 20cm with manual focusing

Wah..the dragonfly was so huge thru the viewfinder....i can count all its hair on the head and i can even see the dragonfly sticking out its tongue!!!

ok..back to topic..all the pic taken at ISO100, with build in flash of D30 only



f8, 1/60s


f16, 1/10s


f16, 1/6s

I was already using very big f-number
i wonder why i cannot get the wings to be in focus as well?
also, should i use bounce flash instead to reduce the reflection of the eyes?
f8, 1/60s
 

Wai

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
5,265
0
36
42
South Pole with Penguin
singastro.org
Originally posted by Klause
Hmm.. did u use tripod?
yes...Tripod with 10 second timer....

i think the shutter speed too long...and the wind is blowing at the dragonfly so it is moving

but then i was using Manual Focus, for the last two shots....else cannot get so near
 

megaweb

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 17, 2002
8,541
3
38
East
megaweb.clubsnap.org
wah ... nice shots ... I like the 1st one ...


look like the dragonfly is not in focus using f/8 .... have u try smaller than f/8 settings ?
 

Wai

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
5,265
0
36
42
South Pole with Penguin
singastro.org
Originally posted by megaweb
wah ... nice shots ... I like the 1st one ...


look like the dragonfly is not in focus using f/8 .... have u try smaller than f/8 settings ?
2nd and 3rd are f16

i even tried f22 and up to f32
but the shutter speed is so long that the wind blows and the pic will become blur

u can see that even at f16 in 2nd and 3rd pic already as the speed is only 1/10s

which means external flash is a must for SLR to take insect pictures?
 

megaweb

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 17, 2002
8,541
3
38
East
megaweb.clubsnap.org
Originally posted by kamwai


2nd and 3rd are f16

i even tried f22 and up to f32
but the shutter speed is so long that the wind blows and the pic will become blur

u can see that even at f16 in 2nd and 3rd pic already as the speed is only 1/10s

which means external flash is a must for SLR to take insect pictures?

1/10 sec is too slow to get the object in focus ...

if you are going to use settings like f/16 to f/32..... external flash is definitely a MUST to you ..
 

Wai

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
5,265
0
36
42
South Pole with Penguin
singastro.org
Originally posted by megaweb



1/10 sec is too slow to get the object in focus ...

if you are going to use settings like f/16 to f/32..... external flash is definitely a MUST to you ..
i dunno if the flash was using full power or not cos it was so bright already.....is it possible to push the flash to max power manually....so that i can use faster shutter??

look like i really have to get the Sigma Super 500 flash gun for more manual control....

now...i think need to study the manual somemore...
 

Tweek

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
2,027
0
0
42
East
www.weekai.com
Originally posted by kamwai


i dunno if the flash was using full power or not cos it was so bright already.....is it possible to push the flash to max power manually....so that i can use faster shutter??

if you go to manual mode on the flash, it will always blast with full power.
 

Wai

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
5,265
0
36
42
South Pole with Penguin
singastro.org
Originally posted by Tweek


if you go to manual mode on the flash, it will always blast with full power.
i was using Av mode....except the 4th pic...i use manual mode with external flash.
 

megaweb

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 17, 2002
8,541
3
38
East
megaweb.clubsnap.org
Originally posted by Tweek


if you go to manual mode on the flash, it will always blast with full power.

No ... for using SLR in manual mode with 420EX , it is not full blast ...
 

Tweek

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
2,027
0
0
42
East
www.weekai.com
Originally posted by kamwai


i was using Av mode....except the 4th pic...i use manual mode with external flash.
I mean flash manual, not camera manual...
if your flash is already a manual flash without automatic options, then it will blast at full everytime.

wai, why not invest in a good flash? it will help a lot I think. Time to save up again! :D
 

Wai

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
5,265
0
36
42
South Pole with Penguin
singastro.org
Originally posted by Tweek


I mean flash manual, not camera manual...
if your flash is already a manual flash without automatic options, then it will blast at full everytime.

wai, why not invest in a good flash? it will help a lot I think. Time to save up again! :D
how abt the build in flash?? have to make use of what i have now cos no $$ for flash yet

how to push the build in flash to blast at max power? i have an old manual flash too (no power control, not auto flash) but i think it is as weak as the build in flash also
 

Status
Not open for further replies.