Double exposure on film


Status
Not open for further replies.

behyx

Senior Member
Jun 15, 2002
2,642
0
0
35
SG
www.danielbeh.com
#1
how can i do double exposure using film? How do we meter and how many stops do we overexpose each frame?
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#2
That’s depend on what camera you use, and what kind of double exposes of multiple exposes you want to archived, if it’s like 2 images overlapping, you underexposure each images by one stop.

if it’s no overlapping, it should be no changing of exposure.

Hope this help.
 

behyx

Senior Member
Jun 15, 2002
2,642
0
0
35
SG
www.danielbeh.com
#3
catchlights said:
That’s depend on what camera you use, and what kind of double exposes of multiple exposes you want to archived, if it’s like 2 images overlapping, you underexposure each images by one stop.

if it’s no overlapping, it should be no changing of exposure.

Hope this help.
Probably a scene where there sky (background) is too bright and the buildings (foreground) is normal lit. If i take a single exposure with the buildings correctly expose, the sky will be blown out, if i take a beautifully expose sky, the buildings will be terribly underexpose.

but from what you said, underexpose each image by 1 stop, won't it make the overall picture dark when i put the 2 frames together and print/scan?
 

user111

Senior Member
Jul 27, 2004
4,702
0
36
#4
all i know is that every subsequent frame must underexpose by 1 stop relative to the previous frame.
 

user111

Senior Member
Jul 27, 2004
4,702
0
36
#5
or is it the other way round..that means the first shot must underexpose..lol i havent done it in a long time liaos
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#6
behyx said:
Probably a scene where there sky (background) is too bright and the buildings (foreground) is normal lit. If i take a single exposure with the buildings correctly expose, the sky will be blown out, if i take a beautifully expose sky, the buildings will be terribly underexpose.

but from what you said, underexpose each image by 1 stop, won't it make the overall picture dark when i put the 2 frames together and print/scan?
Most people will use gradual ND filters for this kind of shot if it is daylight scene. You can’t have a double exposure for this kind of scene without masking.
 

student

Senior Member
Jul 26, 2004
3,078
0
0
#7
catchlights said:
Most people will use gradual ND filters for this kind of shot if it is daylight scene. You can’t have a double exposure for this kind of scene without masking.
Yup, this is the way to deal with such a scene, especially with colors.

If you are using black& white, you may "darken" the sky with colored filters like a deep yellow or orange. Red is usally too dramatic and makes foliage very dark. The sky can then be burned in during printing.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom