Does C700UZ have Preflash?


Status
Not open for further replies.

ark19

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
3,111
0
0
40
SG
#1
If it does, is it possible to de-activate it?
Sign, just bought a sensor flash but found that its not very effective..
Images got even darker....:(
 

Tweek

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
2,027
0
0
38
East
www.weekai.com
#2
Originally posted by ark19
If it does, is it possible to de-activate it?
Sign, just bought a sensor flash but found that its not very effective..
Images got even darker....:(
hmmm, got pre-flash meh??
Unless in red-eye reduction mode...
otherwise, I don't remember it having pre-flash.

Actually I would prefer it to have series of pre-flashes so that it can assist with low-light focus, but it doesn't.

Which flash unit did you get?
 

ark19

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
3,111
0
0
40
SG
#4
Originally posted by Tweek


hmmm, got pre-flash meh??
Unless in red-eye reduction mode...
otherwise, I don't remember it having pre-flash.

Actually I would prefer it to have series of pre-flashes so that it can assist with low-light focus, but it doesn't.

Which flash unit did you get?
Hi guys, after taking self-portraits of myself (thank goodness lens didn't crack!) to test the flash, I can safely concur that C700UZ do have Pre-flash!

Here r some pics of the "Sakure" flash...@$35 bucks..

This is the folded pic...notice the functionable hot shoe connection


Voila, the flasher is revealed!...can't really see it, but there's a led indicator and a sensor just below the flash.


The back...there's a test button, tripod screw mount and a ASA/dist/exposure chart...the AA batt compartment is at the side.


Try to see can refund anot....if not maybe give my sis to flash those flasher! :light:

:cry:
 

ark19

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
3,111
0
0
40
SG
#6
Originally posted by mpenza
$35 is ex. I could have sold you a stronger flash for less.
Heng Ah, the Lao Ban Niang was very kind, refunded me when I went back today :D
 

Klause

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
1,417
0
0
34
Bedok
Visit site
#7
You buying anymore slave flash? I also interested to get 1 for my c700uz. If you buying/aiming to buy, pls PM me and I may join you =p
 

ark19

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
3,111
0
0
40
SG
#8
Originally posted by Klause
You buying anymore slave flash? I also interested to get 1 for my c700uz. If you buying/aiming to buy, pls PM me and I may join you =p
After yesterday's lesson, I'd better research more before investing :embrass:

Check this digi-slave looks promising ;)

But abit ex @ US$99.95

Any suggestions?
 

HOCL

New Member
Jan 30, 2002
492
0
0
NE
Visit site
#9
Hi ark19

I went through the same experience as you. Bought a slave flash based on the shop's recommendation and then found out that there's pre-flash for C700. Got to go back to the shop and convince the salesperson abt his mistake (and hence the exchange of the flash).

I have also explore the option of getting the digislave but realised that those flash units seem to be normal Vivitar flashes fitted with their special electronics to accommodate the pre-flashes. Moreover, using slave flash means that your DC batteries will die faster...

I have since bought a Vivitar non-dedicated flash 285HV and the painfully expensive Olympus flash cable C B-04.

Quite happy with this ext flash setup, although sometimes I wish the flash is a bit smaller and has swivel head (besides the bounce head).

BTW, this setup is recommended by many folks at dpreview olympus forum.
 

ark19

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
3,111
0
0
40
SG
#10
Originally posted by HOCL
Hi ark19

I went through the same experience as you. Bought a slave flash based on the shop's recommendation and then found out that there's pre-flash for C700. Got to go back to the shop and convince the salesperson abt his mistake (and hence the exchange of the flash).

I have also explore the option of getting the digislave but realised that those flash units seem to be normal Vivitar flashes fitted with their special electronics to accommodate the pre-flashes. Moreover, using slave flash means that your DC batteries will die faster...

I have since bought a Vivitar non-dedicated flash 285HV and the painfully expensive Olympus flash cable C B-04.

Quite happy with this ext flash setup, although sometimes I wish the flash is a bit smaller and has swivel head (besides the bounce head).

BTW, this setup is recommended by many folks at dpreview olympus forum.
Hi HOCL,

How much did u pay for the 285HV and thee CB-04?
Seems like this is the choice for many folks with C700UZ...
But is it bulky?
 

mpenza

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
12,938
0
0
Singapore
www.instagram.com
#11
the Vivitar 285HV is quite huge. It used to be widely used by professionals and is a very powerful flash.

you probably can go for a smaller and cheaper one.
 

ark19

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
3,111
0
0
40
SG
#12
Originally posted by mpenza
the Vivitar 285HV is quite huge. It used to be widely used by professionals and is a very powerful flash.

you probably can go for a smaller and cheaper one.
If only we can modify a hotshoe slave unit to signal on second flash, then almost all flashes could be used! :gbounce:
 

HOCL

New Member
Jan 30, 2002
492
0
0
NE
Visit site
#14
Originally posted by ark19


Hi HOCL,

How much did u pay for the 285HV and thee CB-04?
Seems like this is the choice for many folks with C700UZ...
But is it bulky?
I think I paid like $145 for the 285HV and $90 (Ouch!!) for a piece of cable (CB-04). You'll probably need a simple bracket (abt $20-30) to hold the flash and camera together.

Yes it is quite bulky. Like I said, I wish it is a little smaller ....
 

ark19

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
3,111
0
0
40
SG
#16
Originally posted by HOCL


I think I paid like $145 for the 285HV and $90 (Ouch!!) for a piece of cable (CB-04). You'll probably need a simple bracket (abt $20-30) to hold the flash and camera together.

Yes it is quite bulky. Like I said, I wish it is a little smaller ....
$90 bucks for a cable! Can buy another flash already!
Think I'll go for the modified flash proposed by Kamwai....
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom