Do you shoot at full megapixel?

Do you shoot at full megapixel?


Results are only viewable after voting.

Status
Not open for further replies.

baileys

New Member
Dec 14, 2003
186
0
0
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#1
Most modern DSLRs have 10-12mp sensors at least. I'm using a D300 however im shooting at 6.9mp. I rarely print, if so also not is A4 or below size.
I'm using a 24inch iMac with a 1920x1200 screen and this type of resolution has served me well even if i have to crop a bit.

Would like to hear any opinions on this?
 

#2
Most modern DSLRs have 10-12mp sensors at least. I'm using a D300 however im shooting at 6.9mp. I rarely print, if so also not is A4 or below size.
I'm using a 24inch iMac with a 1920x1200 screen and this type of resolution has served me well even if i have to crop a bit.

Would like to hear any opinions on this?
Hehehe. I only have D50, so can only shoot at 6MP....;) I usually do shoot at raw, fine JPEG (more often) or Normal JPEG.

It depends on whether I have enough memory space. Since I do, I usually shoot at max.

Having said that, 6MP is usually enough for A4, unless you need to crop.
 

#3
I always, without exception, shoot at full res. I always make sure that I have enough memory to allow me to do so, so this is never an issue for me. Generally, if the lighting is in my favour, I will shoot in JPEG-FINE since I don't need so much headroom for post processing, but if the light becomes tough I will switch to RAW. I also use JPEG the most since I use the burst shooting function a lot and with JPEG I'm not limited in the length of the burst that I do. Lastly, the main reason I never reduce the resolution is because cropping is a luxury. Many pixels don't automatically make your photo great or sharp, but when it comes to cropping this is absolutely the case. I never want to find myself in the situation where I think "Damn, this is such a great photo but I can't frame it the way I want to". I know it is easy to say that you can just bump up the pixels when you need to print, but the bottom line is that you never know. Certainly if you are in a controlled environment such as a studio you know what you pics are going to be; but so many of my best photographs have been pictures where I have had a completely uninspiring day and have come around the corner and thought "Oh my God!". If I had had to change the pic res on my camera to get the picture, I would have missed it. So max it is for me! :)
 

lennyl

New Member
Mar 27, 2008
1,520
0
0
Northern California
#4
Most modern DSLRs have 10-12mp sensors at least. I'm using a D300 however im shooting at 6.9mp. I rarely print, if so also not is A4 or below size.
I'm using a 24inch iMac with a 1920x1200 screen and this type of resolution has served me well even if i have to crop a bit.

Would like to hear any opinions on this?
The way I reason it, I can always down-res my image, but not the other way around (or, at least, I will not gain detail doing it).

With my very first digital P&S years ago, I was playing around with the settings and took a photo of my baby daughter that turned out to be one of my favorite photos of her at that age. And it's at a miserable 640x480 resolution (on a 2MP camera). I've always taken photos at the highest quality setting since then (and RAW ever since I got my DSLR).
 

Verticoastro

Senior Member
May 7, 2006
2,077
3
0
Central
www.flickr.com
#5
it depends, if I shooting for a banner, I will shoot at full pixel... unless it is for website... of powerpoint presentation or small post card... I will shoot smll file with it... depend on my bosses requirement...
 

giantcanopy

Senior Member
Feb 11, 2007
6,232
2
0
SG
#6
With no constraints in space why not ? :dunno:

Ryan
 

wdEvA

Senior Member
Sep 1, 2006
6,284
0
36
etanphotography.com
#8
I always shoot in full resolution in raw, just resize it afterwards if you dont need the big size.
 

diver-hloc

Moderator
Staff member
Apr 17, 2007
5,213
13
38
Somewhere North
#10
I shoot only in RAW on my DSLR..... one size only (full size).

Good for cropping and still leaving a 'Big' enough photo for large print..... also a very cheap method to 'zoom in' on the subject. :bsmilie:
 

adiknaim

New Member
Feb 9, 2008
440
0
0
Choa Chu Kang
#11
RAW for me since i'm still not pro enuf to get the pic perfect when i shoot it...nd slight editing...
 

GavinTing

New Member
Oct 16, 2007
1,299
0
0
26
#12
Uhms.. If you can, why not? You never know when you might get THAT shot, and you don't want to be wishing you had set the res higher.. Anyway, I just shoot in RAW and convert to jpg on laptop... "saves" space compared to RAW+L
 

m3lv1nh0

Senior Member
Sep 24, 2007
2,225
0
0
40
Serangoon North
#13
Always in RAW for me unless I needed to print immediately than I will shoot in RAW + JPEG.
When doing weddings, you really dun have time to check each shot so RAW will give me some leeways in getting that important shot.
 

Oct 18, 2006
276
0
0
Singapore
#14
Well, too bad RAW only comes in full pixels anyway, so for me is always RAW and always 10mp on my D80
 

OlyFlyer

Senior Member
Mar 22, 2006
2,161
0
0
#16
I see no reason to shoot in anything less than maximum resolution. If I need to resize I can quickly do it in computer at a later stage.

BTW, I use the Olympus E-3.
 

MontoyaSG

Senior Member
May 16, 2004
1,396
0
36
#17
full 10MPs for me as i'll shoot in RAW+JPEG mode
 

yehosaphat

Senior Member
Oct 28, 2005
2,703
0
0
North
#18
full size definitely. You'll nv know when you will be needing that extra pixels for PP and you can resize later but not vice versa!!
 

fergo

New Member
Mar 19, 2007
185
0
0
Singapore
www.flickr.com
#19
Generally, if the lighting is in my favour, I will shoot in JPEG-FINE since I don't need so much headroom for post processing, but if the light becomes tough I will switch to RAW.
till now i still dun understand y RAW gives you more headroom in post-processing. can you share some knowledge with me? for instance i'm using Photoshop to do pp.

wats the advantages of using RAW to pp instead of JPEG? if possible, pls state advantages based on Photoshop. so i can relate better. thanks.. :cool:
 

Zeddy

New Member
Apr 5, 2007
822
0
0
#20
I always shoot at the max megapixel because I need to crop the picture sometimes and some of the resolution are lost as a result.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom