Disable Flash in Canon EOS 350D?

Status
Not open for further replies.

shutterbugger

Sep 4, 2006
Singapore
I bought a Canon EOS 350 D from Comex yesterday. I been reading the manul all day but cannot find a way to disable flash from firing in low light conditions in the Aperture priority mode and Night mode. I am a newbie to SLRs. Is there no way to do this? :dunno:

Push the pop-up flash down when it pops up. That should settle it. :)

as long you push down the flash... it wun fire.
but the next time you need it.. you got to press the flash button up again

wat i did was get a small cardboard paper material, not too thick but firm enough to slide into the hotshoe. that case, actually "fool" the camera that the light source is from external flash light and will not activiate the built-in flash pop-up. hope this helps.

Strange. I thought if you don't press the flash button, it won't pop up even though you're shooting in low light condition. I may be wrong though...

pokha said:
Push the pop-up flash down when it pops up. That should settle it. :)
I tried that. I found that I have to keep the shutter pressed half way while lowering the flash.
as long you push down the flash... it wun fire.
But the next time I take another pic, it pops up again. It's annoying. Or am I doing something wrong?

dfstan said:
wat i did was get a small cardboard paper material, not too thick but firm enough to slide into the hotshoe. that case, actually "fool" the camera that the light source is from external flash light and will not activiate the built-in flash pop-up. hope this helps.
That's a cool tip!!! Shall try that out

It only pops up in the green box or P mode IIRC and some of the "auto modes) in manual Av and Tv it will only pop up when you press the button and use it as a fill flash.

it wont pop out in aperture priority mode....

yup. only pops out in full auto and other modes. M TV AV and P wun.

wanzw said:
yup. only pops out in full auto and other modes. M TV AV and P wun.