Digi-Cabi display


JxXx87

New Member
Jun 12, 2007
3
0
0
#1
Hi all,
I just bought a digi-cabi 036N and noticed that the LCD has some lines along the sides of the display.I have attached a picture of it.
CS Bros who has digi-cabi cabinets,does yr LCD screen appear to be similar to mine or does it appear to be something wrong?

Thanks in adv!

 

Thoth

Senior Member
Apr 19, 2012
7,661
15
0
#2
JxXx87 said:
Hi all,
I just bought a digi-cabi 036N and noticed that the LCD has some lines along the sides of the display.I have attached a picture of it.
CS Bros who has digi-cabi cabinets,does yr LCD screen appear to be similar to mine or does it appear to be something wrong?

Thanks in adv!
Weird. Mine is ok. No such issue.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,488
26
48
Pasir Ris
#5
You should worry more about the high RH value than about those funny little lines... Recommended RH about 45%.
 

G-man

Senior Member
Mar 2, 2006
2,280
6
38
My House
#6
Octarine said:
You should worry more about the high RH value than about those funny little lines... Recommended RH about 45%.
He said just bought it so it is possible that it's still being stabilised.

TS, digicabi's aftersales support is pretty good. This LCD indicator can be changed. You just need to email them and explain the problem to them and I believe they will arrange to send someone down to swap.

That's what happened in my case when I got a new digicabi and the RH didn't go below 57% after more than a day.
 

JxXx87

New Member
Jun 12, 2007
3
0
0
#7
He said just bought it so it is possible that it's still being stabilised.

TS, digicabi's aftersales support is pretty good. This LCD indicator can be changed. You just need to email them and explain the problem to them and I believe they will arrange to send someone down to swap.

That's what happened in my case when I got a new digicabi and the RH didn't go below 57% after more than a day.
Ok.thanks.But call them tmr and explain to them the problem..so mine is an isolated case after all.
yap just bought in the aftn and the humidity haven stabilized.
 

haman

New Member
Sep 12, 2010
9
0
0
#8
Ok.thanks.But call them tmr and explain to them the problem..so mine is an isolated case after all.
yap just bought in the aftn and the humidity haven stabilized.
Hi, I've got the same display symptoms as you also. Didn't notice it until this thread came along..Mine was bought on Saturday from TK..Let us know your results with Digi..thanks..My RH can dropped to 40 now but once open door it will rise again and drop back later.
 

haman

New Member
Sep 12, 2010
9
0
0
#9
Hi, I've got the same display symptoms as you also. Didn't notice it until this thread came along..Mine was bought on Saturday from TK..Let us know your results with Digi..thanks..My RH can dropped to 40 now but once open door it will rise again and drop back later.
Oh and also, what is the difference between a DB-036 and DB-036N? My front cabinet door sticker is showing a DB-036 with the same digital display on top but TK and Digihub website is showing DB-036N available.
 

G-man

Senior Member
Mar 2, 2006
2,280
6
38
My House
#10
haman said:
Hi, I've got the same display symptoms as you also. Didn't notice it until this thread came along..Mine was bought on Saturday from TK..Let us know your results with Digi..thanks..My RH can dropped to 40 now but once open door it will rise again and drop back later.
Very normal because you are introducing moisture into the cabinet. As long as it does not take a long time to drop back. But isn't 40 too low for RH? For camera gear I remember reading its recommended that it reads between 45-55%.
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,645
63
48
lil red dot
#11
Very normal because you are introducing moisture into the cabinet. As long as it does not take a long time to drop back. But isn't 40 too low for RH? For camera gear I remember reading its recommended that it reads between 45-55%.
there is no such thing as too low nowadays in this day and age, with modern lubricants and all.

I have a Dry cab set at 30% for the last 18 years and all the gears work perfectly well.
 

G-man

Senior Member
Mar 2, 2006
2,280
6
38
My House
#12
daredevil123 said:
there is no such thing as too low nowadays in this day and age, with modern lubricants and all.

I have a Dry cab set at 30% for the last 18 years and all the gears work perfectly well.
Hmmm didn't realise that. Still, won't hurt to have it at between 45-55% ya? Or is there a possibility that would cause problems? Only concern is the rubber and lubricants drying out if I place it at such a low RH.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,488
26
48
Pasir Ris
#13
Hmmm didn't realise that. Still, won't hurt to have it at between 45-55% ya? Or is there a possibility that would cause problems? Only concern is the rubber and lubricants drying out if I place it at such a low RH.
It could increase the growth rate of all those waiting spores. Lubricants without water are unaffected, rubber that can sustain subzero temperatures (and the resulting low RH) won't be affected (much) by a range just below the average for moderate climates.
 

Gnabster

New Member
Jul 29, 2012
72
0
0
Singapore
#14
Does the display of the Digicab DHC model lights up all the while? RH set at 45%, and current RH is 45%, however the LED display still lights up.
According to the instruction sheet, upon reaching the desired RH, the LED light should be off, anyone?
 

Barrios

Senior Member
May 19, 2002
715
0
16
57
Visit site
#15
Does the display of the Digicab DHC model lights up all the while? RH set at 45%, and current RH is 45%, however the LED display still lights up.
According to the instruction sheet, upon reaching the desired RH, the LED light should be off, anyone?
The new LED display for the DHC series is ALWAYS on and never off. The older LCD display with backlight only lights up when the Peltier is working.
 

canbedone

New Member
Nov 25, 2010
330
0
0
40
#16
I just bought digi-cabi 036 but the RH display is "LL" is there something wrong?
 

gau55ian

New Member
Oct 21, 2012
49
0
0
tampines
#18
Sorry.. since this about dry cabinet, can i ask something regarding storing leather wallets together with your camera gears?
i set RH 40-45% .. i read that it is not recommended to store your leather products with your cameras? is that correct?
thx for replies~~~ just want to clarify
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#19
Sorry.. since this about dry cabinet, can i ask something regarding storing leather wallets together with your camera gears?
i set RH 40-45% .. i read that it is not recommended to store your leather products with your cameras? is that correct?
thx for replies~~~ just want to clarify
Too dry leather will crack.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,488
26
48
Pasir Ris
#20
Sorry.. since this about dry cabinet, can i ask something regarding storing leather wallets together with your camera gears?
i set RH 40-45% .. i read that it is not recommended to store your leather products with your cameras? is that correct?
When living in Germany I never needed any dry cabinet and my wallets did well in the lower humidity there. The problem started when I came to SG.
40-45% is fine. In addition, you can use leather polish products to protect the leather.
 

Top Bottom