DA 10-17 fisheye lens lovers

seefei

Mar 7, 2008
West Coast
I personally know some pentaxians recently acquired the funky fisheye lenses and there were some admirers of this lens at the last outing at the marina bay sand. This thread will serve the triple purposes of :-

1. discussion (technical or just kopitiam talk eg, price, where to get etc) about this lens
2. photo posting (since we have less opportunity to post after the closing of the photo thread :()
3. sharing of notes among users and admirers (yet to be owner) :bsmilie:

I have this lens and use it mainly for wide angle coverage. It is not a fast lens but speed is not an issue as i use it mainly for outdoor shoot. Hope users and non-users will contribute to create more awareness of this versatile and quirky lens.

Note: i am not trying to create a buzz for this lens and offload mine. :sticktong

I know you won't offload yours, that's why go buy one myself... :bsmilie:

Unplanned shot of a sound console
4722897621_d0cba45696.jpg

The claypot rice stall I frequently go to.
4722897875_46fae457dc.jpg

I know you won't offload yours, that's why go buy one myself... :bsmilie:

Unplanned shot of a sound console
4722897621_d0cba45696.jpg

The claypot rice stall I frequently go to.
4722897875_46fae457dc.jpg
That marina sands and Helix bridge shot which you did still lingers in my mind. It is perhaps the best executed shot I have seen of that area - the rest are just plain boring and typical...

my fisheye has been lying mostly in the dry cabinet. now with more kakis, hopefully we will see more of the photos from this lens! i have a lot of old fisheyes shots taken in 2008. wont post them anymore as i had posted them in this forum before.

it is time to take some new photos.....

haha..tats the next lens i am thinking of getting..always like that fisheye effect :heart:

4591957492_cc427d81c4_b.jpg

K20D+FE lens at Marina Bay Sand

Sorry to dig out this old thread again. my interest in FE lens is renewed again after edutilos prompt us of the wider FE 4.5 sigma circular lens. Supersimon 8mm samyang is equally poisonous.

Hope to see more photos taken with UWA lens and the wider 4.5 in here or the gallery.

P/s: again, i am not trying to create a buzz to offload my FE lens.

Although i did not have the 10-17FE before but i do somehow missed my Samyang 8mm FE.
7001237094_bfbd5d7aa2_c.jpg

7001231174_1bf2f35b3b_c.jpg

7147314079_729512ce19_c.jpg

7147286995_071dd84576_c.jpg

4591957492_cc427d81c4_b.jpg

K20D+FE lens at Marina Bay Sand

Sorry to dig out this old thread again. my interest in FE lens is renewed again after edutilos prompt us of the wider FE 4.5 sigma circular lens. Supersimon 8mm samyang is equally poisonous.

Hope to see more photos taken with UWA lens and the wider 4.5 in here or the gallery.

P/s: again, i am not trying to create a buzz to offload my FE lens.

Lol . Mine is 8-16mm UWA lah bro . Not Fisheye leh . Haha

I am eyeing one a fisheye lens to try out actually . Ha

I can never work out how to "insert image" to put up a photo. Tried three times, no success.

Here's a few fisheye's I've taken in China.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/30288008@N00/6234890564/sizes/l/in/set-72157627870502536/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/30288008@N00/6234879894/sizes/l/in/set-72157627870502536/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/30288008@N00/6234882978/sizes/l/in/set-72157627870502536/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/30288008@N00/6234361495/sizes/l/in/set-72157627870502536/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/30288008@N00/6234363621/sizes/l/in/set-72157627870502536/

Some are obviously fisheye. But a couple look like normal photos- those are taken at the 17mm end of the lens- only mild fisheye distortion there, makes it almost useable as a normal lens.

The colour is quite good too.

Lol . Mine is 8-16mm UWA lah bro . Not Fisheye leh . Haha

I am eyeing one a fisheye lens to try out actually . Ha

Simon, the full circular fisheye sigma 4.5 or the 10-17 FE?

I can never work out how to "insert image" to put up a photo. Tried three times, no success.

Here's a few fisheye's I've taken in China.

All sizes | Fisheye photos taken while in China using a USD $25 tripod. | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

Some are obviously fisheye. But a couple look like normal photos- those are taken at the 17mm end of the lens- only mild fisheye distortion there, makes it almost useable as a normal lens.

The colour is quite good too.

John, thanks for sharing. why do u need a tripod since you are shooting in daylight?

Aha... It's a love-hate relationship with this lens. I wish I could use it more, but it's hard to make sure that it's used well and out of necessity such that the fisheye effect adds. I also wish that it was a circular fisheye zoom like the Canon 8-15 L. :bsmilie:

Some of my better fisheye shots through the years since I picked it up in Hong Kong.

2734616957_c982713cb3_o.jpg

Hong Kong MTR

6937975624_ea45980c90_o.jpg

La Defense, Paris

7164572296_c7c4bd1dcd_o.jpg

MBS Skypark

7508128034_b2c7d826c4_o.jpg

Gardens by the Bay

I just acquired an SMC Takumar 17mm fisheye to be adapted to Canon 5D2 body. Quite easy to use. Below is my first shot taken with a fisheye last Sunday morning at the Promontory. I think I need to work more on my composition to get outstanding results like you guys.

SMCFE17mm.jpg

Any tips from the seniors here on the use of fisheye?

I just acquired an SMC Takumar 17mm fisheye to be adapted to Canon 5D2 body. Quite easy to use. Below is my first shot taken with a fisheye last Sunday morning at the Promontory. I think I need to work more on my composition to get outstanding results like you guys.

SMCFE17mm.jpg

Any tips from the seniors here on the use of fisheye?

still learning to live with this not so easy to use lens. over the years i find the results are better for subject matters that are curvy or circular. i avoid those subject with a lot of linear lines like the above. it accentuate the FE effect without complimenting it. ;)

Obelix, join our monthly outing. we can share more. :)

K20D+FE

3127909534_7c958aab3e_z.jpg

i was playing with the zoom to get this special effect. the FE lens allows you to get real close to the centre subject. setting a slow shutter speed you can slowly zoom out to get this effect. taken in front of Paragon.

3127909592_efcd2363e2_z.jpg

FE lens is good in confined space where distortion is not accentuated. this was taken at the entrance tunnel to the MRT near Shaw Centre.

3123318090_b209976f09_z.jpg

FE lens can be used to create two frames with its wide coverage. trying this out with the lady walking on the left and the temple on the right.

the FE is really a very versatile lens and it is very bad of me to leave in the cabinet after i started shooting bugs. maybe it is time to dust out the lens and start shooting again. interesting subjects like the super trees and marina barrage are good stops for this lens.

Some questions I ask myself when using a fisheye lens:

1) Does it offer anything special over using a rectilinear lens?
2) Why am I using it, is it for the additional coverage? Does the linear distortion help the picture and add to it? (One also has the option to defish if coverage is all that is needed)

If the answers for these 2 questions are positive, then the use of the fisheye lens is more justifiable, I feel. Otherwise you just end up with a bunch of "pregnant buildings", or a funky effect which doesn't stand up to scrutiny after a few looks (pl see picture below :bsmilie:).

3433777149_40ea7d8804_o.jpg

still learning to live with this not so easy to use lens. over the years i find the results are better for subject matters that are curvy or circular. i avoid those subject with a lot of linear lines like the above. it accentuate the FE effect without complimenting it. ;)

Obelix, join our monthly outing. we can share more. :)

Sure! Do PM me should there be an outing. Would love to learn more on FE photography.

Some questions I ask myself when using a fisheye lens:

1) Does it offer anything special over using a rectilinear lens?
2) Why am I using it, is it for the additional coverage? Does the linear distortion help the picture and add to it? (One also has the option to defish if coverage is all that is needed)

If the answers for these 2 questions are positive, then the use of the fisheye lens is more justifiable, I feel. Otherwise you just end up with a bunch of "pregnant buildings", or a funky effect which doesn't stand up to scrutiny after a few looks (pl see picture below :bsmilie:).

3433777149_40ea7d8804_o.jpg

applying the fish eye to your cat & street shot? very creative. this one stand up to scrutiny alright! :p

nice photos guys. its so tantalizing to play fish eye.. im itchy for a samyang fe 8mm