D7000 question


curry83

New Member
Jan 18, 2011
16
0
0
#1
Hi

Would like to ask which of the nikon camera models have a built-in motor for it? ;p
 

Jan 20, 2011
83
0
0
#2
See the price then u should know it
 

Aug 22, 2009
137
0
0
29
#3
Check out websites like Dpreview or the official nikon website.
 

spree86

Senior Member
Feb 3, 2009
4,774
0
0
Bishan
www.flickr.com
#4
For the newer models, D90, D7000, D300s, D700, D3s. Of course a lot of older models have it as well.
 

curry83

New Member
Jan 18, 2011
16
0
0
#7
oya would like to ask if im getting just an AF len and i use the D7000 or D3100, will it be like auto focus as well?? ;p

:D
 

ZerocoolAstra

Senior Member
Mar 13, 2008
9,522
0
0
rainy Singapore
#8
curry83 said:
oya would like to ask if im getting just an AF len and i use the D7000 or D3100, will it be like auto focus as well?? ;p

:D
Don't understand your question.

What do you mean by "be like autofocus"?? :dunno:
 

Nubzz

New Member
Dec 31, 2010
192
0
0
32
Singapore
#9
oya would like to ask if im getting just an AF len and i use the D7000 or D3100, will it be like auto focus as well?? ;p

:D
If u meant AF-D lenses, It will be able to focus on D7000 but not the D3100.
If u meant AIS lenses, it's Manual Focus only
If u meant AF-S lenses, It will be able to focus on both bodies.
 

curry83

New Member
Jan 18, 2011
16
0
0
#10
oppss pardon me for not phasing it well =)

yup im refering to the AF-D lenses

Thanks for the info Nubzz
 

ZerocoolAstra

Senior Member
Mar 13, 2008
9,522
0
0
rainy Singapore
#11
When using a nikon system, autofocus is achieved either:
1) by an in-built motor in the lens
2) by a motor in the camera body, driving a screw on the lens.

Nikon's lenses:
1) AF-S have built in lens motor.
2) AF rely on screw-drive from body. (The 'D' refers to distance information being passed from lens to body. Irrelevant as far as autofocus is concerned).
3) Ai/AiS are unable to autofocus.

D7000 has motor in body
D3100 has no motor in body
 

curry83

New Member
Jan 18, 2011
16
0
0
#15
wao that's a lot of info =)

thanks all seniors maybe i will change to D7000 ^^
 

rhino123

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 1, 2006
5,243
15
38
NA
#17
wao that's a lot of info =)

thanks all seniors maybe i will change to D7000 ^^
Er... may I ask, why? Just because there are no inbuilt motor for D3100 or whatever model of camera you are using?
 

Dec 4, 2008
790
0
0
#18
which lens are you eyeing?
maybe you can share...
then ask if its better to get another lens of its equilvanet (maybe more expensive than what you are eyeying now)...
rather than change body...
cos buying better lens is better than buying a old school AF-D on a new DSLR...
that is how i feels...

wao that's a lot of info =)

thanks all seniors maybe i will change to D7000 ^^
 

ZerocoolAstra

Senior Member
Mar 13, 2008
9,522
0
0
rainy Singapore
#19
which lens are you eyeing?
maybe you can share...
then ask if its better to get another lens of its equilvanet (maybe more expensive than what you are eyeying now)...
rather than change body...
cos buying better lens is better than buying a old school AF-D on a new DSLR...
that is how i feels...
You make it sound like AF-D lenses don't qualify as "better" ;p
 

spree86

Senior Member
Feb 3, 2009
4,774
0
0
Bishan
www.flickr.com
#20
twisted illusion said:
which lens are you eyeing?
maybe you can share...
then ask if its better to get another lens of its equilvanet (maybe more expensive than what you are eyeying now)...
rather than change body...
cos buying better lens is better than buying a old school AF-D on a new DSLR...
that is how i feels...
Yea, agree with ZCA, it sound like you don't think AF-D lenses are one of the "better" lenses
 

Top Bottom