D70 Kit Lens suited for wide angle shots??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Startrail

Nov 18, 2005
Hi all :) This is my first time posting to this forum, but have been wandering around the forum since August last year. Just got my D50 before the new year and finally got a chance to play with it today. Been busy with Christmas and New Year and stuff :)

ANyway, I would like to ask you all for your opinion on whether is it really necessary for me to get a wide angle lens to shoot wide open vistas. Because while playing with my D50 kit lens today, i realised that while taking shots from the 30th floor and aiming for far away areas, the shots turn out abit jaggy after a certain distance. I've yet to try it with my recently purchased D70 kit lens yet, so am wondering if D70 would have better shots , but would like to hear from all you 'lao jiaos' :D

Oh and espn, no buy buy buy for me :bsmilie: i'm already broke frm my recent puchases :embrass: Thanks all in advance

Don't worry.. I won't ask you to BBB, mr Meerkat will.

2534meerkat4.jpg

Dun really understand your post. :embrass: but I did say the 18-70 that came with the D70/s SHOULD be better than the 18-55 that came with the D50 based on some shots that I came across. ;)

Maybe you can post an example of jaggy? Not sure what that means.

Oh i realised it's because of my picture viewer shrinking my shot for me so that it becomes distorted :sweat: sorry about that, but anyway, what's the opinion on using a wide angle lens for landscaping?? could i just use a normal kit lens to shoot landscapes?

"jagginess" seems more an issue with the image sensor and image processing algorithm rather than the lens.

Generally speaking, wide lenses are useful and often used to capture landscapes (and general street photography)... but that doesn't mean to say that telephoto lenses have no place in the open.

In fact, some of the best landscapes / snowscapes are taken using the longer-reaching lenses.

Regards

Startrail said: