D5D + 5600HSD + built-in diffuser = overexposure?


Status
Not open for further replies.

synapseman

Senior Member
May 6, 2003
2,194
0
36
State of Confusion
www.pbase.com
With the Dimage A2, I could point the 5600HSD to the ceiling, and use the built-in diffuser to spread the light to the ceiling. I could even pop it out partially to make it like a mini-bounce card (a technique also mentioned in the D5D/7D e-book by Gary Friedman). P-mode on camera, TTL-mode on flash.

But when I try the same thing with the D5D, it just results in severe over-exposure. (Straight-on ADI/TTL HSS on or off, no problems).

What's the deal with that, eh? Characteristic or flaw?
 

Del_CtrlnoAlt

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2003
16,265
0
0
Outside the Dry Box.
Visit site
synapseman said:
With the Dimage A2, I could point the 5600HSD to the ceiling, and use the built-in diffuser to spread the light to the ceiling. I could even pop it out partially to make it like a mini-bounce card (a technique also mentioned in the D5D/7D e-book by Gary Friedman). P-mode on camera, TTL-mode on flash.

But when I try the same thing with the D5D, it just results in severe over-exposure. (Straight-on ADI/TTL HSS on or off, no problems).

What's the deal with that, eh? Characteristic or flaw?
characteristic... try flash compensation +1... happens to the best of us.. (aka 7D)
 

sulhan

Senior Member
May 11, 2002
4,028
0
36
47
Melbourne, Australia
www.md-sulhan.com
Del_CtrlnoAlt said:
characteristic... try flash compensation +1... happens to the best of us.. (aka 7D)
Hi Bro....you mean -1......i suppose...sice his images are already over.

BTW...i would recomment to check the camera + flash function first:
- Camera(P Mode) - Flash (Pre-Flash TTL) head on - Check if okay
-Camera(P Mode) - Flash (Pre-Flash TTL) head up to ceiling bounce + EV +1 - check if okay.

The above is to check if the flash is okay in full program mode..

rgds,
Sulhan
 

synapseman

Senior Member
May 6, 2003
2,194
0
36
State of Confusion
www.pbase.com
Thanks guys.

Dang, that's a bit troublesome, made even more so since the D5D doesn't have the ability to store user-settings. It's yet another bug that I hope they can find a fix for.
 

tao

Senior Member
Jan 7, 2005
3,856
2
38
Beach Road
think that is an inherent problem with the D5D and D7D, flash inconsistencies...

wondering if it is the problem with the body or the flash?

on the A1, A2, A200, the HS5600 seems to work perfectly.
 

limkopi

New Member
Aug 31, 2004
468
0
0
Singapore
flickr.com
I usually trial & error by decreasing the level of power to 1/2, or 1/4, or 1/8, depending on the height of the ceiling & the length of the room (am using D5D with 5600HSD too)... Alot of guesswork, especially under tricky lighting... :sweat:
 

TME

Senior Member
Jan 19, 2002
6,579
0
0
44
Clementi
Get the camera and flash calibrated if the problem of over or under exposure is reproducible.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.