D50 - replacing the focusing screen?


Status
Not open for further replies.

jmmtn4aj

Senior Member
Jan 1, 2007
994
0
16
Singapore
flickr.com
The only reason I want AF lenses is because I can't manual focus for nuts using DSLR's focusing screens, so I was thinking of replacing the standard focusing screen with a split prism type, from KatzEye - http://www.katzeyeoptics.com/cat--Nikon-DSLRs--cat_nikon.html

My question is, how hard is it to do? And will it kill autofocusing?
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,925
0
36
The only reason I want AF lenses is because I can't manual focus for nuts using DSLR's focusing screens, so I was thinking of replacing the standard focusing screen with a split prism type, from KatzEye - http://www.katzeyeoptics.com/cat--Nikon-DSLRs--cat_nikon.html

My question is, how hard is it to do? And will it kill autofocusing?
It will not kill AF but may affect metering.. Why don't you try getting the DK21m and see if you can focus better after the magnification. It works well for me on my D70s.
 

jmmtn4aj

Senior Member
Jan 1, 2007
994
0
16
Singapore
flickr.com
It will not kill AF but may affect metering.. Why don't you try getting the DK21m and see if you can focus better after the magnification. It works well for me on my D70s.
Hmm, so the metering happens after the focusing screen stage but not the AF? Heh I can barely tell focus in through the viewfinder not because the image isn't big enough but because there really isn't enough light going through in most situations, so split prism really is the only real solution. In fact I don't think I could manually focus with the D80's viewfinder too, my eyes aren't as accurate in detecting that as with misalignment (split prism)..

I think I'll try it though, heh. Where to get it from and how much?
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,925
0
36
Hmm, so the metering happens after the focusing screen stage but not the AF? Heh I can barely tell focus in through the viewfinder not because the image isn't big enough but because there really isn't enough light going through in most situations, so split prism really is the only real solution. In fact I don't think I could manually focus with the D80's viewfinder too, my eyes aren't as accurate in detecting that as with misalignment (split prism)..

I think I'll try it though, heh. Where to get it from and how much?
I got mine from Japan during a tour for $30. But I believe you should be able to ask Lord's, Cathay or NSC. Or PPCP?
 

Artosoft

Senior Member
Aug 31, 2005
3,710
0
0
Tanjong Katong
I got mine from Japan during a tour for $30. But I believe you should be able to ask Lord's, Cathay or NSC. Or PPCP?
It is not katzeye right? IIRC, Japan one is Haoda split screen. How good is it?

Regards,
Arto.
 

Yatlapball

Senior Member
May 13, 2006
2,351
0
0
Volcano Land
www.emotively.com
After you change the focusing screen, would all the other markings be gone? AF-point, gridlines, etc. ? Or these things are actually super-imposed on the focusing screen?
 

Scaglietti

New Member
Jan 14, 2005
1,541
0
0
After you change the focusing screen, would all the other markings be gone? AF-point, gridlines, etc. ? Or these things are actually super-imposed on the focusing screen?
All the AF-points and the gridlines should be still there. They are on the superimpose screen rather than on the focusing screen itself.

BC
 

Stress

Senior Member
Sep 5, 2006
2,007
0
0
DK-21m can b used on D50 meh?
 

Zenten

Deregistered
Jun 13, 2004
9,843
8
38
All the AF-points and the gridlines should be still there. They are on the superimpose screen rather than on the focusing screen itself.

BC
you sure about that?:)
 

jmmtn4aj

Senior Member
Jan 1, 2007
994
0
16
Singapore
flickr.com
If the AF points are on the focusing screen, then how would you remove it? Since the AF points seem to be LCD (they disappear when you remove the batteries) I assume there will be a small cable conncting to the stock focusing screen?
 

ExplorerZ

Senior Member
Jan 9, 2006
7,880
1
38
West
If the AF points are on the focusing screen, then how would you remove it? Since the AF points seem to be LCD (they disappear when you remove the batteries) I assume there will be a small cable conncting to the stock focusing screen?
AF points on LCD? :bigeyes:
 

jmmtn4aj

Senior Member
Jan 1, 2007
994
0
16
Singapore
flickr.com
AF points on LCD? :bigeyes:
The AF points are liquid crystals, when you remove the battery they lose their charge, which is why when you look through the viewfinder with a discharged battery or no battery you can't see the AF points. I'm just wondering if those liquid crystals are in the focus screen :p
 

Artosoft

Senior Member
Aug 31, 2005
3,710
0
0
Tanjong Katong
The AF points are liquid crystals, when you remove the battery they lose their charge, which is why when you look through the viewfinder with a discharged battery or no battery you can't see the AF points. I'm just wondering if those liquid crystals are in the focus screen :p
No. Not in focus screen. You can change focus screen and the AF point and composition bracket (on demand composition grid) are still there.

Try to remove the camera battery and you will see also the viewfinder become darker.

Regards,
Arto.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.