ed9119

Staff member
Mar 11, 2002
www.walkeast.com
cb6_smaller_poster.jpg

From the Indonesian Organizing Committee

"The changing world" is a term we often hear through the media.

Regardless of the meaning and the truth behind the phrase, photographers are here to capture the state of the present and changes happening around the world. Often through these photograph we glimpse our future.

The universality of a photograph is tested nowadays as a testimony to those changes. As such, it is only natural for a photographer to start embracing the universal values of humanity and starts binding together in both friendship and fellowship.

Friendship and fellowship are the 2 main themes of the Crossing Bridges regional- photographers' gathering in South-East Asia. Crossing Bridges consists of photographers from Singapore (ClubSNAP), Malaysia (PhotoMalaysia), Vietnam (Photo.vn), and Indonesia (Fotografer.net) each represented by the biggest photographers' community in each countries. This year the project welcomes the participantion of Federation of Philippino Photographers Foundation (FPPF) (photoworldmanila.com)

This yearly event started in 2004 when Indonesia hosted the inaugural event in Central Java.

In 2009, Crossing Bridges 6 returns to Indonesia after having traversed Jogjakarta, Hong Kong, Macau, Semporna, Hanoi, Sapa and Siem Reap during past editions. CB6 will be hosted by Fotografer.net (FN) in Bukittinggi, West Sumatra.

The event will follow, Ied Holiday for the Moslems, enabling participants to get glimpses of the festivities in sorrounding areas (if schedule fits), as well as capturing the sorrounding beauties, culture, and general humanity sceneries.

The Organizing Committee at fotografer.net
2009 Crossing Bridges 6

----------------------------

*Date and Fees Schedules*
Crossing Bridges 6 will be held between Sunday 27 September 2009 to Friday 2 October,
2009 in Bukittinggi - Padang, West Sumatra Indonesia. Singapore contingent read below please for our dates...

For Singapore Contingent ....Due to flights available on Tiger Airways on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, the Singapore contingent will DEPART A DAY EARLY on Saturday 26 September and RETURN TO SINGAPORE A DAY LATER on Saturday 3 October ...... yes its 8 days in total.... we look after our own accomodation and meals on those extra days 26 Sept and 2-3 October..... FN committee will be able to look after us on these days...or we can explore around on our own

The event costs SG$495

The participation price is for land expenses (accomodation, transportation, meals and other expenses) and EXCLUDES AIRFARE.

IF the US$/SG$ goes above 1.5000 participants might have to top up a little bit more ..... it is currently around 1.45 not so we're still OK.

I have to make payment in US Dollars so its important that I get your Singapore Dollars early and quickly to avoid undue risk to currency fluctuations.

*Participants and Quotas*
Participants are the members of each respected community from each country.
There is a maximum 11-person quota for each country including team leader. After reaching the quota, a waiting list will be utilized for each country.

Qualified participants should meet the following criteria:

1. Keen Photographers willing to share/learn Photography Skills
2. An easy-going, friendly personality keen to mingle, have fun, and looking to build photography centered friendships across ASEAN
3. A sense of humour
4. Able to rough it out if necessary.
5. Able to go with little sleep
6. Easy with food choices
7. Able to wake up early before sunrise on most days
8. Places are limited to only 11 forum members per country, so spouses, girlfriends or boyfriends will not be considered.
9. Although places will generally be on a First Come First Served basis, in order to have a balanced team of first time participants and repeat participants, acceptances will be at the discretion of the organizing chairman of each country (Singapore : ed9119).

*Registrations and Payments*
Payment and registration will be organized locally by each community.

So guys, if you're keen and the dates fit your schedule, please send me a PM or email me at eddie@walkeast.com with the following details:

1. Full name as printed in passport
2. Address
3. Passport number and expiration date
4. Phone number or Mobile phone number

10 names will be selected randomly and confirmations will be sent via mobile phone SMS by Friday 31 July (yes, NEXT Friday)

These 10 names will have up to MONDAY 3 August to make payment.

1. DO NOT SEND MONEY IF YOU ARE NOT THE SHORTLISTED 10 PAX
2. As in every year in the past, ONCE you have sent the $$$ pls sms me that you have done so and QUOTE A TRANSACTION NUMBER for me to verify

Payment should be made in full and sent to :

POSBANK SAVINGS account number 021-12076-6

Your confirmation and Registration is complete when the payment has been made.

FAQ "What if I am late paying?"

Reply: If you have NOT paid before MIDNIGHT on Monday night 3 August.... DO NOT SEND $$$ on 4 Aug .... your name will be dropped and a new name will be drawn from the waiting list. (Really paiseh and sorry this has to be implemented.... we had a couple of jokers from earlier years who kept the entire project budget on hold when they were late with payments.

FAQ "When should I book my plane ticket?"

Reply: Once you have been chosen AND you are ABSOLUTELY SURE THAT YOU CAN PAY UP BEFORE THE DEADLINE you can go ahead and book your plane ticket. I suggest booking Tiger Airways departing Singapore to Padang (the nearest international airport to Bukittinggi) on Saturday 26 September and RETURN TO SINGAPORE on Saturday 3 October

IF you decide to arrive MUCH earlier than above recommended dates OR stay longer or go off on your own after the trip.... please go ahead

Itinerary will be posted in a few mins time........ need to take my dinner and shower up.... been a long day.

You can start PM'ing or emailing your intention to participate starting..... NOW :)

*Itenerary*

(Note: several evenings will feature photo sharing sessions and talks )

*Day 1 - Sunday, September 27, 2009*

By noon, assemble at arrival hall Minangkabau International Airport, Padang

13:00 Lunch at Takana Juo Restaurant
14:00 Photo Hunting at Anai Valley Waterfall

Anai Valley Waterfall
This waterfall is situated on the highway of Padang – Padang Panjang. It is about 60 km from Padang city, and easy to reach and watch because the waterfall exactly took place side by side on the highway providing a beautiful nature view. The height is around 40 meters from the hill.
[Genre: Landscape | Nature ]

16:00 Sunset at Singkarak Lake

Singkarak Lake
This lake is located in X Koto district and spread across Solok - Bukit Tinggi way. The Lake that located in 362 m high above sea level, has special species of fish that only live in this lake and the only one in the world. Locals call it the Bilih Fish (Mystacoleuseus adangensis). Uniquely, this fish cannot live in other habitat, both in an aquarium nor in a pool.

19:00 Dinner at Kapau Uni Lis Restaurant
19:30 Check in hotel in Bukittingi

----------------------------------

*Day 2 - Monday, September 28, 2009*

04:30 Morning Call
06:00 Photo Hunting at Maninjau Lake

Maninjau Lake
Maninjau Lake is a caldera lake in West Sumatra, Indonesia. It is located 16 km to the west of Bukittinggi. Maninjau Lake has an area of 99.5 km², being approximately 16 km long and 7 km wide. The average depth is 105 m with a maximum depth of 165 m. It is situated more or less 461 meters above sea level. Maninjau Lake is renowned for its scenery and remote beauty.

09:00 Photo Hunting at Pandai Sikek Village

Pandai Sikek Village
Pandai Sikek village is 10 km from Bukittinggi which is famous for its hand weaving and carving industry. The village has 1000 looms and turns out richly interwoven cloth. Carved wooden ornaments and furniture are also made here.
[Genre: People | Culture ]

12:00 Lunch at Simpang Raya Bukittinggi Restaurant
15:00 Photo Hunting at Harau Valley

Harau Valley
The Harau Valley is a nature and wildlife reserve, where tapir, siamangs, boars, wild goats and tigers still roam. The Harau Valley is 15 km from Payakumbuh.

18:00 Photo Hunting at Jam Gadang

Jam Gadang
Jam Gadang (The Giant Clock) is the landmark of Bukittinggi city, West Sumatera province, Indonesia. It is located in the centre of the city, near the main market, Pasar Atas. This principal landmark is a clock tower with a miniature Minang house on top overlooking the main square. It was built in 1926 by a native architect, named Yazid Sutan Gigi Ameh. It has a unique feature, that is number 4 was not written as IV but IIII. From the top of Jam Gadang you can see the view of Bukittinggi area, Merapi Mountain, Singgalang Mountain, Sago Mountain, and Sianok Canyon.
[ Genre: Cityscape | Streetshoot | Architecture ]

19:30 Dinner at … Restaurant
20:00 Capturing Traditional Dance at Medan Nan Bapaneh Bukittinggi

Medan Nan Bapaneh Bukittinggi

It is a place where Minangkabau people perform their traditional art performances such as dance, etc.
[Genre: Culture ]

----------------------------------

*Day 3 - Tuesday, September 29, 2009*

06:00 Breakfast at Hotel
06:30 Photo Hunting at Ngarai Sianok / Sianok Canyon

Sianok Canyon
The Sianok Canyon or Ngarai Sianok stretches out for about four kilometers southwest of the town (Bukittinggi). It is a valley with a river and rock walls rising up to 120 meters at some places. It is possible to walk through the canyon and at the end climb up along a small steep trial after which you can walk through the rice fields and Kota Gadang back to Bukittinggi.
[ Genre: Landscape | Nature ]

08:00 Photo Hunting at Ngarai Sianok Valley

Ngarai Sianok Valley
From top of Sianok Canyon, we go down to the bottom of the valley. There is a stream for nature slow-speed lovers and another view to the canyon for landscape lovers.
[Genre: Landscape | Nature]

09:00 Photo Hunting at Koto Gadang

Koto Gadang
Koto Gadang (Big Town) is a village located at the edge of Ngarai Sianok (Sianok Valley) near Bukit Tinggi, West Sumatra. Most of the people at this village work on paddy field for a living. Koto Gadang consists of less than fifty houses.
[Genre: People | Landscape ]

13:00 Lunch at Sate Mak Syukur in Padang Panjang
15:00 Photo Hunting at Padang Panjang

Padang Panjang
Padang Panjang city is a district in West Sumatra province, Indonesia, with area of 23km square. The city of Padang Panjang has a friendly weather, it is about 700m upper the sea level. At the north to the west side there are a three mountains, Marapi, Singgalang, and Tandikek, mostly produce farm products, such as vegetables and paddies. You can find many tourism destinations in this city, such as Air Mancua/waterfall (located at Padang-
Bukit Tinggi highway), Singkarak Lake, Minangkabau Village, and also Tui hill for sightseeing. We will also visit Minangkabau Cultural Centre, which is a traditional Minang house called Rumah Gadang (Big House).
[Genre: Landscape |Nature | Architecture ]

18:00 Sunset at Nirwana Beach Padang

Nirwana Beach Padang
It is located at Teluk Bungus/Bungus Bay, about 14km from Padang. It is a sloping beach with hills view, full of tropical trees. Visitors can enjoy a beautiful panorama at this place.
[Genre: People | Landscape]

19:00 Dinner at Soto Garuda
20:00 Check in Muaro Padang Hotel

---------------------------------

*Day 4 - Wednesday, September 30, 2009*

05:00 Morning Call
06:00 Sunrise at Siti Nurbaya Bridge

Siti Nurbaya Bridge
The bridge was built in 2000 as a commemoration of Siti Nurbaya, a famous legendary figure in Sumatera. This bridge is across between Padang city and Mount Padang. You can view the beautiful panorama of Batang Arau river from this bridge.
[Genre: Landscape ]

10:00 From Muaro pier transfer to Sikuai
13:00 Lunch at Sikuai Island
18:00 Sunset at Sikuai Island

Sikuai Island
The Sikuai island is an island located in the western coast of Sumatra, Indonesia. It is a wonderful and private island with white sand beach, and tropical weather. Sikuai island is around ± 23km up to south Padang city, which is at Bungus bay. In the afternoon you will see an exotic sunset from the Sikuai beach or from the top of Sikuai hill.

------------------------------

*Day 5 - Thursday, October 1, 2009*

10:00 Head to Padang

Padang
Padang is the capital of West Sumatra. The main sights in the city include Adityawarman Museum (close to the bus station) in a traditional Minangkabau house and featuring a good collection of antiques.
[Genre: Cityscape | Architecure]

12:00 Lunch at Solok

Solok
Solok lies on the Trans-Sumatra Highway, 64 km from Padang and 76 km from Bukittinggi. The town has some fine examples of Minangkabau architecture with horn-shaped roofs and outer walls of wood, completely carved and painted in brilliant colors.
[Genre: Landscape | Architecture ]

13:00 Photo Hunting at the Train Museum of Sawahlunto

The Train Museum of Sawahlunto
The Train Museum is located at Abdul Rahman Hakim Street, Air Dingin rural-district, Sawahlunto city, West Sumatera province. The uniqueness of this museum is the rare collections of railways station objects which are carefully maintained such as Lancer trumpet, Signal lamp, Station W atch, Calculating Machine and many more. The atmosphere of the museum will enhance visitor experience as well as portraying historical condition in the Dutch colonial era.
[Genre: Macro| Architecture | Transportation ]

17:00 Hunting at Danau Di Atas & Danau Di Bawah

Danau Di Atas & Danau Di Bawah
Danau Di Atas (Upper Lake) & Danau Di Bawah (Lower Lake) These twin lakes located 60 km from Solok. Cool mountain air and beautiful landscapes seen from the hill between the two lakes have made this spot extraordinary. Set only about 1 km apart, one of the lakes is on a slightly higher elevation than the other. The spot offers an impressive panorama of
the surrounding countryside.
[Genre: Landscape | People ]

20:00 Dinner at … Restaurant in Padang
21:00 Shopping at Sherly shop
22:00 Check in at Natur Muaro Hotel

------------------------------

*Day 6 - Friday, October 2, 2009*

07:00 Transfer out to the airport

For participants who plan to extend could join in human interest photo
hunting at Pasir Jambak Beach

Pasir Jambak Beach
Pasir Jambak Beach is situated 20kms north of Padang on the way to Bukittinggi. It is a beautiful shoreline with a white-sand. It is best viewed at sunset, with the sea and the sky progressing through a kaleidoscope of colors.

whew..... the itinerary has been updated above

For the ladies reading this thread........... participation from female photographers has been very healthy (about 30% .... age ranging between mid-20s to mid-60s)... so dont be shy about participating..... this is certainly not a male-dominated event.

*i am smack in the MIDs of Mid 20's till Mid 60's , definitely female :lovegrin:

and kudos to eddy... hard work siah.. :)

I have been hit by 7-8 interested parties since the thread started.........a couple of you are assuming that your seat is "chope" already. :)

THIS IS NOT GUARANTEE OR CONFIRMED UNTIL I NOTIFY YOU VIA SMS OR PM

Another FAQ I have been getting..."Is it like No Hope if I am on wait list?"

Reply: No, there is still hope even if you are on waiting list.... Some countries might not meet their full 11-person quota..... therefore possibly making extra slots available

Also, the number of participants are kept to below 60 in total so as to minimize the environmental impact........ which leads to a common and frequent request not to "herd" when shooting....... move off alone or in your little parties in different directions ..... Hint: keep an eye out on where the 'quiet' ones sneak off to..... example, Sigg who attended last year had a habit of going off on his own and ending up with killer images few else had

We will shoot group pics..... that is OK .... like this below (Nikonians are famous for this type of gun-strutting ha ha ha ! :) )

group_nikon.jpg

and this

Group_big.jpg

Example of herding :) (try to avoid this unless there is a group of you who enjoy comparing pics of the same water buffalo ha ha ha !)

group_buffalo.jpg

and this ( well, err umm.... CB in HK ...... they could have taken different buses LOL !)

hk_bustop.jpg

argh.. i m 1 day off..
got job on 3rd oct.. cant make it again..

GO ! GO ! GO !
GOOD ! GOOD! GOOD!
SHOOT ! SHOOT ! SHOOT !
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

tungtong2009/Bangkok

eddy.. u mix me up wif uncle william ar ?:confused:

no lah, i know who U R LOL ! (William Chua ).... after going through your African images almost daily this week, you are truly sifu.... should have used Master William lol !! :bsmilie:

haha.. walau.. want to c yur tanzania stuffs also leh..

CB6^^^ cominggggg wowowowow

Hey ed, thanks very much for the sms heads-up. Looks like i have to give up my precious slot as the dates clash with one of my other trips. :(

Guess my loss will be another's gain. Anyway all the best for this trip and looking forward to see all the nice photos! :)

I deserve to be hanged for this...... so sorry, read below.

The event costs I listed earlier are slightly off....so it has been temporarily removed ... my sincere apologies.

( there is a recalculation of expected expenses incurred in running the event and it seems that price of S$450 stated earlier is not accurate.... I will advise all successful applications selected of the new cost asap .... and the selected participants should decide if they are comfortable with the new pricing)

Apologies again. The final actual price will be updated in this thread when it is finalized in a day or two. As one of the main co-ordinators between forums, this oversight is my fault and I again , and again, sincerely and humbly apologize.

Why did this happen ? The answer is simple..... Crossing Bridges project has NEVER been about profit-making . The pricing every year for every trip organized thus far (as past participants can attest to) is on a cost recovery basis...... meaning, if it costs $... we divide it by X number of participants and collect accordingly on a non-profit basis. My work in this has always been on a volunteer basis.

Today's mistake in pricing..... several items were not clarified by me with the main Organizing Committee in Indonesia and therefore were left out of the costs involved.

IF there were a 'profit margin' in pricing, there would have been enough extra money to cover up for my oversight. But there is none.

Again this is totally my fault and I apologize.

Please wait a day or 2 for the new price

The trip budget has been double and triple checked and re-calculated:

The land cost for each participant is SGD$495 per person..... again, apologies for the earlier misunderstanding

If there are any surplus $$ at end of the trip, I will either refund it in kind or if the amount is too small, we will have a meal/beer with it :)

SMS will be sent to the following photographers who made the list:

LOTUSFAIRY
AIRFORCE1
TUNGTONG
SIGG
DAN
JWT
ROBOTECH
KWNSX.
CEREAL
litechaser

PLEASE make payment BEFORE MIDNIGHT 3 AUG to :

POSBANK SAVINGS 021-12076-6
(please sms me at 96611331 when this is done WITH a transaction number..... so that I know money is from you and that I do not wrongly use your money to pay for someone else share kekeke :) )

AND IF you are EXTREMELY confident that you are paying on time, please also go ahead and book your air-ticket asap ..... DEPART SINGAPORE for PADANG on Saturday 26 SEPT... RETURN from PADANG to SINGAPORE Saturday 3 OCT ..... there is only ONE flight each day to and from Padang by TigerAirways.

IF you are going even earlier and/or coming back even later or getting to Padang via other cities ....... GO AHEAD but please let me know so that I can keep a proper headcount on everyone.

If you have since changed your mind about attending, thats OK, no problem..... let me know so that those on wait list below can action quickly to replace you.

----------------------

The following photographers are on Wait List, sms will also be sent to you:

1st wait BISCUIT (you are top of the wait list)
2nd wait NOKKIEG
3rd wait yrh0413
4th wait vaxdaman
5th wait NLEONG
6th wait MOOWORLD

I am asking the Indonesian organizing committee to see if we can have a few more slots..... also monitoring Malaysia, Vietnam and Philippines to see how full their participating numbers are as well..... so stay encouraged! :)