conservation of photography

Status
Not open for further replies.

whit83

Aug 11, 2009
Hi All,
I'm kind of new to Singapore and I'm trying to do some research on the protection or conservation of old photographs (like tintypes, ambrotypes, glass negatives, and such). I was wondering if anyone might have some information on a place here that does this type of work or a site that would be helpful. Thanks

Hi Whit,

I'm not sure if anyone does the old or 'alternative' type of processes here.

I am personally interested in the bromoil and palladium/platinum type prints but I've not been able to try it yet. I'm still in the research stage.

I do hope someone who is involved in these intriguing printing processes would chime in.

You also asked for a site. Are you looking for information, in general?

Hi All,
I'm kind of new to Singapore and I'm trying to do some research on the protection or conservation of old photographs (like tintypes, ambrotypes, glass negatives, and such). I was wondering if anyone might have some information on a place here that does this type of work or a site that would be helpful. Thanks

The National Museum has a gallery on the history of photography in Singapore. Perhaps you can visit it, and find out more about the background, perhaps go one step further and request a talk with the curators too.

http://www.nationalmuseum.sg/nms/nm...ontent_id=22&tab_id=22&cine_id=1559&fest_id=0

Whit, LazerLordz made a very good suggestion!

I'm sorry, I had a chance to re-read your post. Some of my clients are in contact with restorers. I'll try and find out for you if they are involved with such prints, or know of people who do.

Are you looking to get some prints restored, or is this just for information?

Thanks for the help everyone.