Con Artist/Thieves Everywhere

HAIZ...so many social problems.

What ever happened to the good old days of kampung life and trust and love?

Yah yah yah, someone will say even kampung days got adultry, theft, rape, conning etc etc etc, but back then, the most we colud loose were our life-long cultivated coop of chickens. Money never enuff so thieves come oso can get only $20 or $30!

Seriously, when it comes to matters of the heart, the wisest of men have fallen prey to a fair maiden. Why then do you think, that (well, perhaps a little back then) the Russian or whatever sex spies were among the most effective?

BTW, as someone pointed out, even if sex was not the primary factor, human beings will always need warm and loving companionship. It's sad that too many preditors know this as one of the oldest ruses to use to hood-wink the lonely (besides sex).

AND AND AND, who says that China girls are stooped just because they may not have a recognised PhD from a swanky univeristy?

I would certainly think that most of them who make it out of the provinces TO the big cities, manage to survive, conquer and move on to bigger primary objectives all have MBAs from one of the worlds' largest universities with the highest number of graduates ever - UOL!

Their Masters of Bullshitting Activities from the Univeristy Of Life has certainly more than enabled countless thousands upon thousands of such graduates (mostly female, of a certain complexion and demeanour and preferably those specialising in the 'art of TEH-ing') to get the bucks, big or small, they needed to fuel and futher their amibitions and careers!

NEVER underestimate the power of the heart. Afterall, so many have fallen prey already, and despite never-ending arguements between sociologists, physiologists and medical practitioners that the heart is NOT connected to the pelvis ... a certain aristocrat once wrote, in his most wry observations (of the one of societies most profound 'social' maladies), that "Man is at his weakest when he is hardest."

Yes, contrary to popular belief, it IS easier to conquer ... a hrad heart, unless the effects of petryfying coronary decay has already set in.

CHEERS! And, please do not try to read in between the lines; you might not like what you see. Learn to laugh ... :bsmilie:

Canonised said:
John, please consider the following factors:
When you are lonely and not so educated, soft-hearted and a forgiving nature, met a cunning partner, and if i am not wrong quite charming/good looking and a sweet talker, and when we are older/retired (without much family contacts) .... anyone can be in his shoe ....... sad case but it can be anyone of us in the future ...

Hi Canonised - this is the kind of opinion and view that I am looking for. Thanks for the posting. I hope that there are less of those attacks on country, person and more of meaningful exchange of views and opinion.

how to know if the person is con or real?

i notice got mass orders here.... i know all of you are real sincere sellers...but what happen if someone come in and cheat on our poor money?

Feinwerkbau said:
HAIZ...so many social problems.

Their Masters of Bullshitting Activities from the Univeristy Of Life has certainly more than enabled countless thousands upon thousands of such graduates (mostly female, of a certain complexion and demeanour and preferably those specialising in the 'art of TEH-ing') to get the bucks, big or small, they needed to fuel and futher their amibitions and careers!

CHEERS! And, please do not try to read in between the lines; you might not like what you see. Learn to laugh ... :bsmilie:

Hi there, nice dissertation there. Apart from TEH-ing, may I add also TEARS, buckets of it. There is also a Chinese saying, "A Hero has difficulties getting away from a Beauty"

If I remember correctly, CPF Board has got a crest with a big KEY to lock up our money safely there.

Yes, I regret what I have written if the phrase "china women" gave the impression of discrimination. But that is not what I meant. I am just refering that she is from china. And I had not said that they are lowly educated, in fact some are degree holders.

Anyway, my main point is that the guy was too careless or thoughtless by giving the woman huge sums of money repeatedly without verifying the truth of what she had claimed. Had he not suspected any motives from that woman who appeared to help him so willingly? How is he going to support his mother in the future by giving away all his saving?

I feel sad for his mother. :cry:

When in a relationship, we tend to go 'overboard' with $ on those we love/loved.

And it doesn't restrict to any country or race either?

The only defence against con artist or thief is by the old saying: "There is no free lunch". Dun let greed overrides ur logic. :think:

Generally, I do stay away from deals or things that seemed too good to be true. :bsmilie: That's why I am still a pauper :lovegrin:

Benign said:
When in a relationship, we tend to go 'overboard' with $ on those we love/loved.

And it doesn't restrict to any country or race either?

The only defence against con artist or thief is by the old saying: "There is no free lunch". Dun let greed overrides ur logic. :think:

Generally, I do stay away from deals or things that seemed too good to be true. :bsmilie: That's why I am still a pauper :lovegrin:

Yes, there is money to be made in a relationship. And these pathetic guys are so naive to think that those young & pretty gals truly love them. They may not believe that the love is real, but they crave for the pleasure of intimate relationship so much so that they are willing to be cheated.

Who to blame?

Yes, there is money to be made in a relationship. And these pathetic guys are so naive to think that those young & pretty gals truly love them. They may not believe that the love is real, but they crave for the pleasure of intimate relationship so much so that they are willing to be cheated.

Errr, sorry to say...I found your comment is rather harsh on the victims. As we are not directly involved or know the full extent of the affair. We will never be able to judge correctly....as we are not the victims.

Please bear in mind, 'no man is an island'. :dunno:

I do admit sometimes I do get caught offguard......when I am not 'focusing' :embrass: It is not how smart the con artist really is.....it is the matter of how 'low' he/she is willing to go....... :sweat:

Sometime, I think we need to be harsh and critical, cos the situation is not a minor one. It has a serious consequence for their livelihood.

Think about it, how is he going to live for the next few years when he had lost almost all his hard earned saving? Is he able to work to meet daily expenses? And worst, his poor mother has to suffer because of his foolish behaviour. Haven't we seen enough suicide cases because of financial difficulties?

The chinese has a saying" Yi Shi Zhu Cheng Qian Gu Hen" which means 'to regret for the rest of your life by making a careless mistake'.

To each his own :dunno:

When you are in love, you wouldn't notice your foolishness except in the eyes of the bystanders :bigeyes:

i totally agree that even in photography there are con artist and thieves. some even can't produce a satisfactory standard and yet dare to boost they are professinal and take up wedding jobs at unbelieveable fees but horrible results, ask girls to do TFP/TFCD saying they are professional photographer in order to gain to shoot for free, stealing people's work or contact for his own advantage. hai, what a world.

smallaperture said:
Come to think of it, our CPF money is really very, very safe. That is until you reach 55. Could we consider it a blessing in disguise when we reach 55 and able to draw out our hard earned money. How many is able to keep and spend that money wisely.ught.
How about people who got their fingers burnt by using their CPF money to buy investment funds? hehe..

I heard over on TV one very sad cheating case, but couldn't help giggling when I told of it. One guy got conned into believeing that one Niegria man can transfer him tons of money. Before he can get hold of the money, he need to tranfer money to the Niegrie man for some "paperwork admin stuffs". He sent his life-savings over, and subsequently got a bounced check in return. I guess he realised that was conned and went overseas to look for that guy whom he transferred the money to. (TV no mention on whether he met the guy before or to what extend he knew that guy). Anyway, apparent he didn't return, and his mother went on the NEWS pleading for whereabouts on him, and feared that his son may be killed overseas.

I mean, it's very sad that in this guy is so ignorant about this kind of cheat. I have mixed feelings, both pity and sad for the guy and his family, but at the same time, laughed at his sad plight.

"Disclaimer: All the characters in this story are fictitious"
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=130773&page=3

johnlim said:
Sometime, I think we need to be harsh and critical, cos the situation is not a minor one. It has a serious consequence for their livelihood.

Think about it, how is he going to live for the next few years when he had lost almost all his hard earned saving? Is he able to work to meet daily expenses? And worst, his poor mother has to suffer because of his foolish behaviour. Haven't we seen enough suicide cases because of financial difficulties?

The chinese has a saying" Yi Shi Zhu Cheng Qian Gu Hen" which means 'to regret for the rest of your life by making a careless mistake'.
i understand where you're coming from, that you do not want to go gentle on people who let themselves be trapped because that will only allow it to happen more often?

but we have to also realise that not everyone posseses the same level of exposure or intelligence. they may not be smart, but they are still kind and gracious of heart.

just like a child who gets taken advantage by a scheming grownup. do we hiss at the child for his stupidity or do we close ranks and punish the person who did the crime?

obviousdude said:
i understand where you're coming from, that you do not want to go gentle on people who let themselves be trapped because that will only allow it to happen more often?

but we have to also realise that not everyone posseses the same level of exposure or intelligence. they may not be smart, but they are still kind and gracious of heart.

just like a child who gets taken advantage by a scheming grownup. do we hiss at the child for his stupidity or do we close ranks and punish the person who did the crime?

Yeah, you are probably right. Not everyone is in touch with the present world. Some fell into trap very easily by believing other people's stories. I feel angry & sad when I see these people losing large sum of money to cheaters, situation which could have been avoided.

To tell you the truth, I was once a victim of these scheme many years ago. There was a woman(local) with a teenagers knocking at my doors asking for financial help. She said their family was in the brink of bankrupsy and that their flat was about to be siezed by the bank if she could not make certain payment to the bank. She even produced her IC and certain documents about her flat. I donated $50 to her and she reciprocate by giving me a bottle of washing liquid. (not sure if she was in bussiness selling it)

Well, I do not know if she had cheated me. But I think we should remain cautious in future. I count myself lucky for not losing a lot of money.

Ding Shan Ben said:
how to know if the person is con or real?
Con-artists know no boundaries .... they can be of any nationalities, educated or otherwise, male or female, young or old, ugly or handsome, poor or rich, etc.... So it is silly to generalise. Everyone of us is a con-artist in our own way . Anyone disagree? Have we ever con our friends, family, employers, employees etc before?
But ppl tend to justify each con-work as friendly, not serious, harmless, "well he deserves it", but the artist forgets that by such actions he causes much wider damages to the party/parties affected. For instance, that poor guy's life saving is gone and his health is affected, his parent, lifestyles, etc... all been seriously altered wherelse the woman has the money and probably spent all, and going for another victim.. Why a person cheat? Out of necessity? Irresponsible? Education level? Influence from external factors? Culture?
As far as I know, con-artists will admit they are wrong only when they are caught!

johnlim said:
To tell you the truth, I was once a victim of these scheme many years ago. There was a woman(local) with a teenagers knocking at my doors asking for financial help. She said their family was in the brink of bankrupsy and that their flat was about to be siezed by the bank if she could not make certain payment to the bank. She even produced her IC and certain documents about her flat. I donated $50 to her and she reciprocate by giving me a bottle of washing liquid. (not sure if she was in bussiness selling it)

Well, I do not know if she had cheated me. But I think we should remain cautious in future. I count myself lucky for not losing a lot of money.

Well, that is a $50 lesson - a good lesson for life. And that woman who got that $50 from you is nothing more than a professional beggar - like another way of putting it. :eek: :bigeyes:

johnlim said:
Yeah, you are probably right. Not everyone is in touch with the present world. Some fell into trap very easily by believing other people's stories. I feel angry & sad when I see these people losing large sum of money to cheaters, situation which could have been avoided.

consider it either a relatively cheap lesson learnt, and your conscience kept clear. (you helped, coz u never know if it's for real)

If I have lost $50, I would thank the person for giving me a cheap lesson and forgive that person.

When someone lost $5000 to some Nigerian, it is an expensive lesson. He should also forgive the Nigerian and move on in life. Hate the black bugger for life? Look high and low for that bugger - it is gonna be dark, very dark and dangerous there. It does him no good think of vengeance, hatred or other negative thoughts.

If you hate someone who have cheated or hurt you, it continues to hurt you. If you forgive and forget, you move on with a lesson learnt and not allow the bad feelings to trouble you. Just imagine you furious of being cheated while that Nigerian bugger is laughing all the way to the bank!

OMG said:
i totally agree that even in photography there are con artist and thieves. some even can't produce a satisfactory standard and yet dare to boost they are professinal and take up wedding jobs at unbelieveable fees but horrible results, ask girls to do TFP/TFCD saying they are professional photographer in order to gain to shoot for free, stealing people's work or contact for his own advantage. hai, what a world.

I think this is called "business". :sweatsm: