computer mains switch must off?


Status
Not open for further replies.

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#1
quick question.

when i shut down my computer, must i turn off the main switch?
any pros and cons for current to run even though the computer is off?
 

jmmtn4aj

New Member
Jan 1, 2007
994
0
0
Singapore
flickr.com
#2
Your computer draws a very small current even when off, but it costs you something like ten or twenty cents a year. I'd be more worried about a current surge or voltage spike (thunderstorm perhaps).

My computer is on 24/7 so I don't really touch the mains much.
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#3
Your computer draws a very small current even when off, but it costs you something like ten or twenty cents a year. I'd be more worried about a current surge or voltage spike (thunderstorm perhaps).

My computer is on 24/7 so I don't really touch the mains much.
because my bose sound system, i was told not to off the mains because the heat from the current keeps the woofer dry.
i'm not sure about computers.is there such a need?

my modem was killed twice by lightning.
 

jmmtn4aj

New Member
Jan 1, 2007
994
0
0
Singapore
flickr.com
#4
because my bose sound system, i was told not to off the mains because the heat from the current keeps the woofer dry.
i'm not sure about computers.is there such a need?

my modem was killed twice by lightning.
Things like pianos have a small heater or dehumidifier built in so the wood's acoustical properties don't change. But in a Bose.. haha.. well you know what I think about Bose :p

No, computers don't have such devices inside because there's no need. The current it draws isn't by design.
 

Stereobox

Senior Member
Dec 21, 2003
2,116
0
0
Cocteau Twins
#5
just get a good current surge protector. good investment for a relatively cheap price.

but if you really want to be environmentally friendly about it, do switch off your mains. 1 person don't count for much, but if enough people does it, it helps.

for me, i leave it on. too troublesome to reach behind to switch it off :bsmilie:
 

zac08

Senior Member
Feb 21, 2005
11,755
0
0
East
#6
Well... I never bothered to switch off... too lazy. :bsmilie: :bsmilie:
 

seankyh

New Member
Nov 30, 2004
802
0
0
43
Singapore
www.pbase.com
#8
because my bose sound system, i was told not to off the mains because the heat from the current keeps the woofer dry.
i'm not sure about computers.is there such a need?

my modem was killed twice by lightning.
I thought if you turn off the Bose, the adaptIQ settings will reset and you have to tune it again? I usually have to do that when there is a power trip and all the electric points in the house goes off.
 

jmmtn4aj

New Member
Jan 1, 2007
994
0
0
Singapore
flickr.com
#9
I thought if you turn off the Bose, the adaptIQ settings will reset and you have to tune it again? I usually have to do that when there is a power trip and all the electric points in the house goes off.
They don't have a memory chip to remember that? Pfft..
 

yanyewkay

Senior Member
Sep 22, 2004
3,924
0
0
Cons digger.
#10
Things like pianos have a small heater or dehumidifier built in so the wood's acoustical properties don't change. But in a Bose.. haha.. well you know what I think about Bose :p

No, computers don't have such devices inside because there's no need. The current it draws isn't by design.
oh reaalllyy~~
 

dEthANGeL

Senior Member
Jun 20, 2004
1,652
0
36
Siglap
#11
On off on off... chances of introducing electrical surge and wearing out the capacitors even higher.

Not surprised 1 day the sub of your setup starts going "thump" each time you turn it on.
 

deckard

New Member
Oct 13, 2006
1,241
0
0
#12
On off on off... chances of introducing electrical surge and wearing out the capacitors even higher.

Not surprised 1 day the sub of your setup starts going "thump" each time you turn it on.
it is not as if you are doing it continously? i think it should not kill the caps. :think:
 

gooseberry

Senior Member
Mar 11, 2004
1,952
0
0
Central West
#13
The majority of computer peripherals consume a lot of electricity even when they are in standby mode or when they are "off" - so it's best to unplug things like printers etc.

My computer, I leave on most of the time, but I will unplug it from the socket if I'll be away for a few days or more.
 

Apr 20, 2006
1,087
0
0
#14
On off on off... chances of introducing electrical surge and wearing out the capacitors even higher.

Not surprised 1 day the sub of your setup starts going "thump" each time you turn it on.
Yes... once I on-off the main switch and my PC's mobo bios got corrupted because of the power surge. I brought the mobo to the distributor, and they reset it for me.
 

smallaperture

Senior Member
Jan 5, 2004
2,441
0
0
Catchment Area
#16
my modem was killed twice by lightning.
Well, modem not so expensive to replace leh. If your BiG LCD/Plasma TV got hit by lightning:sweat:

I guess it's landed property. I have never heard of anyone staying in apartment got problem with lightning. Most probably, there is a leak. Or the lightning protection system is faulty ........

More than 10 years ago, my neighbour's 34inch TV got fried by lightning, becos his antenna was the highest in the area. :bsmilie: Now, with Starhub's cable, no more antenna to attract lightning liao. :thumbsup:
 

jmmtn4aj

New Member
Jan 1, 2007
994
0
0
Singapore
flickr.com
#17
Well, modem not so expensive to replace leh. If your BiG LCD/Plasma TV got hit by lightning:sweat:
The more expensive a piece of equipment is, the better the protection/anti-shorting circuit inside is likely to be. Makers of high end appliances don't particularly want customers sending in hundreds of their products for free (warranty) replacement or servicing after every storm.

I guess it's landed property. I have never heard of anyone staying in apartment got problem with lightning. Most probably, there is a leak. Or the lightning protection system is faulty ........
Haha, my condo probably has one of the most trippy circuits around. Current still manages to leak in from nearby lightning strikes, so the MCB can trip like 5 times in one storm even while the building itself is never struck by lightning.
 

Big Kahuna

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2004
2,126
1
38
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#18
I normally switch it off because I got 8 devices hook up to the same Belkin power bar :D

Besides...I am more worried about my house caught fire by short circuit because I am not at home most of the time :D

Switching off any unused electrical stuffs can also contribute a little in the go green effort and my wallet I guess :lovegrin: Imagine if each household save even 10w per day.....1 million household will safe many megawatt a day liao :thumbsup:
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#19
Well, modem not so expensive to replace leh. If your BiG LCD/Plasma TV got hit by lightning:sweat:

I guess it's landed property. I have never heard of anyone staying in apartment got problem with lightning. Most probably, there is a leak. Or the lightning protection system is faulty ........

More than 10 years ago, my neighbour's 34inch TV got fried by lightning, becos his antenna was the highest in the area. :bsmilie: Now, with Starhub's cable, no more antenna to attract lightning liao. :thumbsup:
yes landed.
both fried by lightning.:(
cars and house alarms always go off.very frustrating
 

Apr 20, 2006
1,087
0
0
#20
You can get a Belkin surge protector! :thumbsup:
I have not 1 but 2!
One for my plasma TV/Hi-Fi system, and another for my modem.
Unfortunately, those at my PC only has a generic one.

Mind you, the surge was not big enough to fry anything... but it does not take much to corrupt the bios. Then you will have to spend time fixing it...
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom