Colours of microsoft laptop and MAC


PopSoda

New Member
Mar 25, 2011
102
0
0
43
#1
Can some one help me out here... when viewing and photoshopping pictures on my laptop, i notice that the colour is not as saturated as viewed from a MAC (Iphone too). I viewed he pictures using different laptops and MAC/iphone and notice significant difference in the colours. between laptop and mac. So any suggestions here on the correct settings for my laptop?
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,543
33
48
Pasir Ris
#2
I suggest reading up about monitor calibration first. No point comparing the results on different monitors without a proper baseline. Secondly, it is known that Apple displays are set to create this "wow" effects to all images. But that's not the point when editing images. A more neutral display is recommended here.
 

PopSoda

New Member
Mar 25, 2011
102
0
0
43
#3
I suggest reading up about monitor calibration first. No point comparing the results on different monitors without a proper baseline. Secondly, it is known that Apple displays are set to create this "wow" effects to all images. But that's not the point when editing images. A more neutral display is recommended here.
Thanks!! If your monitor is calibrated...Can you do me a favor and tell me if the color of my pictures are oversaturated for these pictures?? My laptop shows a soft tone but mac is very yellowish... http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/threads/898430-Sensual-Alluring-Glamorous-Andrea
 

PopSoda

New Member
Mar 25, 2011
102
0
0
43
#7
too yellowish.

over-proceed.
Are you using a MAC? I thought it looked too yellowish on a MAC too. However, it looks OK on my PC. sigh... guess i really need to calibrate it.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,543
33
48
Pasir Ris
#8
#1: WB too warm, the white shirt is not white.
#2: has a hint of greenish tint somehow...
 

PopSoda

New Member
Mar 25, 2011
102
0
0
43
#9
Octarine said:
#1: WB too warm, the white shirt is not white.
#2: has a hint of greenish tint somehow...
Yeah... Exactly how I felt looking via the Mac screen. Need to get my screen calibrated
 

Last edited:

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#10
Are you using a MAC? I thought it looked too yellowish on a MAC too. However, it looks OK on my PC. sigh... guess i really need to calibrate it.
I viewed it on my PC screen, it's too yellowish.

FYI this in not a Mac vs. PC thing. I've seen horribly mis-calibrated mac screens too, the user was 100% convinced that there could never be anything wrong with his godly mac and so processed over 200+ images with the wrong whitebalance. All pics got rejected. :p
 

PopSoda

New Member
Mar 25, 2011
102
0
0
43
#12
I viewed it on my PC screen, it's too yellowish.

FYI this in not a Mac vs. PC thing. I've seen horribly mis-calibrated mac screens too, the user was 100% convinced that there could never be anything wrong with his godly mac and so processed over 200+ images with the wrong whitebalance. All pics got rejected. :p
whether is monitor on mac or PC, all need to calibrate.
Thanks guys for your feedback... really helpful. :)

If you can help me further...

1) I only have a laptop right now... can this be calibrated? Sorry... no $$ to invest on a PC or MAC right now.

2) If so which software should I download? For free/or for a fee? Did a search on internet and downloaded Quickgamma... but not working on my laptop :(
 

Last edited:

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,543
33
48
Pasir Ris
#13
1) I only have a laptop right now... can this be calibrated? Sorry... no $$ to invest on a PC or MAC right now.
2) If so which software should I download? For free/or for a fee? Did a search on internet and downloaded Quickgamma... but not working on my laptop :(
1) Yes.
2) There is a free software called Monitor Calibration Wizard. Try this. But keep in mind: it uses your eyes as measurement device. Our eyes and brains are not accurate. This can only be a first quick trial. For accurate results you should get something like Spyder from Datacolor. AFAIR, somebody in Mass Sales offers it.
 

PopSoda

New Member
Mar 25, 2011
102
0
0
43
#14
1) Yes.
2) There is a free software called Monitor Calibration Wizard. Try this. But keep in mind: it uses your eyes as measurement device. Our eyes and brains are not accurate. This can only be a first quick trial. For accurate results you should get something like Spyder from Datacolor. AFAIR, somebody in Mass Sales offers it.
DL the Monitor Calibration Wizard... run it but nothing hapened... you know the reason for that?
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#15
DL the Monitor Calibration Wizard... run it but nothing hapened... you know the reason for that?
You need to calibrate your monitor manually by using the tool as a guide. It will not do it for you. Best to read the instruction manual...
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,543
33
48
Pasir Ris
#16
DL the Monitor Calibration Wizard... run it but nothing hapened... you know the reason for that?
What is "nothing hapened" [sic]? The tool will display test charts and give you sliders to adjust according given examples.
 

PopSoda

New Member
Mar 25, 2011
102
0
0
43
#17
Octarine said:
What is "nothing hapened" [sic]? The tool will display test charts and give you sliders to adjust according given examples.
There are no test charts or anything... After I hit run for the .exe file. Nothing pops up nor os there a program installed
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,543
33
48
Pasir Ris
#18
There are no test charts or anything... After I hit run for the .exe file. Nothing pops up nor os there a program installed
You download a file called "mcw10.exe", right? (Direct download link) Are you working on Windows? (It will never run on Mac and Mac OS should give an error message). Depending on your UAC settings in Windows Vista / Windows 7 you might need to do right-click -> Run as Administrator. This will start the installation dialog. Afterwards you'll find the usual entries in Start Menu.
 

PopSoda

New Member
Mar 25, 2011
102
0
0
43
#19
Octarine said:
You download a file called "mcw10.exe", right? (Direct download link) Are you working on Windows? (It will never run on Mac and Mac OS should give an error message). Depending on your UAC settings in Windows Vista / Windows 7 you might need to do right-click -> Run as Administrator. This will start the installation dialog. Afterwards you'll find the usual entries in Start Menu.
Running on windows.... Let me check it out and I will revert. Thanks!!
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#20
Running on windows.... Let me check it out and I will revert. Thanks!!
On a total side note, the word "revert" is constantly misused in Singapore. In the context of your sentence, it actually means you will reset your settings to the original after trying the suggestions.
 

Top Bottom